We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wicket Gate

The Wicket Gate
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Wetherspoon pub based in a small market town near Durham, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent value for money as well as quality service. During the week we are a thriving bar/restaurant and on the weekend nights we become the best late night venue in Chester-Le-Street.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“okish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

i find the breakfast meals here are really good value for money but i find the lunches taste and look like like microwave ready meals which is a shame becouse the place is really nice and so are the staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trina154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    37
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Love the Wicket Gate, been here several times and always have a great night.. Bargain prices, always a nice crowd in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding value... good quality at en excellent price... fantastic for a casual mid-week meal out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We popped in for a bite to eat and took advantage of the steak night offer. We hadn't planned to eat out so just wanted a casual meal. We were amazed at the price and thought the meal wouldn't be up to much at those prices. How wrong we were. 2 of us has the steak and I had the rack of ribs. Perfect!! The staff were friendly and the place looked clean and fresh. At £6.99 each you can't be bit! There was even a drink included in the price!
I think we might go back and try curry night on Thursday!
Parking is easy at night but I can imagine it isn't so easy during the day.... and I think the bar might be very busy at weekends....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hungover ??? Starving ??? Get a large breakfast it will sort you for a week. Lunchtime Salmon is a firm fave and they also offer low calorie options which is great for dieters who still want to dine out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-St
Level Contributor
234 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Breakfast Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Visited this ph for breakfast one morning and was impressed with it.We found a table and noted the number and ordered at the bar some large breakfasts with tea which was requested to be served with the food when it arrived.The food arrived after about a 15-20 min wait and looked lovely and was" large" with the tea arriving closely behind it.The quality and the cooking of the food was very good with the only minor gripe these sauce sachets! All in all very good value £4.50 for the breakfast and £1.15 for the mug of tea BUT be hungry for this size of breakfast as it IS LARGE.We shall return in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaChester_le_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wicket Gate also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to The Wicket Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing