We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Place to be if you are planning to Unwind in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen &Dinning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen &Dinning
FRONT VIEW
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Kitchen &Dinning
FRONT VIEW
LIVING ROOM
BATHROOM
VIEW FROM VILLA
SUN LOUNGE
DINNING
Bedroom
Bedroom
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mashobra, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sood_varu...
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Place to be if you are planning to Unwind in the Hills !!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

At the out set i must congratulate the owners of the villa for creating a sanctuary such as this in the hills for travelers like us. The villa is everything the description says and more. The interiors are very very tastefully done and this place has most modern amenities (assuming you are travelling to the place to relax with family/friends and not looking for connectivity for "Email/Whatsapp/Facebook")

The first reaction of the children when they walked in was "WoW" and then they pushed me endlessly to extend our stay.

Spent most of our day chatting over a cup of tea, waking around the area and some mild sightseeing around mashobra. The evenings were centered around Bonfires, Drinks and BBQ all of which were organized by the friendliest housekeeper Mr. Sundar & his wife. They made sure that our stay was as comfy as was possible.

Couple of pointers for people planning to go here -->

1) the last 3 kms to this villa are tricky, downhill and unfinished single lane road with no street lighting. I suggest you cover this stretch before sun set.
2) This is not a hotel. Dont come here if you are hoping for hotel like facilities. This is a holiday home. One would expect to stay here like one would at their own house.
3) This place is remote. If you plan to move around like a typical sight-seer then this may not be the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to know that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
We are happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Sunil and Pooja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanusing...
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good and Cozy Stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I selected this property after extensive research, and it met all my expectations. It was a nice and upmarket Bungalow with posh decor with most facilities.

View from the Bungalow was very good and the location was serene, perfect place to unwind from daily life. As we 11 people with extended family the bungalow could easily accommodate all of us and with all luxuries and space.

The care takers Mr Sunder and his wife were very helping and polite, they provided us whatever we wanted and the food prepared by them was very tasty and homely.

We did born-fire and barbeque which was well arranged by the care- takers.

The only feedback to improve upon is the hot-water system, for large family it was slight challenge but rest all things like beds/furniture/ kitchen cleanliness was excellent.

I would recommend this place to everyone who wants spend good and peaceful time with family and close friends.

Shanu and Smruti.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Property Decor
Liked least: Water Heater
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to know that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
We are happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Sunil and Pooja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUKIRAT S...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best properties around Simla!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent stay….beautifully furnished….feels like a home from the moment you come in…..nice fireplace and garden with great views…..and to top it up the property has an excellent care taker who doesn't know how to say NO….all in all we had a great stay with the family….highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishing and the service
Liked least: access road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and an 'At Home' feel.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Pooja & Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarjeet...
Ambalavayal, India
1 review
“Best location in Himachal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful green hilltop location right in the middle of dense forests, your search ends here. Excellent cottage good for stay for 8-10 people. Breathtaking views of mountains from every room and large terrace. We could not have asked for more the moment we reached at the cottage. All wooden interiors, floor, ceilings, stairs. Very well designed furnished cottage. Cottage is nicer than it looks in the pictures provided on the web site.

Caretaker cum great cook Sunder and his family can prepare food for you or you can help yourself cook food in the nice kitchen. God bless Suneil Ahluwalia, owner of the cottage for making our vacation a memorable one.

Tip : Make a party/extended family of 6-10 people and stay in cottage a little away from city intead of staying in hotel rooms in concrete shimla.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage, location and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanVash...
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay....peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Forest Hill Villa is a great place to hire if you want to spend quality time with family and friends. It is a spacious villa with 3 bedrooms. The location is peaceful and serene. The road upto the villa from Mashobra bazaar is not great but managable. The caretaker Sundar is a good cook and very courteous. Extra help to clean the cottage is recommended. Overall a good holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: good service and staff, location of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
It was a pleasure to have you and your family at FHV. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing & We appreciate your recommendations.
We are delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation an At Home' feel.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rd07
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for a family vacation”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This villa has 3 large bedrooms, out of this, 2 bedrooms are VERY large. Plus there is an attic, which kids loved. The Drawing/Dining is on the ground floor, which overlooks the valley. All rooms have fantastic view.

The property has no wifi. Phones dont work. However, There are 2 TVs, DVD player, Basic Tata Sky connection, Amplifier, Bar-be-que. Elaborate number of glasses for all kind of drinks, several fire places. Garden, which is in 3 levels offers sun for most of the day. It has 3 bathrooms, 1 with jacuzzi and 2 with shower areas.

The drawing room sitting area is awesome place to hang out and overlooks the kitchen which is manned by Sunder, who is one of the most soft spoken people I have met in my life...soft courteous and never gets perturbed.

We traveled from Delhi/Noida between June 21-25, 4 nights and our journey took about 11 hours because of choc-a-bloc traffic between Kalka-Shimla. This property is about 15 Km from Shimla Tunnel, this takes about 60-90 minutes of travel due to bad traffic conditions. Thanks to the elaborate directions given, we could reach without asking for directions.

Total distance between Delhi Rajghat-FRV = 360 Km. From Sec 93 Noida it is 380 Km.

Total we were 3 couples and 4 kids (3 kids of 13-14 years and one of 10 yrs). We were aware that we have to get food supplies and we had decided to hire sunder, who is care taker cum cook. We carried all possible drinks because the next booze shop will be hours away.

As you enter the property, you are presently surprised at the detailing and vastness. The rooms are nice, elaborate and well appointed. We spent 4 nights here. We did not step out of the property (i.e. we never started our car to step out).

I am a runner, so I explored several trails and ran average of 11 km every day for 4 days and saw some breathtaking views and enjoyed myself. Its approx at 2300 meters height and in middle of jungle, so its 5-7 degrees cooler than Shimla.

We had all our meals here and basically chilled out.

Only complain we had was Cleanliness. The towels and sheets did not get changed even once in out 5 day stay. Even garbage in the bins did not get picked up even once, The place needs a little bit more house keeping. Probably, someone can clean the place on daily basis, change the sheets, change the towels, change the mats of dining table. Wipe the chairs, which have got wet due to rains etc.

But, overall an excellent property and excellent experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was seculeded, serene and awesome!
Liked least: Cleanliness. Garbage never gets picked up, towels and sheets never got changed. Table mats never got changed. Garden chairs never got wiped. Place needs housekeeping.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonalVija...
Noida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VALUE FOR MONEY.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I would like to Thanks Mr. Suniel for sharing such a beautiful Property.With Beautiful scenery , Peaceful and Awesome Food. We were altogether 11 persons in a group. Felt Like SECOND HOME. Rooms really Big and were Clean, well maintained accommodation. Bathrooms at First Floor are really big .Special Thanks to the Care taker SUNDER , Very Polite , Decent and Helpful and good Cook. Kids enjoyed their Vacations and we all felt like staying in HEAVEN.
Only for those who like Simple Home cooked Food , You will not get facilities like Hotel.
We Had Bonfire and Barbeque. Do not forgot to Carry your music. They have decent music system
We will definitely Visit again and will recommend our friends for such Beautiful property.
Once Again Thanks to All for making our vacations such beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation & Food
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing