We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“niamh/s birthday.”
Review of Lambton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lambton Arms
Heywood, United Kingdom
1 review
“niamh/s birthday.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

as it was the weekend of the great north run we just managed to book into this hotel without having to pay increased prices like all the other hotels. big clean room and a very good breakfast would stop here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    35
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
36
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We came upto Durham for a family birthday so we in fact rented 3 rooms,no complaints from anyone clean honest accomodation that you cant find fault with that is very reasonably priced. All the staff very nice and the full english was very well made indeed. We would all stay again if visting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

have become a regular visitor to this bed and breakfast. Stayed bank holiday weekend for 2 nights. superior room, 4 poster bed and jaccuzzi bath. rooms never fail to impress. although a little tired we have been told they are to be updated soon. we only paid £40 per night. Above a pub on a busy street and can be noisy at times but noise usually disappears by midnight. Not far from durham and Newcastle and on a main bus route. Plenty of shops and pubs to visit. Central for most main areas. Free car parking and wifi. Extensive pub menu and lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is good value at £35 per night which is what we paid for a double room.

Full English breakfast for an extra £5 was also good value.

The hotel is well located in the town but slightly awkward to get to by car because of the one way \ pedestrian system on Front Street. Just use Google maps or similar - car park is right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vofster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Having recently stayed at the Lampton i can honestly it is clean and tidy and the staff are very pleasant.
This rather surprised me, Having read some of the reviews previously posted.
I would recomend it to anyone who is not looking to score points from knit picking

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel overnight when we went to visit Beamish Open Air Museum. When we arrived there we were pleasantly surprised by how clean and tidy it was after reading some of the reports. It was really modern inside, The beds were really comfortable, The room was clean and the landlady was really helpful. Alas we slept in next morning due to the comfort of the beds so we didn't have time for breakfast, but next time I'm over there I will be stopping at the Lambton Arms Hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickey2dumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Good, clean, cosy accomodation above a really friendly little pub (that closed all on time and didn't keep us awake). We had dinner in the restaurant which was a little dated and 80's in it's style but none the less very tasty, the steaks were delicious and the staff great. Breakfast was a treat too, a proper full English, they'll even throw in fried bread!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
751 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Property: Lambton Arms
Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing