We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B excellence and great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Urpeth Farm B&B
Reviewed 21 November 2012

B&B excellence and great value, really fantastic rooms and breakfast, its on a working farm but that added to the atmosphere for me. Thanks for looking after us so well while we stayed for some work in Birtley. Adam

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Adam,

A belated thank you for your kind comments when you stayed with us while working in Birtley. Hope to you soon you again soon. Kind regards Peter & Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed at the B&B on many previous occasions as well as once or twice in the self-catering Bungalow and Katie's Cottage too. As always, it is a lovely stay and I don't know where Hilary buys her mattresses but we always sleep so well at Low Urpeth Farm! A cosy night's sleep is a prerequisite for any holiday break and the beds at Low Urpeth Farm are wonderful. The Bungalow has everything you need for a very comfortable stay whilst exploring the North East. We travelled as far as Bamburgh and especially enjoyed Fish and Chips at Colmans in South Shields. The kitchen at The Bungalow is well equipped and Hilary & Peter provide nice touches like a roll of cling film and aluminium foil as well as all of the cleaning materials you need. I can recommend Low Urpeth Farm whole heartedly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

David,

A belated thank you for your kind comments while you stayed us - this time in the Bungalow, self catering cottage. It's very much appreciated. We do try to add items that guests would find useful in self catering cottages from large rolls of cling film & foil, teas, coffees, cleaning materials, toiletries, etc.

Glad you also enjoyed your trip exploring the North East - we agree Bamburgh is such a lovely place to visit and the fish and chips at Colmans South Shields are very tasty!

We look forward to welcoming you back very very soon! Kind regards Peter & Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

from the minute you walk in here and are greeted like a friend rather than a booking referance you can see this place is a first class place to stay a coffee in the lounge before you are shown to the room is also a nice touch
the location is rural but suprisingly close to newcastle only 10 mins drive to the metro centre and 15 mins to newcastle ton centre
the room was large with loads of draw and hanging space a hospitality tray with free mineral water /enough tea and coffee milk and sugar for a fortnightly stay the toiletries in the bathroom were as good as any 4/5star hotel best of all free wi fi with instant high signal reception
breakfast was served in the traditional way around a huge table set out with all local jams honey marmalade even silver knapkin holders you feel you can try anything on the breakfast menu and not be dissapointed
the owners seem to take pride in what they are offering and that sadly is the differance between this place and a number of other establishments who seem to be going through the motions
in conclusion highly recommended for the business traveler who wants a bit of peace and quiet and still can work/the family (cottages available)
and just couples wanting a change
will definatly return
straw bear

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Apologies for replying to so late to your lovely comments...

Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Low Urpeth Farm.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and you liked the teas/coffees, biscuits, toiletries, local jams/honey etc as well as the location - only short drive to Newcastle and the Metrocentre (Gateshead).

We hope to welcome you back to Low Urpeth soon. Kind regards Peter & Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a great location and our hosts were very friendly and helpful on local information.
The rooms were prettily decorated in traditional style and the huge dining room was great for a sociable and tasty breakfast. We were able to visit both Sunderland, Gateshead and Newcastle very easily by car and enjoyed a lovely meal at the top of the Baltic, on the recommendation of Low Urpeth.
Only gripe would be that our rooms were not serviced while we were out for the day. This has only happened to us at one B&B before in the UK and it does feel very disappointing to return from a day sightseeing to an unmade bed. We didn't complain because we had been told that the usual housekeeper employed was on holiday and I guess the owners had a lot of extra work. But nonetheless, it did spoil our visit a bit. It's nice to feel a bit spoilt when on holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at Low Urpeth Farm.

We are pleased you enjoyed the great location for exploring Sunderland, Gateshead and Newcastle as well as the breakfast setting for a "sociable and tasty breakfast".

We too are disappointed that the servicing of the rooms was overlooked while you were out, it was a terrible oversight on our behalf and we apologise for this. Had it be brought to our attention during your visit, we would have made good our innocent error and offered you tea/coffee and homemade biscuits in the lounge whilst the servicing was completed.

Best Wishes Peter, Hilary & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was here on an overnight stay whilst on business up in the North East and I have finally found somewhere that meets my expectations. I had just travelled up from Durham and Bishop Auckland after a day of visiting customers, and needed somewhere before travelling on to Gateshead and Newcastle the next day.

Low Urpeth Farm provided me with everything I could have wished for including welcoming hosts in Hilary and Sandra, who provided home made biscuits and tea in the lounge after settling in. My room was tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with everything one would want, including free wi-fi which is always handy whilst away on business.

The farm itself is set in a quiet and idyllic setting away from a busy country road, but is nevertheless very peaceful and tranquil, essential for a good nights sleep. It is hard to believe that it is only 10 minutes away from the busy Team Valley, where I was heading the following morning, but it was ideal.

The following morning I was treated to a lovely cooked breakfast with a whole variety of cereals, nuts, fruits and yoghurt's on the side as well as a variety of fruit juices to accompany it.

I could go on and on, but it was just what I had been looking for, and certainly will look forward to my next visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bancroft6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at Low Urpeth Farm. We are pleased you found the location ideal for your business trip to Newcastle, Gateshead and Team Valley.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip.

Kind Regards
Peter, Hilary & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in August and ..we went wow when we walked into such a lovely Bright clean cottage .
Lovely private back area and patio .The breakfast on the last day was an extra treat and enjoyed by us all.Would recommend to any one going to that area .Also the proximity to getting to Newcastle Beamish Gateshead etc is brilliant ..But you are still able to get away from it all at the Cottage .
Lovely and thanks
Anne coward
Cumbria

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowardanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Anne,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay in one of our self catering cottages (Katie's Cottage).

We are pleased you loved the special "extra treat" of breakfast on the last day in the Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast Dining Room and that you found the proximity of the cottage "brilliant" to "Beamish, Newcastle, Gateshead, etc".

Peter & Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hilary and Peter made us feel very welcome at our three night stay. Large room, loads of storage in antique furniture, molten brown toiletries, dressing gowns, huge towels, fluffy pillows and quilts, comfy seats, leaflets enough to plan any holiday, wonderful breakfasts - we didn't eat until the evening! This was all topped off with helpful, useful advice about the area. There are also two self-catering cottages and if we ever go in that direction again (which is probable) we would 100% stay in this accomodation. Highly recommend it! Thanks for a lovely break.

Room Tip: Queen Anne room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Manager at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Audrey,

Thank you so very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed welcoming you both to Low Urpeth.

We are pleased you liked the room and the "wonderful breakfasts". It was kind of you to mention the luxury finishing touches (fluffy pillows & quilts, molton brown toileteries, etc.)

We look forward to welcoming back either in the B&B or self catering cottages if you are in the area! Peter & Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester-le-Street hotels
2 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
161 reviews
0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
103 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apart...
#1 of 1 in Chester-le-Street
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Urpeth Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Address: Low Urpeth Farm Near Beamish, Chester-le-Street DH2 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £40 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Urpeth Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North East Eng Tourism Award Best B&B Gold '12: Award winning Low Urpeth Farm is a family run B&B (4 Star Gold) on a working farm 3 miles from Beamish Museum & Durham County Cricket at Chester-le-Street, 20-25 mins from Durham City, Sunderland, 15-20 mins from Washington, Gateshead, Newcastle & Team Valley. Self Catering Cottages are also available. The stone Farmhouse B&B which dates back to 1898, is 4 Star Gold & has three large shower en-suite bedrooms (Double/Twin/King) with tea/coffee welcome tray, large luxury bath towels, including free WiFi internet access. A lounge is also available for guests. Sample the award winning Cracking Urpeth Breakfast served in the splendid traditional dining room overlooking the mature garden and fields. Choose from the superb choice "Cracking Urpeth Breakfast", Northumberland Sausages & Onion Marmalade, Poached Eggs or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs on muffins, a selection of fresh fruits, nuts/seeds and yoghurts. Vegetarian and other dietary options also catered for. Our breakfast, where possible, is fabulous locally sourced farm-assured, seasonal, organic and/or fair-trade produce mainly from County Durham, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear and our own brand HILARY'S HOMEMADE Wholemeal & Jams to name. Recent Awards: 2012 North East England Toursim Best B&B Gold. 2013/2009 TasteDurham: Highest Quality & Local Produce; 2011 Scores on the Doors (Food Hygiene) 5 out of 5; 2012 & 2011 North East England Tourism Taste Bronze; 2012/2010 Enjoy England Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Urpeth Farm B&B Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing