We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$72
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mahasu House(Mashobra)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
99
61
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
61
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshatu peakbon firenew buildingawesome placeadventure sportsdecent propertybonfire areawelcome drinkfinger lickingfood qualitythe ownerdeluxe roomolder buildingthe main roadhr drivefeet above sea levelmodern furniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This good is very good indeed. There are a lot of things to do in this area. The owner, Sam and his family are exceptional. Sam is a great organizer and a qualified mountaineer. The food was the best that we had during our trip to India. There is a nice camp fire also that staff prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our resort & updated our management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Booked the Deluxe room of this property for 2 nights. Was very excited about the trip as the hotel promises a lot of activities such as horse riding up to the Hatu, amongst other things. Was disappointed to know that the same was not available since this was the off season. Found it rather strange as I was charged the season rate & also found the hotel full to its capacity.
Location:
The hotel is located around half a km into the woods & is accessible through an unmetalled road that got quite slippery in the rains. The trail to the hotel just forks off before the road leading to the Hatu peak. The property is located in serene surroundings & is quite away & aloof from the Narkanda bustle.
Room:
Very small though having nice wooden flooring. The bed too was small & the matress & pillow quite hard. I was having a corner room with glass window on two sides. The view from one of the sides was that of a property under construction while the other side had the views of distant mountain that was quite nice. The day bed placed along the glass window was also quite thoughtful. However it was a shame that the windows were too dangerous to be opened & were having an extremely sharp drop. Surprising in that the same were full length & so could be really dangerous in case one does wishes to open it. The bathroom was also very small but was working fine. However the window in the bathroom was covered with black plastic & cell tapes that looked very shabby. The shower too was cold & had extremely low water pressure.
Food:
Very disappointed. The package was inclusive of breakfast & dinner. Other than that the property has a very thin menu. We reached there at around 3:30 PM to be told that lunch would not be possible & we would have to do with snacks. There was hardly anything in the menu & the cheese finger & the chicken momo that we ordered was very bad & outright inedible. The dinner too was a scanty affair with hardly any choice though the taste was better. Breakfast too was simple with either paratha/curd or bread omlette.
Service :
Was ok. Though did not have an opportunity to stretch them any bit.
Over all experience:
Had a bad time. The property sells itself as a friends farmhouse but we did not feel that way. They knew that my kids had not had any food & yet refused to make Maggi saying that the kitchen was busy. I doubt if any of the friends farm house would do that. I had booked a 2 nights stay but was fed up after the first night itself as there was hardly anything to do at the resort. The guys at the resort had no idea about any of the places of Narkanda & were of absolutely no help. There was a pool table but the same was always crowded as the property is very small & so can get quite claustrophobic on a busy weekend. We were promised a discount of 20% at the time of booking that was ultimately denied & in addition a penalty of 25% of the room rent was charged for pre mature departure. Yet we were happy to get out of the place.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite small
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & updated our Management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Reached Tethys on 3rd July 2012. To my surprise the road to Narkanda now is fully metallic and there was not even a single pot hole throughout. The vegetation on the road side and on hills changes drastically once you cross Fagu. Its a real pleasure driving to Narkanda now. So go for it....

As for the stay, we reached at around 4.30 pm. The package included stay, evening Tea, Dinner, Breakfast next Day. The room was huge with wooden floor, 2 double beds, sitting area with sofas, LCD TV and great views. My kids had great time (aged 2.5 and 8) in the garden of the hotel. Only that the kids play area is missing makes them feel a little sad. Ordered snacks (Tawa Chicken and Gobhi Manchurian). Both were great and well priced. in 3 days trip, we had actually tasted good snacks and food (chicken masala, Yellow Dal, Aloo Ghobhi, Cheese Tomato with Kheer as dessert).

Overall, will come back soon to be on that wonderful road which leads to this wonderful hotel. Kudos Mr Dogra.. Keep us the good work. Hope to be there again in Jan 2013...

Room Tip: Choose any room. All are good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel early june courtesy Shimlaroyals.com , a travel agent specializing in arranging wonderful trips to lesser known locations in himanchal at cheap rates.It turned out to be a great journey in the end

Initially speaking about the location of the hotel it’s located on national highway 22 at a distance of 64 kilometers from shimla and 400 kilometers from Delhi, in a village named nagrot which is surrounded by dense woodlands of mixed tropical forests, villages, apple orchards and dense forest cove, our check in was quite smooth and didn’t consumed much time to our relief after all that journey and we were accompanied to our rooms

Let me take you through our positive as well as negative experiences with this hotel starting initially positive experiences

 The rooms are quite big and spacious, heaters are working fine, and all other much needed amenities are in place and in good working condition, the view from the room as well as hotel are just amazing, aerial view of the mighty Himalayas on the east and picturesque views of far-flung low-lying villages as well as apple orchards is just mesmerizing

 Hatu Peak is very much accessible from this hotel, Hatu Mata temple is a must visit place and the journey will be definitely worth a remembrance for life time, even the temple is in very pleasant atmosphere at a height of approximately 11400 feet

 The location of the hotel is not much accessible to the near by commercial places as well as restaurants

 Good service given by Shimlaroyals through out the package tour

Now the cons

 Staff behavior is worst, you want to urge them repeatedly for service instead they go deaf at your request, which is really annoying

 Don’t be fooled by the pictures shown on net as they doesn’t resemble any thing at the hotel

 Journey leading to roads near by the hotel is very slippery and very dangerous for normal drivers

 Food is a nightmare, and you don’t have any other option taking the location in to consideration

 Management are least bothered about your complaints

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kulvinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We went to Narkanda in the month of April for an official get together, we were group of 26 people and were bit concerened about our holiday, though it went all far better than expected espicially the way whole itinerary was planned by the people at tethys. Evenings were amazing with bonfire, bar-b-q music, post breakfast activity sessions at zamunda meadow and specially the walk to hatu and further to meadows and above all the rafting experience in satluj rirver. thakns to the guys and Mr Dogra @ Tethys.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance prior to visiting, talk to the owner Mr.Dogra whille planning your itinary for better recommendations.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geetikawalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews