We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional B&B”
Review of Lambton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lambton Arms
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Good, clean, cosy accomodation above a really friendly little pub (that closed all on time and didn't keep us awake). We had dinner in the restaurant which was a little dated and 80's in it's style but none the less very tasty, the steaks were delicious and the staff great. Breakfast was a treat too, a proper full English, they'll even throw in fried bread!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

had a wonderful stay - 4 poster bed, jacuzzi bath for £40 per night
room really confortable, noisy at times but above a pub an dit was weekend this wouldnt put me off booking again
staff pleasant enough except at breakfast. Pre booked through Late rooms and was told only paid for 1 night although booking reference said breakfast for 2 for 2 days,
food was ok but felt a little ripped off as we had to pay again
free parking and wifi

Room Tip: dont pre book breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A wonderful room at an incredibly reasonable price. Staff go the extra mile and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Be aware that the front rooms are on a main street, so ask for a room on the back if this is a conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and I have to say that I will return when next in the North East again.

The hotel is above all very good value for money, the rooms are of a good standard with the beds especially comfortable. The décor is a little tired but more than adequate. The bathroom was good and very clean. The television had the advantage of free view channels.

The location is very good right on the main shopping street in the town; this has the benefit of giving you a great location but with the drawback of some noise, however this was not the case throughout the night.

The food was the standard pub food fare and the drinks were keenly priced.

Very much a good value for money place to stay n Chester le Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Arrived late afternoon, picked up room key from bar staff as expected. Staff very friendly, shown up to our room. Room 1 good sized clean room with four-poster bed and whirlpool bath. Good value for money, clean room, comfortable bed and impressive cooked breakfast served by very friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you may prefer a room at the back - room 1 was at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordieexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The is no proper reception, you go the bar for your keys. The bathroom is basic and is not that clean. Holes in the carpet in the room. The only good thing about this accommodation is it is in the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed for only one night in the Lambton Arms and it did everything it said on the tin. Room 1 was enormous - with a fourposter bed, a sofa, a trouser press, a brand-new plasma TV and (wait for it) a whirlpool bath! And all for £40 for the two of us. Breakfast was your traditional fry-up - nobody enquired if we wanted a continental one. We sat in the bay window and people watched.
If you only like modern, sterile, corporate hotels, with uniformed staff wishing you a nice day, the Lambton Arms is not for you. It's a historic coaching inn, with loads of character and friendly staff. If I'm ever back in Chester-le-Street (unlikely), I'll head straight for the Lambton Arms.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanz1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,196 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
21 reviews
0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing