We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wicket Gate

The Wicket Gate
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Wetherspoon pub based in a small market town near Durham, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent value for money as well as quality service. During the week we are a thriving bar/restaurant and on the weekend nights we become the best late night venue in Chester-Le-Street.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The food in here was typical pub food and at a good price, staff were fine and didn't have to wait too long for the food. just remember, you get what you pay for, which is fine if your after some simple food, if you want something special you need to go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goafishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    38
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pelton Fell, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have been before for breakfast and it was realy nice, so we decide to go one lunch time, i ordered scampi and chips, Iwecould not eat the chips, there were just pure grease, i tryed to soak some of the grease with my napkin but still could not eat them, even the ebetter half who has a cast iron stomach could not eat them. when the guy came to collect the plates he asked if everything was ok, as he could see we had not ate the chips i told him why to which he replyed "for future refference you can ask for salad instead of chips" for his future refference when i want a salad i will order a salad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“okish”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

i find the breakfast meals here are really good value for money but i find the lunches taste and look like like microwave ready meals which is a shame becouse the place is really nice and so are the staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trina154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pub.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Love the Wicket Gate, been here several times and always have a great night.. Bargain prices, always a nice crowd in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding value... good quality at en excellent price... fantastic for a casual mid-week meal out”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We popped in for a bite to eat and took advantage of the steak night offer. We hadn't planned to eat out so just wanted a casual meal. We were amazed at the price and thought the meal wouldn't be up to much at those prices. How wrong we were. 2 of us has the steak and I had the rack of ribs. Perfect!! The staff were friendly and the place looked clean and fresh. At £6.99 each you can't be bit! There was even a drink included in the price!
I think we might go back and try curry night on Thursday!
Parking is easy at night but I can imagine it isn't so easy during the day.... and I think the bar might be very busy at weekends....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wicket Gate also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to The Wicket Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing