We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Urpeth Farm B&B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at the Bungalow which was spotless and very well equipped. Much bigger than we expected with a lovely garden. Kitchen had everything we needed for having meals in and the bed was very comfy. Great location for the angel of the north, metro centre and the coast. The weather was very warm too! We accidentally left the lead from our baby monitor behind but Hilary and Peter went out of their way to return it to us. They were perfect hosts and the welcome pack was lovely. Thank you Rachael & Simon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewsfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed with Peter & Hilary twice now,our reception always welcoming.
I also know the secret of Hilarys wonderful bedding, so good I even brought it back to Sydney in my suitcase, its like sleeping on a cloud.
These two are the perfect B&B hosts can't wait to go again, hope your golf is still going fine Hilary
Kaye & Ian Fergusson.

Room Tip: Both the double rooms we stayed in were just 1st class, first one at the top of the stairs,the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 456Kayzee456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

As a single business lady I love to stay farmhouse bed and breakfast, and this is one of the best. Very accessible from the A1, easily found (none of this 'satnav took me to an open field' nonsense!) and free wi-fi. I received a lovely warm welcome at the end of a long day, with a cup of tea and biscuits in the lounge - yes, there are t & c facilities in the room, but it was nice to have it put in front of me. Lovely room, snowy bed linnen, complementary dressing gown, generous sized bath sheet (no postage stamps here) cotton buds in the bathroom, and cafetierre and fresh coffee in the room as well as the usual. A really very comfortable stay in a lovely farmhouse home, with a fabulous breakfast with enormous choice. Excellent value, I can't fault it and shall definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Despite the freezing conditions outside we received a very warm welcome from Peter and Hilary. A lovely reception with tea and shortbread in front of a roaring coal fire. Beautiful cosy room with very good facilities and the cracking award winning breakfast in the morning. Although a farm stay the cottage is only a few minutes drive from the A1. Perfect location for a visit to the Beamish Museum. Hilary and Peter were the perfect hosts. We hope to return later in the year in warmer weather to enjoy even more of the surrounding area.

George and Gillian

Room Tip: If you prefer not to stay in a room there is the option of self catering cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leothetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just spent a very relaxing few days at Low Urpeth and can fault nothing from the warm welcome, the knowledgeable advice while we were there, right through to our departure. Thank you; we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

B&B excellence and great value, really fantastic rooms and breakfast, its on a working farm but that added to the atmosphere for me. Thanks for looking after us so well while we stayed for some work in Birtley. Adam

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Adam,

A belated thank you for your kind comments when you stayed with us while working in Birtley. Hope to you soon you again soon. Kind regards Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed at the B&B on many previous occasions as well as once or twice in the self-catering Bungalow and Katie's Cottage too. As always, it is a lovely stay and I don't know where Hilary buys her mattresses but we always sleep so well at Low Urpeth Farm! A cosy night's sleep is a prerequisite for any holiday break and the beds at Low Urpeth Farm are wonderful. The Bungalow has everything you need for a very comfortable stay whilst exploring the North East. We travelled as far as Bamburgh and especially enjoyed Fish and Chips at Colmans in South Shields. The kitchen at The Bungalow is well equipped and Hilary & Peter provide nice touches like a roll of cling film and aluminium foil as well as all of the cleaning materials you need. I can recommend Low Urpeth Farm whole heartedly!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
David,

A belated thank you for your kind comments while you stayed us - this time in the Bungalow, self catering cottage. It's very much appreciated. We do try to add items that guests would find useful in self catering cottages from large rolls of cling film & foil, teas, coffees, cleaning materials, toiletries, etc.

Glad you also enjoyed your trip exploring the North East - we agree Bamburgh is such a lovely place to visit and the fish and chips at Colmans South Shields are very tasty!

We look forward to welcoming you back very very soon! Kind regards Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
3.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Urpeth Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Property: Low Urpeth Farm B&B
Address: Low Urpeth Farm Near Beamish, Chester-le-Street DH2 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Urpeth Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North East Eng Tourism Award Best B&B Gold '12: Award winning Low Urpeth Farm is a family run B&B (4 Star Gold) on a working farm 3 miles from Beamish Museum & Durham County Cricket at Chester-le-Street, 20-25 mins from Durham City, Sunderland, 15-20 mins from Washington, Gateshead, Newcastle & Team Valley. Self Catering Cottages are also available. The stone Farmhouse B&B which dates back to 1898, is 4 Star Gold & has three large shower en-suite bedrooms (Double/Twin/King) with tea/coffee welcome tray, large luxury bath towels, including free WiFi internet access. A lounge is also available for guests. Sample the award winning Cracking Urpeth Breakfast served in the splendid traditional dining room overlooking the mature garden and fields. Choose from the superb choice "Cracking Urpeth Breakfast", Northumberland Sausages & Onion Marmalade, Poached Eggs or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs on muffins, a selection of fresh fruits, nuts/seeds and yoghurts. Vegetarian and other dietary options also catered for. Our breakfast, where possible, is fabulous locally sourced farm-assured, seasonal, organic and/or fair-trade produce mainly from County Durham, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear and our own brand HILARY'S HOMEMADE Wholemeal & Jams to name. Recent Awards: 2012 North East England Toursim Best B&B Gold. 2013/2009 TasteDurham: Highest Quality & Local Produce; 2011 Scores on the Doors (Food Hygiene) 5 out of 5; 2012 & 2011 North East England Tourism Taste Bronze; 2012/2010 Enjoy England Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Urpeth Farm B&B Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing