We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem for a family vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen &Dinning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen &Dinning
FRONT VIEW
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Kitchen &Dinning
FRONT VIEW
LIVING ROOM
BATHROOM
VIEW FROM VILLA
SUN LOUNGE
DINNING
Bedroom
Bedroom
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mashobra, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rd07
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for a family vacation”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This villa has 3 large bedrooms, out of this, 2 bedrooms are VERY large. Plus there is an attic, which kids loved. The Drawing/Dining is on the ground floor, which overlooks the valley. All rooms have fantastic view.

The property has no wifi. Phones dont work. However, There are 2 TVs, DVD player, Basic Tata Sky connection, Amplifier, Bar-be-que. Elaborate number of glasses for all kind of drinks, several fire places. Garden, which is in 3 levels offers sun for most of the day. It has 3 bathrooms, 1 with jacuzzi and 2 with shower areas.

The drawing room sitting area is awesome place to hang out and overlooks the kitchen which is manned by Sunder, who is one of the most soft spoken people I have met in my life...soft courteous and never gets perturbed.

We traveled from Delhi/Noida between June 21-25, 4 nights and our journey took about 11 hours because of choc-a-bloc traffic between Kalka-Shimla. This property is about 15 Km from Shimla Tunnel, this takes about 60-90 minutes of travel due to bad traffic conditions. Thanks to the elaborate directions given, we could reach without asking for directions.

Total distance between Delhi Rajghat-FRV = 360 Km. From Sec 93 Noida it is 380 Km.

Total we were 3 couples and 4 kids (3 kids of 13-14 years and one of 10 yrs). We were aware that we have to get food supplies and we had decided to hire sunder, who is care taker cum cook. We carried all possible drinks because the next booze shop will be hours away.

As you enter the property, you are presently surprised at the detailing and vastness. The rooms are nice, elaborate and well appointed. We spent 4 nights here. We did not step out of the property (i.e. we never started our car to step out).

I am a runner, so I explored several trails and ran average of 11 km every day for 4 days and saw some breathtaking views and enjoyed myself. Its approx at 2300 meters height and in middle of jungle, so its 5-7 degrees cooler than Shimla.

We had all our meals here and basically chilled out.

Only complain we had was Cleanliness. The towels and sheets did not get changed even once in out 5 day stay. Even garbage in the bins did not get picked up even once, The place needs a little bit more house keeping. Probably, someone can clean the place on daily basis, change the sheets, change the towels, change the mats of dining table. Wipe the chairs, which have got wet due to rains etc.

But, overall an excellent property and excellent experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was seculeded, serene and awesome!
Liked least: Cleanliness. Garbage never gets picked up, towels and sheets never got changed. Table mats never got changed. Garden chairs never got wiped. Place needs housekeeping.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonalVija...
Noida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VALUE FOR MONEY.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I would like to Thanks Mr. Suniel for sharing such a beautiful Property.With Beautiful scenery , Peaceful and Awesome Food. We were altogether 11 persons in a group. Felt Like SECOND HOME. Rooms really Big and were Clean, well maintained accommodation. Bathrooms at First Floor are really big .Special Thanks to the Care taker SUNDER , Very Polite , Decent and Helpful and good Cook. Kids enjoyed their Vacations and we all felt like staying in HEAVEN.
Only for those who like Simple Home cooked Food , You will not get facilities like Hotel.
We Had Bonfire and Barbeque. Do not forgot to Carry your music. They have decent music system
We will definitely Visit again and will recommend our friends for such Beautiful property.
Once Again Thanks to All for making our vacations such beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation & Food
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankur g
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good and peaceful stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Good and peaceful stay; but bit expensive. We booked two nights there and were 6 adults. Overall, we had a very relaxing experience. There is not much to do around the villa... one should only go if they just want to enjoy nature's beauty. Owner provided us the direction. Road leading to the cottage is very narrow and very muddy. I would recommend to reach the cottage during the day time. Night travelling would be little dangerous.

Owner provides one helper-- Sundar. He is an excellent guy; very courteous and excellent cook. He lives there with his family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma696
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE...TRULLY RELAXING FOR ALL”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were 6 adults & children who stayed at the villa. The journey was long from Delhi but when we reached the villa we were pleasantly surprised...the place is beautiful just out of a magazine the furnishing, the linen the upkeep,just perfect,.the forest trails around were our best pastime,a visit to the carnation cultivation nearby was an experience for the kids.food available at the villa is just what we wanted.every thing is to your needs. We will definitely come again and this time for even longer break.it's rejuvenating..thanks to Sunil& Pooja for this most memorable break.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Hi Robby,
We are glad that you liked our place and would like to come back.
Hope you will share your views with your friends as well.
We thank you & your family and hope to see you again...soon.

Pooja & Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
“Truly mesmerizing!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I was at the Forest Villa House Cottage last week with a couple of friends. We were all exhausted after the overnight journey and being stuck in Shimla for over two hours. However, once we entered the villa, all fatigue got washed off with the cosy decor and the splendid view that one gets to enjoy from there. The interiors of the villa are fab and have been very tastefully thought of. They have every facility that one can think of for a luxury stay including a jacuzzi in one of the washrooms on the first floor. The balconies overlook the valley and one can even catch a glimpse of the snow capped peaks from one of the corners. Infact, on a clear day, which we were blessed with, the snow view was right in front of us and made it all the more breath-taking! None of us would stop praising the property and how nicely Mr Ahluwalia (the owner) has taken care of each aspect to ensure comfort of his guests. Infact, there are a lot of games also that one can indulge in and can set out on nature walks etc. For the likes of us struggling through the hustle bustle of the metros, this place was a real Paradise!!!

My special mention for the caretaker Sundar Ji who would always strive his best to make sure each of your requests are taken care of. His cooking skills are to die for and he offered us different food for each of the meals we enjoyed there. The barbecue that he did for us was excellent and also the special halwa that he treated us with :) The kitchen is well stocked and everything we asked for was available. The only issue that we faced was the geyser, which takes some time to heat up the water and that too in small quantities, and also the water pressure in the taps which was quite low. Rest all was superb!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, View and the comfort
Liked least: Nothing other than the geyser problem and water pressure in taps.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAUTAMDel...
DELHI
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY -would love to come back!!!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

we stayed at this villa in a group of three couple along with kids age 5, 6 & 11.
I was very concerned before arriving as we were trying a rentals vacation for first time and moreover having stayed at oberoi cecil on our last visit to himachal, i thought nothing would be able to match it.But i was proved wrong this villa is too good and i must thanks and congratulate mr. sunil for keeping it that way, it was a warm and luxurious stay and no luxury hotel can give that feeling of a cottage home stay.
we went for a jungle trek for one day and it was great fun, the surroundings around villa are very quite and perfect for relaxation , doing bar -be que every night was another highlight of our trip.
i would give this place ten on ten and highly recommend for having relaxing time with family and freinds.
And finally our caretaker at villa Mr Sunder was ONE man army, helping us out with everything and really made our stay easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to know that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Sunil and Pooja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DipikaN
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage has 3 bedrooms mostly done in wood and is with living and dining areas and an open kitchen . Master bedroom has a fireplace too . The cottage is well maintained and has a cosy feel to it. Sunder , the caretaker is a nice guy and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible and also cooked up an awesome barbeque dinner... Meals were simple and homely , which was nice considering we had elderly and very young kids with us. I wish the lawn was big enough for kids to play . The hot water supply was a bit erractic due to voltage issues . Notwithstanding this, I would love to come back to this place again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself is tastefully done.
Liked least: The equipment like Microwave and Geysers were not working properly due to voltage issues.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to know that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Pooja & Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing