We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable pub”
Review of Lambton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lambton Arms
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband had stayed at this hotel over 40 years ago and was keen to see if it had changed so we checked in for one night in June 2014.

Our room was a spacious twin and very reasonably priced at 45 pounds. Decor was quite new, beds were comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The bathroom could have done with an update but it was clean and everything worked OK.

We had a nice dinner in the bar downstairs but didn't stay for breakfast. Friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NickyApplecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

A large public house conveniently situated on the corner of Front Street and Station Road, the pub is no more than half a mile from the railway station and has a car park attached that is free to patrons. The accommodation is upstairs. Recently refurbished, the room was spacious with en-suite facilities. The double bed was comfortable. I stayed for one night. It was a Monday. The pub downstairs closed at 10:30pm. I understand this may vary due to patronage or live entertainment provided. Be wary of rooms facing Front Street, after hours you may be serenaded by local populous as the vacate other establishments.
Charges are by room and not individual guest. Most rooms sleep two people or more. You have the option of breakfast in the morning served in the pub downstairs from 8:30am onwards. A fried full English is £5.00 per person. Wi-Fi is provided free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt5642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

the room was big.
the bathroom smelled really badly had to have the windows open all night. I think it was backed up sewer smell.
the trouser press was filthy, they shouldn't have it in the room in that state.
the bed was described as a four poster.... economical with the truth there but is was comfortable enough.
plaster falling off the wall in the corner.
value for money. worked out at £25 per night per person so you defo get what you pay for .
would I stay there again ??? would pay more for something else. but for the money you could do worse

Room Tip: Rooms 1-9 are on the floor directly above the pub. go for room numbers higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good location, good food, friendly service, well appointed room, very spacious indeed.
Ideal location for Beamish, Durham City etc...
Breakfast served at your convenience by a lovely team !
Parking free if room booked, small beer garden at rear, perfect for local transport to all areas of interest, What more could you ask for....book without hesitation.....!

Room Tip: Request a front room if you like a night vibe, but a rear one if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunlover777732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was in a great location for what we needed, and offered everything you could want.
The rooms were very nice, however the bathroom was in need of a facelift - but everything was clean and useable.

The only downside id say was the music from underneath in the bar, but I did know this would be happening, music went off at about 12pm.

Breakfast was great, waitresses were really friendly.

All in all, this is a fantastic hotel, I would definitely recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthfulreviewer_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location for us as we wanted somewhere within walking distances to the pubs. Found staff very helpful.Some of the furniture had seen better days and the bathroom was dated and could of done with some TLC.However the rooms were very clean and large in size. I would recommend staying at the Lampton arm,very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I travel to the North-East on business quite frequently. On this occasion, I was speaking at a Conference being held at the Emirates Durham County Cricket Ground. I chose to stay at the Lambton Arms - and what an excellent choice it was !

Situated in the main shopping street (Front Street), the Lambton Arms Hotel is a few minutes stroll from Chester-le-Street railway station. Externally, a large and well maintained three-storey victorian building, it enjoys a corner location, with a residents car park to the rear, from which there is a residents-only entrance. Check-in was welcoming and I was shown to my first floor room, with an offer to carry my case.

I had booked a two night stay and had been allocated a twin room (number 5). The room was large and recently refurbished - decorated in a combination of peacock blue wall-covernings with beige accessories. The beds were incredibly comfortable with pristine, fresh-smelling duvets and an array of both pillows and cushions. The room was tastefully furnished in mahogany style reproduction furniture, comprising two bedside cabinets, a coffee table, wardrobe and a dressing table. There was also an armchair, a footstool and a further chair for the dressing table. Lighting was provided by bedside lamps and a standard lamp. There was a hairdryer, trouser press and flat-screen TV showing a good range of channels.

The bathroom was huge, with an over-bath shower, plenty of fresh fluffy towels and corner-view windows. Liquid soap is provided in a dispenser.

The ground-floor is occupied by a large and friendly bar, arranged bistro-style, with lots of separate areas, so that whichever table you choose feels more intimate than sitting in one large area. There is also a pavement cafe. The menu is excellent, with a range of light snacks, locally sourced produce, main meals and wines - all of which offered both quality, variety and value.

The staff are incredibly friendly.

I booked my room on-line and got a great deal (£40 per night) although some rooms - the few single rooms - go for less.

Really enjoyed a 'boutique' hotel stay at The Lambton Arms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
95 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lambton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing