We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hollycroft B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollycroft B&B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I've stayed here twice. It's a super B&B. Lynn and Alan are friendly and generous hosts; they were very accommodating during both my stays. My bedroom was comfortable and well-equipped, with colourful decor. The bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was great - particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad!

The location is perfect for easy access to the centre of Chester-le-Street - it's a short walk to the shops and train station.

I would thoroughly recommend Hollycroft to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiavse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
13
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Trying to find this place was difficult, there is no Bed and Breakfast sign, it's a house with a sign over the door. Nice room well decorated, good sized bathroom and shower. The couple who ran it really friendly. Fantastic breakfast. It felt like you were in someone's house as there guests, beats a travel lodge or similar, much more personnel. Will return.

Room Tip: When using Sat Nav put in the post code not the address. When driving down Durham Road, look for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicesterCityFan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

this was a last minute booking as id booked wrong date in travelodge.
i thought the £70 for a room was a bit expensive and sharing a breakfast table with other folk was not my cup of tea,other than that everything else was spot on,very clean and tidy,spacious,comfy bed and good location

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foreverpools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lynn and Alan made us feel very welcome in their home and couldn't have been more helpful over the course of our three day stay. We travelled to Durham with a toddler and as well as the cot for her to sleep in they also loaned us their grand children's toys for her to use. The house is well proportioned, beautifully decorated and very clean. Can't say there's anything to mark them down on and the breakfast is top notch. Lynn even went out to buy a bottle of Tabasco when she hadn't any in the cupboard when I ask on our first morning. Great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

One of the best b & bs ever stayed at. Welcome and room very warm. Facilities/cleanliness couldn't have been better.
Although travelling (unusually) alone I felt very at home and would
definitely use Hollycroft again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is without doubt the best B&B I have stayed in. The New York themed room we were shown to was large, well decorated and spotlessly clean. We were made very welcome by Alan who even gave us a lift to the local in the evening as it was freezing cold and I was wearing my heels!

There was a great choice at breakfast, fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt cereal and the Full English, and I'm sure other options too had we asked.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the New York room at the front of the house, although I did not see he o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights and it was perfect in every way, spotlessly clean, kind welcoming hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. can't praise them enough would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone lokking for accomodation in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
749 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollycroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollycroft B&B

Property: Hollycroft B&B
Address: 11 The Parade, Chester-le-Street DH3 3LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Chester-le-Street, Hollycroft is the place to stay. Hollycroft is a family-owned, turn of the century traditional town house, which retains many of it's original features. Modern en-suites have been added without detracting from the period features. Hollycroft is open throughout the year (excluding the Christmas period) and is ideally situated for the County Cricket Ground, Lumley Castle and Beamish Museum. If you are looking for Chester-le-Street bed and breakfast accommodation with comfortable rooms, private off street parking and a very warm welcome from Alan and Lyn, Hollycroft is your place to stay. A fresh fruit salad is a speciality of ours as part of a hearty breakfast. All rooms en-suite with LED/LCD TV, Blue Ray/DVD, Wi-Fi internet, hospitality tray and tea/coffee facilities.Secure parking available on request.Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollycroft Hotel Chester-Le-Street
Hollycroft Bed And Breakfast
Hollycroft B&B Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing