We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorings Hotel

Moorings Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wow, this is the nicest hotel i have stayed in. We had a hot tub room, it was spectacular. The three course meal and full breakfast the following morning were out of this world. The bar manager 'Steve' was wonderful and could not of been more helpful.
We will definately be going back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapearson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We (4 guys) recently had 2 rooms for after the Ashes down the road. We booked this place purely for convenience as it was a close taxi ride after a few drinks at the cricket but it was much more than a bed for the night.Our plan was to have a day at the cricket, nip back for shower then out for a few beers and a curry but frankly the beer (real ale) was so good and the menu so inviting that we stayed. The food was excellent, from start to finish. We all had different dishes and were all very, very pleased with both quality and value, so much so that our plan was to play a round of golf the next day and go home but we ended going back for another 3 course meal!

Breakfast was also great - again very high quality with locally sourced ingredients.

Rooms very clean, very comfortable.

The staff are excellent, always helpful and with a smile, very attentive. This is a business that puts pride into giving customers the best experience they can offer, without paying an arm and leg and they are very good at it. A refreshing change from the "budget" conveyor belt hotels. This cost us £35 each (inc breakfast) and would recommend without a doubt if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A really nice out-of-way inn. Very accommodating staff and the rooms to a clean, fresh and contemporary standard. Bistro is very popular and the food quality and variety was very good. My room was a bit pricey but maybe that was the 'Ashes' factor but will stay again although next time I will bring an alternative to American Express as they don't accept it although they say they do in their literature.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for one night after visiting Beamish and had a vey enjoyable stay. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and we had a large bathroom with bath and shower. We ate in the Bistro which was very good and the service was excellent. Breakfast was served in the upstairs restaurant, there was plenty if choice and again it was very good food and service. We would definitely recommend The Moorings and would certainly return if we were in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room adequate but attention to detail needs to be improved with a duster and Bleach plus the Tea/Coffee tray needs to be made prominent and stores checked daily. Service good, Food Great. Usual Large Nawth Country portions

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at the Moorings for a couple of days recently and I couldn't compliment it enough. Location: far enough away from any big towns that there's footpaths and walking within easy reach, but close enough that if you want access to towns (Chester le Street/Durham) they are there for you.

The room was clean and pleasant, bed comfy enough. Food was excellent (both in the bar/bistro downstairs and breakfasts in the upstairs restaurant) and great value. The staff were friendly and always helpful, late checkout wasn't a problem and I would recommend the place to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were working in Chester-le-Street and so the Moorings was a convenient place to stay. We stayed in a ground floor room which was nicely furnished, clean and had a comfortable bed. We stayed two nights and ate in the bar/bistro on both nights. There was a good choice on the menu and the food was excellent and plentiful! Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Hotel

Property: Moorings Hotel
Address: Hett Hills, Chester-le-Street DH2 3JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing