We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very poor hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lambton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lambton Arms
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very poor hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel because it was close to Lumley castle were we were going to a wedding.
I took the advantage of up grading to a superior room with a whirlpool bath. When we arrived we were shown to our room on entering my first impression was the room could have done with a coat of paint, but it looked OK. Then I went to use the whirlpool bath. I put the plug in and the plug hole was rusty and the bath was marked. The whirlpool didn't work. I went to get ready that is when I noticed just how dirty the room was. In the corner the wallpaper was off the wall, the net curtains were filthy. The radiator had not been cleaned and I the windows were really dirty. I have attached photos. If this is what the superior room was like I wouldn't like to see how a standard room was like.The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. There is nothing more I can say about this hotel except for I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinefamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
36
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband had stayed at this hotel over 40 years ago and was keen to see if it had changed so we checked in for one night in June 2014.

Our room was a spacious twin and very reasonably priced at 45 pounds. Decor was quite new, beds were comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The bathroom could have done with an update but it was clean and everything worked OK.

We had a nice dinner in the bar downstairs but didn't stay for breakfast. Friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyApplecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A large public house conveniently situated on the corner of Front Street and Station Road, the pub is no more than half a mile from the railway station and has a car park attached that is free to patrons. The accommodation is upstairs. Recently refurbished, the room was spacious with en-suite facilities. The double bed was comfortable. I stayed for one night. It was a Monday. The pub downstairs closed at 10:30pm. I understand this may vary due to patronage or live entertainment provided. Be wary of rooms facing Front Street, after hours you may be serenaded by local populous as the vacate other establishments.
Charges are by room and not individual guest. Most rooms sleep two people or more. You have the option of breakfast in the morning served in the pub downstairs from 8:30am onwards. A fried full English is £5.00 per person. Wi-Fi is provided free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt5642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

the room was big.
the bathroom smelled really badly had to have the windows open all night. I think it was backed up sewer smell.
the trouser press was filthy, they shouldn't have it in the room in that state.
the bed was described as a four poster.... economical with the truth there but is was comfortable enough.
plaster falling off the wall in the corner.
value for money. worked out at £25 per night per person so you defo get what you pay for .
would I stay there again ??? would pay more for something else. but for the money you could do worse

Room Tip: Rooms 1-9 are on the floor directly above the pub. go for room numbers higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester-le-Street hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good location, good food, friendly service, well appointed room, very spacious indeed.
Ideal location for Beamish, Durham City etc...
Breakfast served at your convenience by a lovely team !
Parking free if room booked, small beer garden at rear, perfect for local transport to all areas of interest, What more could you ask for....book without hesitation.....!

Room Tip: Request a front room if you like a night vibe, but a rear one if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlover777732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was in a great location for what we needed, and offered everything you could want.
The rooms were very nice, however the bathroom was in need of a facelift - but everything was clean and useable.

The only downside id say was the music from underneath in the bar, but I did know this would be happening, music went off at about 12pm.

Breakfast was great, waitresses were really friendly.

All in all, this is a fantastic hotel, I would definitely recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthfulreviewer_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location for us as we wanted somewhere within walking distances to the pubs. Found staff very helpful.Some of the furniture had seen better days and the bathroom was dated and could of done with some TLC.However the rooms were very clean and large in size. I would recommend staying at the Lampton arm,very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
0.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
5.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lambton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lambton Arms

Property: Lambton Arms
Address: 61 Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH3 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambton Arms is a lovely pub in the centre of Chester-le-Street that also has 11 letting bedrooms and 2 function rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lambton Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing