We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dun Cow

The Dun Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

There is a good variety on menu but very disappointed after having roast dinner today Monday - the Yorkshire pud was stale I'm sure that I was served leftovers from Sunday however the meat was edible but veg especially cauliflower was also suspect. I've eaten here before and have been pleased I really should have complained.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janicedale, Owner at The Dun Cow, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Linda, strong apologies that you didn't enjoy your meal with us after having eaten here before. I really wish you had told us at the time as we could have arranged another meal or refunded you. Hopefully this hasn't put you off and if you do choose to eat with us again we will definitely strive to make sure your meal is as enjoyable as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at DH4 6DY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just returned from having Sunday Lunch at the Dun Cow ,Bournmoor. The meal itself was ,I would say the best meal I have had out anywhere for a very long time.It was not skimped at all .The service was what you would expect but not what you always get from other places.We put on our plates what we wanted and the plates went back to the kitchen with nothing left on them.We decided to try the sweets and believe me they were to die for and the ice cream on the side was so creamy.I can only say you have to try it.Go even during the week there are some great offers on even then..Denis and Mercel.Peterlee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank den65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you! Brilliant Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Perfect night! We had our engagement party here and we can't thank the staff at the Dun Cow enough for everything they did to make the night so great for ourselves, family and friends.

We booked to use the function room which is a fantastic venue and a great size for our party of 50, but it would also suit larger or smaller gatherings. We came during the day to arrange and decorate the room so we could get it how we wanted for the night. The staff were very helpful and we could choose how many tables and chairs we needed and where we wanted everything positioning, which allowed us to think of everyone's needs and requirements for the night.

Due to the layout of the room, it provides a great atmosphere for everyone. The open area at the front of the room was great for the younger people to mingle together near the bar, while the seated area at the back of the room offers a place for older family members to sit and relax.

The Bar was private to our party away from the main part, which was well stocked with a variety of drinks both on tap and in the fridges.

The food at the Dun Cow was brilliant, (and it always is as we go there for meals regularly - great choice for meals on the main menu). We opted to go for a buffet style meal, (but you can opt for a more formal meal if you desire), and they provide many different options as standard to suit a variety of price budgets - but if you wanted anything substituting they were more than happy to amend the order. The quality of the food was spot on and everyone who came to our party commented on how nice it was.

All in all this is a fantastic place, it was a brilliant night and one more time thank you very much for everything! We would highly recommend this to anyone whether they want to book it for a party or just want a lovely meal, refreshing drink and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandJayne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had Mother's Day dinner here with my parents and our children and it was delicious. I had a vegetarian goats cheese puff which was fantastic and with being vegie for 25 years it's always pleasant to find somewhere that's thoughtful enough to provide such quality for the picky! The rest of our group had beef, pork or turkey and I was assured it was melt in mouth tender. The portions were generous and everything was served piping hot.
The staff were lovely and happily fetched extra cutlery and napkins and anything else we needed to deal with the pitfalls of taking a toddler out to lunch.
A fabulous Mother's Day treat!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emmiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meeting with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Six of us meet every month at the Dun Cow - lovely atmosphere , very good food , and a charachter style to the place . Easy to get to as it is just off the A1 at junction 63 , it makes for a great place to meet up , and enjoy a good spread of beers etc at the bar . Can recommend to all ages and tastes .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dun Cow also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to The Dun Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing