We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so stay at Jewel rock hotel, Shimoga”
Review of Hotel Jewel Rock

Hotel Jewel Rock
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jewel Rock
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Jewel rock was a not so good hotel at Shimoga. The restaurant was not good - either food or the ambience or service. The rooms were also not so good. We did not have any other options since there were less number of options in Shimoga.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramachandran_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel couple of times and latest was in Jan 2014. This hotel has nice decent rooms, they have nice restaurant for both veg and non veg and service is quick too.

Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandu3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Rooms were pretty decent. Very good service. We noticed the flush had a complaint and they were prompt to come and fix it in minutes. Beds were clean. Restaurant below serves good food which is always a great option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in Hotel Jewel Rock for 3 days & it was a pleasant stay. Though the hotel is not very modern or hi-fi, it still provides a decent stay at a reasonable price. The hotel is located in the center of the city. The rooms are spacious & good. The room service is fast & the staff is very courteous & helpful. The hotel restaurant is nice & the food is also good. They have veg & non-veg both, but in separate sections so as to make it easy for pure vegetarians. There is ample parking place in the hotel vicinity. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at this Jewel Rock Hotel for 1 night, original plan was to stay for 2 nights. Due to bed bugs, we had to cut short out stay and instead moved to Murudeshwar. Pls avoid this hotel as there are lots of bed bugs, which will keep you awake the whole night. Room number 310 was stinking of very foul smell, avoid this room.
Also the reception staff as very uncooperative, they wanted us to checkout at 5.30AM, our request to checkout at 7.00AM was denied. Finally after lot of arguments, they agreed. We didn't see much crowd at this hotel, even though they projected as if they are overbooked etc.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 310, it is very smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajndrabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel rooms are clean and spacious. However staff are not very accomodative. Made us wait for 2 hours before check-in as they had some confusion regarding no. Of rooms booked. But otherwise it was a good value hotel. Restaurant options are also nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 days. Decent place to stay. The restaurant has good food as well. Value for money. Best part is that the entire payment was made while checking out. The rooms with balconies have a very pleasant view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
0.0 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#8 of 48 in Shimoga
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 48 in Shimoga
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jewel Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jewel Rock

Address: Durgigudi Road, Shimoga, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range: £10 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing