We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Hotel.”
Review of Lambton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lambton Arms
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was in a great location for what we needed, and offered everything you could want.
The rooms were very nice, however the bathroom was in need of a facelift - but everything was clean and useable.

The only downside id say was the music from underneath in the bar, but I did know this would be happening, music went off at about 12pm.

Breakfast was great, waitresses were really friendly.

All in all, this is a fantastic hotel, I would definitely recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthfulreviewer_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location for us as we wanted somewhere within walking distances to the pubs. Found staff very helpful.Some of the furniture had seen better days and the bathroom was dated and could of done with some TLC.However the rooms were very clean and large in size. I would recommend staying at the Lampton arm,very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I travel to the North-East on business quite frequently. On this occasion, I was speaking at a Conference being held at the Emirates Durham County Cricket Ground. I chose to stay at the Lambton Arms - and what an excellent choice it was !

Situated in the main shopping street (Front Street), the Lambton Arms Hotel is a few minutes stroll from Chester-le-Street railway station. Externally, a large and well maintained three-storey victorian building, it enjoys a corner location, with a residents car park to the rear, from which there is a residents-only entrance. Check-in was welcoming and I was shown to my first floor room, with an offer to carry my case.

I had booked a two night stay and had been allocated a twin room (number 5). The room was large and recently refurbished - decorated in a combination of peacock blue wall-covernings with beige accessories. The beds were incredibly comfortable with pristine, fresh-smelling duvets and an array of both pillows and cushions. The room was tastefully furnished in mahogany style reproduction furniture, comprising two bedside cabinets, a coffee table, wardrobe and a dressing table. There was also an armchair, a footstool and a further chair for the dressing table. Lighting was provided by bedside lamps and a standard lamp. There was a hairdryer, trouser press and flat-screen TV showing a good range of channels.

The bathroom was huge, with an over-bath shower, plenty of fresh fluffy towels and corner-view windows. Liquid soap is provided in a dispenser.

The ground-floor is occupied by a large and friendly bar, arranged bistro-style, with lots of separate areas, so that whichever table you choose feels more intimate than sitting in one large area. There is also a pavement cafe. The menu is excellent, with a range of light snacks, locally sourced produce, main meals and wines - all of which offered both quality, variety and value.

The staff are incredibly friendly.

I booked my room on-line and got a great deal (£40 per night) although some rooms - the few single rooms - go for less.

Really enjoyed a 'boutique' hotel stay at The Lambton Arms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Global_Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Have stayed here a few times when I've been up in Chester Le Street as it's in easy walking distance of the railway station and is on the main high street. It's nothing fancy but that's no surprise at the prices they charge.
The rooms are over a busy pub and, certainly on a Friday night, don't expect to get any sleep till after midnight due to the noise from both downstairs and outside.
The rooms vary a great deal in my experience. I've stayed in a couple that were pretty dated and had tiny TV's and milk pots that contained milk so old it had congealed! However, I've also stayed in better rooms and the superior room is well worth paying the extra few pounds for (around £40 I recall). This room has comfy leather sofa, very large bed, big TV and a Jacuzzi!
All in all, great value and very easy going sort of place. I wouldn't choose it for a few days break, but for a business overnight trip it's cheap and cheerful.

Room Tip: Ask if the Superior room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Wow, last minute weekday meal and it was gorgeous. We have been once before but a whole ago.

Just went local for tea on a Tuesday, did not book but it was ok, we got seated straight away even though it was 3/4 full. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere. As it was 6pm on a Tuesday there were a few menu options. There is a 9.95 pp 3 course plus a drink menu which looked lovely, however we went for the steak, chips and bottle of wine for £20.00 we added Diane sauce and a portion of the most gorgeous onion rings, 1 pint of Heineken and 2 baked vanilla cheesecakes an the bill was £40.00. Worth every penny! Going to make steak night Tuesdays a regular thing :) x

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodfannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The rooms were clean and a clean comfortable bed ,and a good breakfast ,well worth the money as we couldnt afford lumley castle prices would definetly reccomend ,friendly helpfull staff ,thank you making our stay a good one

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Food was very nice and cost next to nothing. Service was quick and waitresses were pleasent... for what you pay you cant get much better than this. Very happy and wpuld recommend this to anyone who wants a nice meal for a very good price

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rumfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
161 reviews
2.5 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apart...
#1 of 1 in Chester-le-Street
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing