We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B on our travels!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Urpeth Farm B&B
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed with Hilary and Peter after having completed the C2C cycle ride. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We also had safe storage for our bikes overnight. So close to Beamish open air museum where we spent our final day before coming home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Low Urpeth Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at the Bungalow which was spotless and very well equipped. Much bigger than we expected with a lovely garden. Kitchen had everything we needed for having meals in and the bed was very comfy. Great location for the angel of the north, metro centre and the coast. The weather was very warm too! We accidentally left the lead from our baby monitor behind but Hilary and Peter went out of their way to return it to us. They were perfect hosts and the welcome pack was lovely. Thank you Rachael & Simon

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewsfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed with Peter & Hilary twice now,our reception always welcoming.
I also know the secret of Hilarys wonderful bedding, so good I even brought it back to Sydney in my suitcase, its like sleeping on a cloud.
These two are the perfect B&B hosts can't wait to go again, hope your golf is still going fine Hilary
Kaye & Ian Fergusson.

Room Tip: Both the double rooms we stayed in were just 1st class, first one at the top of the stairs,the secon...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 456Kayzee456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

As a single business lady I love to stay farmhouse bed and breakfast, and this is one of the best. Very accessible from the A1, easily found (none of this 'satnav took me to an open field' nonsense!) and free wi-fi. I received a lovely warm welcome at the end of a long day, with a cup of tea and biscuits in the lounge - yes, there are t & c facilities in the room, but it was nice to have it put in front of me. Lovely room, snowy bed linnen, complementary dressing gown, generous sized bath sheet (no postage stamps here) cotton buds in the bathroom, and cafetierre and fresh coffee in the room as well as the usual. A really very comfortable stay in a lovely farmhouse home, with a fabulous breakfast with enormous choice. Excellent value, I can't fault it and shall definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Despite the freezing conditions outside we received a very warm welcome from Peter and Hilary. A lovely reception with tea and shortbread in front of a roaring coal fire. Beautiful cosy room with very good facilities and the cracking award winning breakfast in the morning. Although a farm stay the cottage is only a few minutes drive from the A1. Perfect location for a visit to the Beamish Museum. Hilary and Peter were the perfect hosts. We hope to return later in the year in warmer weather to enjoy even more of the surrounding area.

George and Gillian

Room Tip: If you prefer not to stay in a room there is the option of self catering cottages.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leothetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just spent a very relaxing few days at Low Urpeth and can fault nothing from the warm welcome, the knowledgeable advice while we were there, right through to our departure. Thank you; we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

B&B excellence and great value, really fantastic rooms and breakfast, its on a working farm but that added to the atmosphere for me. Thanks for looking after us so well while we stayed for some work in Birtley. Adam

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Adam,

A belated thank you for your kind comments when you stayed with us while working in Birtley. Hope to you soon you again soon. Kind regards Peter & Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bowes Incline Hotel
Bowes Incline Hotel
#11 of 20 in Gateshead
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Urpeth Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Address: Low Urpeth Farm Near Beamish, Chester-le-Street DH2 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Urpeth Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North East Eng Tourism Award Best B&B Gold '12: Award winning Low Urpeth Farm is a family run B&B (4 Star Gold) on a working farm 3 miles from Beamish Museum & Durham County Cricket at Chester-le-Street, 20-25 mins from Durham City, Sunderland, 15-20 mins from Washington, Gateshead, Newcastle & Team Valley. Self Catering Cottages are also available. The stone Farmhouse B&B which dates back to 1898, is 4 Star Gold & has three large shower en-suite bedrooms (Double/Twin/King) with tea/coffee welcome tray, large luxury bath towels, including free WiFi internet access. A lounge is also available for guests. Sample the award winning Cracking Urpeth Breakfast served in the splendid traditional dining room overlooking the mature garden and fields. Choose from the superb choice "Cracking Urpeth Breakfast", Northumberland Sausages & Onion Marmalade, Poached Eggs or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs on muffins, a selection of fresh fruits, nuts/seeds and yoghurts. Vegetarian and other dietary options also catered for. Our breakfast, where possible, is fabulous locally sourced farm-assured, seasonal, organic and/or fair-trade produce mainly from County Durham, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear and our own brand HILARY'S HOMEMADE Wholemeal & Jams to name. Recent Awards: 2012 North East England Toursim Best B&B Gold. 2013/2009 TasteDurham: Highest Quality & Local Produce; 2011 Scores on the Doors (Food Hygiene) 5 out of 5; 2012 & 2011 North East England Tourism Taste Bronze; 2012/2010 Enjoy England Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Urpeth Farm B&B Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing