We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best small hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorings Hotel

Moorings Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the Best small hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and it is always so welcoming.
The last time I stayed the owner met me in the car park and welcomed me and remembered my first name.
When I went to the Bistro the Bar manager shook my hand and yet again remembered me by my first name.
Food always excellent,rooms very comfortable.
The Bistro is always full of locals, in for a meal,which bears testament to the quality of food.
I will continue to stay here every time I am in the area.
Which now is frequently.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Friendly staff. comfortable & spacious room. Safe car park which is locked at night. Superb food.
Although on a main road it was very quiet at night. It is also very convenient to have a bar/restaurant on the site, especially one with such outstandingly good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Does what it says on the tin and then some! Clean comfortable room, very friendly helpful staff, good food well cooked, possibly the best breakfast I have eaten and that includes five star hotels, why would anyone want a buffet when your breakfast is cooked to order? Excellent value for money, those who have been disappointed have either been very unlucky or are extremely hard to please, o.k. it doesn't have all the facilities/bigger rooms of a large hotel but you aren't paying big hotel prices. The fact that the restaurant was full on Tuesday night pays testament to the fact that locals as well as visitors rate this place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be a little quieter if the weather is hot and you need to leave the window ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and friendly. Our room was very comfy and smart. The setting was magnificent and easy to get to most places around Fort William. The food in the resturant was very good. To thing they need to improve on and they are the shower in room3 and make available the cooked breakfast a Buffett style. But other than that highly recommended

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The rooms were clean and quiet enough but nothing special with regard to decor. A couple of strange things were that the tea/coffee making stuff was hidden away in a cupboard so we thought we didn't have any until someone in the bar told us to look there. Also, the way the bath has been put in means either sitting on the plug or against the overflow. It was also difficult to stand under the shower as there was a shelf at the side of the bath which made it a tight fit.

However, it was really nice to have somewhere to have a very nice dinner without having to look around for a restaurant. The breakfast was also lovely and they were very flexible about the cooked breakfast for vegetarians. It is also very conveniently located for Beamish Open Air Museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleSeeLS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

What a really nice hotel - the rooms are modern and clean (and room 2 was quiet). The food in the bar was super and the menu extensive. All the staff were friendly. We were surprised at how many customers were there throughout the day bearing in mind it isn't in the middle of town but just outside Chester-Le-Street, but having stayed and ate there we can see why people would travel to visit.

Pity about the rain - we had to call off our planned walk along Hadrian's Wall but at least we know where to stay next time we visit!

Room Tip: Room 2 was at the back of the hotel building so was really quiet (not facing the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Found the Moorings on the Internet when looking for a place to stop for one night between business meetings in the North East. It is a very comfortable place, a cut above the boring business hotel chains. It is set in beautiful countryside and is only minutes from the A1(M) by car so handy for Newcastle as well as Durham. Particularly impressed with the food - they take great pride in it - both in terms of taste and presentation. The staff are really pleasant too. Minor quibble would be that the WiFi didn't work very well. Otherwise, it was top drawer.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Hotel

Property: Moorings Hotel
Address: Hett Hills, Chester-le-Street DH2 3JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing