We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bar service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wicket Gate

The Wicket Gate
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Wetherspoon pub based in a small market town near Durham, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent value for money as well as quality service. During the week we are a thriving bar/restaurant and on the weekend nights we become the best late night venue in Chester-Le-Street.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bar service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Food is good drinks are very reasonable but service at the bar is very very bad you wait ages to get served you need some good staff

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynnann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, Manager at The Wicket Gate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am sorry to see that on this occasion we have not delivered the service that you expect from us. As the saying goes, you learn from your mistakes, we review our staffing levels regularly and adjust our rota's accordingly to meet the demands of the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    37
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped off en route from Yorkshire to Scotland and found this to be far cheaper and more pleasant than a service station? Contemporary decor and a good selection of food and drinks at a great price. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliebarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, Manager at The Wicket Gate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are very pleased to receive your recommendation, our proximity to the A1 is definitely an advantage to us and we would love to see more people like yourselves pop in whilst you are on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“wednesday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited here with husband wed early afternoon, hus band had a shandy and i had a sauvignon wine , drinks were satisfactory. Hubby had fish and chips, peas, and i had carbonnara pasta, both meals were lovely. The service was satisfactory, no problems with anything. We feel this is the type of place u would visit during the day, but not at night, as we feel the meal was nice, but basic, a lunch time meal. Service was satisfactory

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, Manager at The Wicket Gate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your recent lunch visit to us. I would also like to take the opportunity to persuade you to visit us during one of our club nights where I think you will be pleasantly surprised at the service we deliver in the evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a plain and tasty meal at a very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

very good ham, egg and chips at a really good price, cheap proper beer too! quick and friendly service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank janicegwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, Manager at The Wicket Gate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Wicket Gate on your recent visit. We pride ourselves on delivering quality and value for money as well as a warm and friendly environment. It is good to see that this is being recognised by you the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brill place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

When visiting a small market town you don't expect a lot, even from a chain pub such as wetherspoons. However this pub is well above average (and expectations!). Staff are super friendly, and all seem to have great relationships with the regular crowd of customers, which is nice to see when visiting somewhere you never have before! Food and drink is so reasonably priced, we found ourselves coming back almost every day instead of paying more elsewhere for less service! Only downside is some of the furnishings, such as the carpet, are starting to look a little worn. But in such a busy pub small wear and tear is expected! Overall I'd say it's the best place in Chester-le-street, can't beat it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, Manager at The Wicket Gate, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind review that you submitted, high praise indeed. We are absolutely delighted that you think that we are the best in Chester-Le- Street, we like to think we are too. Your comments on our furnishings have been noted and we are currently in the process of renewing the upholstery on many of our chairs and are due a carpet clean to make it look a lot fresher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wicket Gate also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to The Wicket Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing