We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lambton Arms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lambton Arms
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good basic accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is good value at £35 per night which is what we paid for a double room.

Full English breakfast for an extra £5 was also good value.

The hotel is well located in the town but slightly awkward to get to by car because of the one way \ pedestrian system on Front Street. Just use Google maps or similar - car park is right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vofster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Having recently stayed at the Lampton i can honestly it is clean and tidy and the staff are very pleasant.
This rather surprised me, Having read some of the reviews previously posted.
I would recomend it to anyone who is not looking to score points from knit picking

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel overnight when we went to visit Beamish Open Air Museum. When we arrived there we were pleasantly surprised by how clean and tidy it was after reading some of the reports. It was really modern inside, The beds were really comfortable, The room was clean and the landlady was really helpful. Alas we slept in next morning due to the comfort of the beds so we didn't have time for breakfast, but next time I'm over there I will be stopping at the Lambton Arms Hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickey2dumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Good, clean, cosy accomodation above a really friendly little pub (that closed all on time and didn't keep us awake). We had dinner in the restaurant which was a little dated and 80's in it's style but none the less very tasty, the steaks were delicious and the staff great. Breakfast was a treat too, a proper full English, they'll even throw in fried bread!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

had a wonderful stay - 4 poster bed, jacuzzi bath for £40 per night
room really confortable, noisy at times but above a pub an dit was weekend this wouldnt put me off booking again
staff pleasant enough except at breakfast. Pre booked through Late rooms and was told only paid for 1 night although booking reference said breakfast for 2 for 2 days,
food was ok but felt a little ripped off as we had to pay again
free parking and wifi

Room Tip: dont pre book breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

A wonderful room at an incredibly reasonable price. Staff go the extra mile and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Be aware that the front rooms are on a main street, so ask for a room on the back if this is a conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and I have to say that I will return when next in the North East again.

The hotel is above all very good value for money, the rooms are of a good standard with the beds especially comfortable. The décor is a little tired but more than adequate. The bathroom was good and very clean. The television had the advantage of free view channels.

The location is very good right on the main shopping street in the town; this has the benefit of giving you a great location but with the drawback of some noise, however this was not the case throughout the night.

The food was the standard pub food fare and the drinks were keenly priced.

Very much a good value for money place to stay n Chester le Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Property: Lambton Arms
Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing