We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch time treat”
Review of The Butchers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Butchers Arms
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited for the first time yesterday. Excellent food, piping hot and fresh veg. too. Drinks reasonably priced but the atmosphere and friendly service was what really shone through. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

5:99GBP for roast lamb, vegetables and a dumpling and a full plate it was. This is the Olde English pub we all strive to go to, a large bar with every describable drink behind it, wood panelling all round a cheery bar maid, low ceiling the works. The food was stunning, the beer cold and the atmosphere was par excellence. A must when you are anywhere near Durham.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gladesville22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Visited often as we were staying with family nearby. Excellent traditional pub atmosphere. Wide selection of beer, spirits & English style foods at very reasonable prices. Throughout our stay in the UK we've visited most large cities & our favorite pub is Butcher's Arms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is an old world type pub which also provides accommodation and meals. I have never stayed in the establishment nor eaten there so this review is limited to the pub itself.

Very traditional type pub with friendly atmosphere. Good range of real ales (usually 7 or 8) plus Guinness, lagers etc. Also a wide range of spirits and wines. Well worth a visit if you fancy a good pint of beer.

Room Tip: Reviewer did not use a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsweddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
107 reviews
1 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apart...
#1 of 1 in Chester-le-Street
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butchers Arms

Address: Middle Chare, Chester-le-Street DH3 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Butchers Arms Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing