We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of King William IV

King William IV
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Sedgeford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was the 3rd time we have eaten at the King William on our annual trip to Norfolk. We stayed in a cottage in Burnham Market. We had 2 lunches here and thoroughly enjoyed both. The first time I had an excellent steak burger with stilton and my wife had the steak and Adnams pie. Both were delicious! (best beer in the universe) The second time we had Sunday lunch, both having the beef - it melted in your mouth, the vegetables were perfectly cooked and a rich gravy brought it all together! The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. This is good eating and we will be back The garden is a bonus, beautifully looked after, helped by the fact that we had 2 sunny days!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review. Its lovely to read that you had such a wonderful visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    67
    29
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it so much we went back the following week!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The menu was varied and there were a number of specials. Five of us ate and all enjoyed our meals. Staff were friendly and really helpful regarding my dietry requirements. The crab was wonderful and one of our group had the kidneys and was really impressed. Prices are reasonable. We enjoyed our food so much that we booked again for the following week!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm pleased you all enjoyed our menu and that we were able to cater for all at your table. Its encouraging to read that you enjoyed the service as you did, I will gladly pass on the compliments to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Popped in for some dinner and had two courses. The starter was spicy chicken pieces on guacamole, I was a little disappointed by this dish as the chicken had been overcooked and was a little dry and chewy. The main course I had a curry which was very nice, good level of spice and plenty of flavour and came with a beer. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the overall feel of the place is a nice relaxed atmosphere and welcoming. Nice selection of ales too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dickted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and welcome feedback on your starter. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience and hope to welcome you again soon. Please note that every Tuesday we serve curry and a pint for only 10 pounds as a special offer.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and very friendly service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived with a very tired 3 year old at half past 5 to find out that food did not start till 6pm. We ordered some drinks and sat in the garden for 20 minutes and were asked if we would like to look at the menu and plan what we wanted whilst they got a table ready for us for 6 on the dot. Food arrived very quickly and was delicious. The staff were attentive but not OTT and were very helpful and entertaining with our tired little one. The owner even popped over to say hello and check how it all was which was a nice touch. Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank munki75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your time to write your kind review. I'm very pleased you have enjoyed your visit even with a tired little one in tow. As a parent myself I can certainly relate and appreciate your time for sharing your positive experience. We look forward to welcome your family back soon.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We visited with friends on a sunday evening. Pub looks good with a fair selection of ales. Ambience is good in the eating areas with a flagged stone floor and the evitable wonky tables which is not a problem. Service is fantastic and cannot be faulted. The food is ok but i have tasted better. In my veiw the vegetables were under cooked and even so there should have been more if them. Meal in general was well cooked but OH! the prices. £13.50 for a pork belly?????. Would i return? Yes with guests to show them how a pub should be run.

Helpful?
Thank rutlandwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at King William IV, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and compliments of our Country Inn. I have noted your comments on the food side and our prices to be taken into consideration. Please note that we offer extra vegetables without charge upon request and have special offers for the restaurant throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you back and receiving your feedback.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King William IV also viewed

 

Been to King William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing