We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smaller portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Smaller portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Have always thought their Diamond Deals £2.99 menu was good value for money but what we had served yesterday was not, 8/10 chips each, if we were lucky, five pieces of scampi, an elongated " fish finger" sized piece of fish & a teaspoon of peas. The largest portion of food on the plate was the tartare sauce.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristyB418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice pub.nice meals. beer garden. very friendly staff. would return again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

excellent value with a very walk welcoming atmosphere that makes you want to return again.The beer garden is a welcoming bonus. Just off the main road do very easy access.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Bing map search showed this venue as 5 star. We found the veggie bean burgher dry and unappetizing, chips cold and men's toilets in a disgusting state. In retrospect we should have pointed this out to the bar staff at the time but unfortunately we didn't. We were just passing through and would certainly give it a miss if we were in a similar position again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandtwitma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good family pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The red lion is nicely done out, with different areas of the pub. There was a costa coffee at the front, then music and sport as we went further into the rest of the pub. Very good menu choices, and very cheap for what we got. The staff were very friendly & happy, excellent service.
Would definitely recommend it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing