We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short 3 day stay”
Review of Moorings Hotel

Moorings Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorings Hotel
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room adequate but attention to detail needs to be improved with a duster and Bleach plus the Tea/Coffee tray needs to be made prominent and stores checked daily. Service good, Food Great. Usual Large Nawth Country portions

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagsyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at the Moorings for a couple of days recently and I couldn't compliment it enough. Location: far enough away from any big towns that there's footpaths and walking within easy reach, but close enough that if you want access to towns (Chester le Street/Durham) they are there for you.

The room was clean and pleasant, bed comfy enough. Food was excellent (both in the bar/bistro downstairs and breakfasts in the upstairs restaurant) and great value. The staff were friendly and always helpful, late checkout wasn't a problem and I would recommend the place to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were working in Chester-le-Street and so the Moorings was a convenient place to stay. We stayed in a ground floor room which was nicely furnished, clean and had a comfortable bed. We stayed two nights and ate in the bar/bistro on both nights. There was a good choice on the menu and the food was excellent and plentiful! Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After failing to identify any suitable accommodation at a sensible price for a family visit to Durham, we booked a couple of rooms here, just a shortish drive away along the motorway. It proved to be a good decision. The Moorings Hotel is conveniently located with a large car park, and its spacious bedrooms and bathrooms are extremely well equipped, clean and comfortable. The on-site restaurant offers a good range of imaginative and well-presented dishes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucksbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed two nights with eight friends.We had an excellent meal in the restaurant upstairs.There was a bit of a mixup (Two menus on the go) but it was all sorted quickly.Felt sorry for the waitress as it was her first night but she coped admirably with us and our banter and earned her tip! Ecxellent for Beamish,woul stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Had a lovely couple of nights. Excellent food at night and a wonderful breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Stayed in room 9. Has a lovely view and very quiet. Very comfortable bed. A good nights sleep. Very well located for a visit to Beamish Museum.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for two nights on 29th & 30th May. Lovely large clean room and large modern bathroom. Staff extremely friendly and efficient nothing was too much trouble. We felt the food was excellent both at breakfast time and in the Bistro in the evening. I would suggest however asking the staff to reserve a table for you in the evening as the Bistro can be very busy.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Moorings Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and it was perfect for our requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.0 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Hotel

Address: Hett Hills, Chester-le-Street DH2 3JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing