We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest and comfortable”
Review of Sakya Abode

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sakya Abode
Ranked #2 of 12 Kaza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modest and comfortable”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Sakya Abode is a very modest yet clean place to stay in Kaza. The staff is patient and super helpful. Electricity is an issue all over Spiti so it would be unfair to expect hot water at all times.
The food is good

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seem more comfortable than the rooms below. Better view. Two single beds (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicThunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A very cozy place to stay with good proximity to the market. The staff at Sakya are very hospitable and the restaurant serves some good food.. Do not expect the internet to be working or electricity for most part of the day but this is the case with all of Spiti so be prepared to be cut off and enjoy the place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Tsering and his team at Sakya Abode are the best possible hosts in all of Spiti. Knowledgeable about the land, hospitable to the T and they go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. We spent nearly two weeks travelling through Spiti and every day was special thanks to them. Comfortable rooms, good food, courteous staff and a great library make the stay at Sakya Abode special. Look no further when in Spiti.

Room Tip: Take the upper storey overlooking the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Sakya Abode recently during a bike tour and it was a lovely place to rest and recover. Nice rooms clean comfortable beds and good staff.
The toilet in our room was hanging off the wall when we got there but it was quickly sorted by the owner.
Lovely dining room and lovely food.
Electricity was hit and miss as was the internet but that was not the fault of the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lambers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have visited spiti many times and this time I visited with my daughter and a friend. I stayed in Sakya Abode. It was a homely experience , nice rooms, the staff is so cool that they are always ready to help you upfront. I am still missing thenthuk(local soup)...amazing. Would like to come to spiti only when I get accommodation in Sakya abode.
Job well done

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patna, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

its a bit of a walk to the main bazaar. The hotel is fine, rooms are really clean and bathrooms are spacious. Staff is very good and helpful. The dining hall is a nice place to hang and watch tv at night if you're in to that. The hotel could really do with solar water heaters since it is always cold and electricity is a problem in kaza.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandkoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bti
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Sakya abode is a good place to check in and eat with hygienic and clean rooms as well as nice meal. Very helpful staff adds to the beauty of the location. Snow Lion hotel is also a part of this chain. Recommended for all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SBGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deyzor
Hotel Deyzor
#1 of 12 in Kaza
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spiti Heritage
Hotel Spiti Heritage
#3 of 12 in Kaza
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delek House
Hotel Delek House
#21 of 31 in Lahaul and Spiti District
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spiti Valley Hotel
Spiti Valley Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kaza
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zostel Spiti
Zostel Spiti
#1 of 8 in Kaza
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakya Abode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakya Abode

Property: Sakya Abode
Address: Near Monastery | Lahaul and Spiti, Kaza 172114, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Lahaul and Spiti District > Kaza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kaza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming property is built in the traditional Himalayan style of architecture. Spread over two spacious floors, it has 12 double rooms with ensuite baths and a large dormitory. All the rooms open out to either an airy common verandah or balcony, that overlooks a lovely, grassy lawn-cum-courtyard. You can sit here and read, meditate, do yoga, play your guitar or simply enjoy the crisp Spitian sun. Or you can sit on our cute little terrace and sip a nice, warm cup of tea. For years, this has been a popular place to meet other travellers and make new friends. There is a spacious restaurant cum lounge area, and all the food is made fresh, right before meal times. Guests can avail Satellite Internet facilities, or curl up and browse through one of our many books on Tibetan Buddhism. The hotel has a doctor-on-call, and taxis can be arranged with some prior notice. You can also rent one of our mountain bikes, to explore the great Spitian outdoors. The Travel Desk will be happy to provide tips and info on Spiti. Should you have any other requirements, please feel free to speak to our friendly staff, which will do their best to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sakya Abode reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing