We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable House Convenient for Families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This spacious 3 bedroom cottage was mostly comfortable except for the double bed through which you could feel the springs. Another disappointment was the lack of basic tea, coffee and soap which we have seen in other self catering accommodation. The location was very convenient to Durham and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have stayed at Plawsworth Hall Cottages many times in the past. We decided to return this year and found it to be of the same excellent standard as we had remembered. Harry is very friendly and helpful. The cottages are so spacious and luxurious we would like to live in one permanently! It is well placed for Durham, Newcastle and Sunderland, even Teesside. We will definitely be back next year (when the weather is hopefully warmer!).

Room Tip: Cottages have 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms, with 2 bunk beds in one. Very good sized kitchen and loun...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

4th time and we wouldnt go any where else, have stayed in a cottage and an apartment both spotless with everything you could want to have a relaxed stress free break. Harry on site to welcome you and always there if you need him but you probably won't .Central to some beautiful areas of the north east and good local pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Harry is friendly and welcoming. Our cottage is clean, large, modern and pleasant. I can think of only one suggestion and that would be the installation of a dishwasher in the kitchen but that's really only a small thing. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation. Plawsworth is a brilliant central base for a holiday in the north east. Durham is a beautiful leafy city with an abundance of interesting places to visit, eat and enjoy. Something for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Received a warm welcome on arrival at Plawsworth Hall Farm.We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was warm, clean, comfortable and had all the comforts of home, the only thing missing was a dvd player!We found Plawsworth peaceful and relaxing, yet a really good location for exploring Durham, Beamish and the surrounding area.Two good pubs close by,(Red Lion and Chester Moor)serving excellent food and within walking distance.Thank you Harry for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alf h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

..but it's damn close.

We recieved a very warm welcome on arrival, it was much appreciated! We stayed in number 13. Three Bedrooms, one double, one twin and one single. Two bathrooms, the master bedroom had an ensuite.

I find no fault with my stay, it's as described, well priced and fit for purpose.

I travel around the UK constantly with my job and this is one of the nicest places I have been to. I'm not saying my company is cheap but I have stayed in some places I can only describe as 'crack dens'.

I'd highly reccomend booking here, it's the same price as a three-bed-hotel room in Leeds! ..I don't want to talk about it.

Thanks for such a wonderful stay, when I am back in the area we will defiantly book again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordFarSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Currently staying in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment with colleagues as we are all working near Durham. The apartment is spacious and comfortably furnished with everything one could need for a "home away from home". It is also well maintained and kept very clean.

So much better than living out of a suitcase in a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
2.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
3.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
523 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments

Address: Plawsworth Hall Farm, Chester-le-Street DH2 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chester-le-Street
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet, award winning village of Plawsworth and surrounded by the magnificent Durham countryside Plawsworth Hall cottages provide a comfortable, home from home, rural retreat and a great opportunity to get away from it all. Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages and apartments are situated in the idyllic village of Plawsworth surrounded by beautiful Durham countryside and offer a choice of one and two bedroomed apartments and three bedroomed cottages. They are all stylishly furnished and fully equipped with everything you might need during your stay away from home. There is ample car parking, a weekly housekeeping and linen changing service, an on-site office/reception to provide you with any assistance you may need Only 3 miles from the historic city of Durham with its world famous cathedral you'll find numerous museums and galleries, ancient castles and historic houses. County Durham's beautiful coast and countryside with its country parks and riverside walks are legendary while Durham's central location makes the whole north east so accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing