We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel should be closed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surya Comforts

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surya Comforts
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This hotel should be closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took a non-AC deluxe room in Jun2014, The rooms were stinking. The building is very old, there is no maintenance. There was so much dust, me and my husband got duct allergy. Bathroom floors are pathetic, not sure when was the last time they washes. They dont care to chnage the barhroom mats, may be they would have bought those mats like 30 years ago..! Looks like it has been ages since they constructed. They dont care to renovate to keep it clean. To add to this experience, when we had to check out the room, the guy in the reception did not have cash drawer key! They had to refund Rs.300 from our deposit and they delayed. We had a train to catch in Berur which is 1.5 hours travel from there. They were so lazy damn bothered to arrange the key fast. The guy with the key came like a model cat walking!! and we were in such a hurry... Worst experience ever. Its not Surya comforts, dust comforts.

Food - there is hotel next to surya comforts its their own one called Swathi. We orderd Veg soup and Veg birayani. Veg biryani was hot and bad i would give 2/5 for biryani. 2 for hot! I found a hair in veg soup ..!!! The hotel carpet smells yuck, pathetic but we had no choice as we reached late.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShilpaVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    10
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel is very nicely located...Not too much of traffic. The rooms are old but spacious. The toilets, bed's are clean...Good breakfast available next door

Good if you want to crash after a long day or you are a traveller stopping over in Shimoga town and need not-so-expensive accomodation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is located in a mostly residential area and not much disturbance. Stayed with family in a standard non-ac room facing the road with huge glass window and rooms are quite big enough with two single sofas and a centre table but an OLD TV set . Tariff was Rs.600/- which is quite reasonable though some glitches like the bathroom door may not fit properly ...will be there,but not an issue if its solved amicably with the staff.There is a veg restaurant below which we felt was good and a non-veg with bar on top of the building behind this hotel which we didn't visit but ordered food from there which was good.
It also has a conference hall. We heard it was inaugurated sometime during 2005, but perhaps they can maintain it much more.
Good location.worth the money.

Room Tip: choose a road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravishanker V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B'lore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Okay for an overnight halt, area safe for families. One advantage with the property is that it is close to the main street, so grub is not an issue, even a bit late in the night. KSRTC bus stand didn't seem too far (check on the map though) Toiletries are okay, linen and beds (though clean) could be newer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We (me and my wife) had booked a deluxe a/c double bed room as we had a stop over at Shimoga on our way to Kollur from Bangalore.
The room was spacious and the a/c was working fine, the rooms were not like super fresh, there was little smell, but acceptable, sheets were okay clean and again acceptable. Hot water was available starting at 5am in the morning as promised. Car parking was available as well.
I am pretty convinced that this is the best you get in Shimoga for Rs. 950/- because previously I stayed in an other hotel for less money and it was pathetic, I have written a review on that in TripAdvisor, you can look it up.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Somesh-navya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

4/12/2013
Early morning went to the reception and asked for my room after booking through phone, I was told there are no rooms available. Pissed off. After 10 mins they said rooms are available.

Room No. 101, A/C Deluxe room, Double - Rs.950

Room:
1. Entered and got a musty smell.
2. Very bad interior
3. Old marble flooring
4. Bathroom was horrible
5. Big room space

Service:
1. As soon as i entered the room service guy was trying to operate the A/C with TV remote. Then I asked him to try with the actual one.
2. Ordered breakfast and it took 1 hr.

Amenities:
1. No complement water bottles. Then I asked him to purchase one which was added in the bill.
2. No menu card
3. No phone book having extensions
4. The medimix soap which they gave was in a pathetic condition. Thnak god I had the complimentary soap which was given in the previous hotel where I stayed a day before.
5. Except soap nothing else was there. Even a tissue paper.
6. The bed spread had lots of holes in it. Not a good one.

Food:
Food was descent. It is purchased from the adjacent hotel.

Freebies:
You have mosquitoes

Parking is available, but along the road side on the adjacent space to the hotel. 1 Wardrobe, 1 CRT TV with cable connection, 1 Ashtray, 2 Towles & 1 Doormat

If the same room was priced at 500 range then I'ld give 4 stars.

This hotel is like a motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurendranSelvaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimoga hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It was great sign of relief when I checked in to this hotel, as I am a female traveler and concerned more of Safety and Cleanliness . I was worried as I did not get rooms at Royal Orchid, Shimoga and wondered if I could get any good budget hotels around in Shimoga. However I chose Surya Comforts and to my surprise the rooms were available. Manager helped us to check in and the entire process was smooth. The rooms are big enough and the king sized beds are good enough to grab some good night sleep. The Bathrooms are clean and hot water is provided during morning hours. Food is great. Both varieties of Veg n Non Veg are good. Room service gets good points for their prompt service. Overall a great stay . Worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snigdha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
0.9 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 48 in Shimoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
55.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surya Comforts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Comforts

Property: Surya Comforts
Address: 3rd Parallel Rd, Durgigudi, Shimoga, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Number of rooms: 59

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing