We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place run by amazing people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snow Lion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Kaza B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place run by amazing people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I had a great stay at the Snow Lion last month (Aug 2013). I was travelling solo on a shoestring budget, and I couldn't have made a better choice. Usually, I travel using local transport wherever I go, but local transport being as it were in Kaza/Spiti (only real option is to hire cabs to move around, and that's expensive, esp for a backpacker), Tsering (enough good things have been said here about him by other reviewers, yet he deserves a special mention, and not just because of the warmth and good vibes he exudes) and Ravi, who was looking after Snow Lion helped me hook up with other travelers and thus share costs, make bookings and give general travel advice, all of which was extremely helpful. The food was lovely. After my first day, I never had to ask for 2 consecutive cups of tea. If I asked for tea, they got two cups ready, knowing my habit! On the last day of my stay, I went over to Sakhya Abode, their other property, for Dinner which as it turned out, was on the house! :) And I wouldn't believe anyone who would say that it was because I agreed to carry a letter for them to Manali!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alankrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Tsering the owner of the property is one of the most knowledgeable persons about the Himalayan terrain in Kaza. The food served is as good as home cooked food, very good service by the staff, listen to Tsering if he has any suggestions to your travel plans, will be thanking him later. The rooms are large and have magnificent views of the mountain slopes. I liked this place very much.

Room Tip: Tsering has many properties in Kaza but SnowLion has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gk668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I will not write much about this wonderful Hotel and its owner good things. If you are going to Kaza and want a best stay with a best advice from locals this is heaven for you.
Please contact Mr. Tsering Bodh @ 09418208987,9418556213.
They provided us with good food and hot water and even batteries to charge our cameras and mobile phone, when the situation is such that there is not light in kaza from last 5 days and will be not light for next 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bawa435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel wasen't exactly my first choice. I first went to Sakya Abode. However they were full for the night and they told me this was run by the same family. Turns out to be a really good option. The place is a little secluded but the hotel itself is really well maintained and clean. The owner is friendly and he takes time to get to know you. He is quite the adventure buff and can guide travellers as well. The only issue I had was that we had to go to Sakya Abode for food (I can't recall why). The pleasant stay for three guys (single shared room) cost us 1300/- for two nights. Not bad eh?
PS: Lahaul Spiti is beautiful in September. Very little tourist traffic. Even Rohtang was not clogged. And when its not cloudy the sky looks amazing at this time. Would recommend a visit and a stay at the wonderful Snow Lion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rahul_gulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

on my several visits to kaza i have always opted staying in hotel snow lion due to several personal reasons. regardless of the fact that any hotel in spiti is blessed with the view of beautiful surroundings, snow lion also has a magnificent view of the valley and the town of kaza. particularly its location, a little off the main crowded area and market next to a stream that flows down form the middle Himalayas right behind, gives your morning coffee a bit of an extra kick. several good treks, to the gorge, to gomic and hikkim to name a few are very comfortably accessible from the hotel. other than the hotel its crew is the sweetest i have encountered. friendly and warm they are always ready to do a bit extra if you require. the owner Tsering Bodh has an outstanding capacity for hospitality, always ready to be at service for the smallest to the biggest matters. his local knowledge of the valley also turns out to be extremely useful. also his collection of books and music is a very pleasant surprise in the far away land. overall the experience of the valley and its people is an enticing one and i am hoping to get back to it as soon as i possibly can :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ahashgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We arrived in Kaza after already having travelled on road for about a week. As we were two girls alone we needed not just a clean and warm place but also safe for us to be comfortable. At the first look the hotel comes across as a simple stay. We stayed there for about three days before our trek to Chandra tal. Upon arrival we were met by the owner Tsering who is ever ready to help the guests with the smallest of problems even at his busiest times. Being a local resident he provided us with a lot of useful information as regards to our travel plans and also familiarized us with the local traditions. The rooms here were spacious, neatly kept n the bedding provided was absolutely clean and hygienic. Also the washrooms were clean with hot water.The view from the balcony was of mountains n clear skies reminding you of the tranquility around you. Located a little further away from the city hustle bustle the place is quite n calming to your senses.The staff here was very courteous and always smiling and willing to go the extra bit to make your stay most enjoyable. All in all a very warm n pleasant stay in the driest of lands. A special word of gratitude for Mr. Vishesh Shourie by whom this hotel was recommended to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anjali80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The cleanest hotel in Kaza. Big rooms. We chose the 3-bed room (a double bed with a kind of settee) which could be used for a third person. Made the room more spacious- got it for Rs.1100/- which I felt was worth it. Clean towels, hot water, big bathroom (only it had a funny smell, probably from the drainage). We ordered Tib food, recommended by the manager, and it was hot and wholesome. Good momos too.

So:
food- excellent (can't comment on the Indian as we didn't eat it). well-priced. 5/5
room- excellent. 5/5
loo- 4/5

Loved that:
1. they have a sort of lounging space in the dining room with a wonderful collection of books and magazines that the guests can read (even take to their rooms to read).
2. we told them that we would leave early at 5 am, and would it be possible to get tea before that? they gave us an electric kettle with tea bags and stuff, so that we could make it on our own (free of charge). while this is the norm in nice big hotels all over, to see this service in the little village of Kaza was a very pleasant surprise.

Only negative was that the very spacious balcony opened to what seemed like a stream but was actually a kind of drainage nala. but not stinky, so i guess it was ok.

Room Tip: choose the biggest room with the settee (I think it was 204 on the top floor- ask for the 3-bedded r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narayanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaza hotels
0.2 mi away
Spiti Valley Hotel
Spiti Valley Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kaza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zostel Spiti
Zostel Spiti
#1 of 9 in Kaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deyzor
Hotel Deyzor
#1 of 12 in Kaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lion Hotel

Property: Snow Lion Hotel
Address: Kaza - Manali Road | Lahaul and Spiti, Kaza 172114, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kaza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kaza
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a wonderful two-storied hotel that has 14 spacious double rooms, with ensuite baths. All rooms have a private balcony that offers a stunning view of the village and the spectacular Sakya Monastery. You can spend hours here, simply watching the village life unfold. Many of our guests comment on how wonderful they feel just seeing the Monastery at different times of the day, from the privacy of their balconies. There is a small restaurant that serves delicious and fresh meals. While you are waiting for your food, you can read one of our books or have a look at our special fossil collection, lovingly curated in one corner here. We have a range of them including some really rare ammonites from the Jurassic and Cretaceous periods. There is a small roof that can be made accessible, if you wish to do some stargazing. We can set up some tea and seating for you at night. Here, you can sit under the most breathtaking sky in the world, spotting numerous galaxies and making wishes on the countless shooting stars that will cross the star spangled sky. The hotel has a doctor-on-call, and taxis can be arranged with some prior notice. You can also rent one of our mountain bikes, to explore the great Spitian outdoors. The Travel Desk will be happy to provide tips and info on Spiti. Should you have any other requirements, please feel free to speak to our friendly staff, which will do their best to help you. Meditation and inner wellness retreats can be arranged upon prior booking. Or you can book one of our specialized travel itineraries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing