We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, overhyped, but nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dikili
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overhyped, but nice location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Kalem Island as external guests, meaning we did not book one of the 29 hotel rooms, but we were day guests as the resort accepts an extra 20 guests on a daily basis from outside who pay an entrance fee of 75 TL to access the island.

The welcoming to the island is wonderful. You are picked up by a nice private boat and taken to the island in 10 minutes, where someone welcomes you and shows the way around the facilities for the day guests. The day guests have to use a designated area at the beach with lower quality deck chairs and umbrellas. I could not quite understand why the hotel guests have better deck chairs and umbrellas than the day guests. It certainly does not add to the experience. Also there are quite a few kids, so if you are looking for a kid-free place, this is not your destination.

The sea is wonderful with almost no waves and wind as you are on the luff side of the island. A bit rocky on the bottom but lovely to swim in. The staff at the beach bar are attentive and prompt. The food at the restaurant is excellent, we tried the pizza and the pide (Turkish filled and baked bread) and the quality is very high. The only downside is that one of us had to wait double time for their pide to be ready as something went wrong while taking orders. Unfortunately the waiter did not inform us about this until the other food arrived and 3 could start their lunch while the 4th one had to wait another 15 minutes.

As mentioned we did not stay in the hotel, so I can't say much about the rooms, however, we walked around a bit on the island and the garden, buildings and dining area were in a great condition with meticulous eye for detail.

Overall, the island is private, the sea is lovely and it never feels crowded. The resort is hugely overpriced, especially on food and drinks. Charging 10 TL for a tea or Nescafe, 10 TL for a bottle of water and 7 TL for one scoop of ice-cream is just absurd, even when you are used to Istanbul prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo-Knottnerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    26
    17
    6
    17
See reviews for
44
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Checked in on the 25th of august 2013, stayed for 1 night, because we were passing by. Very lovely boutique hotel. Nice environment, clear waters, a small beach with cabbanas and everything. Food is tasteful, and the site is well organized. Most important of all toughts shared, I would visit again, altough a little pricey. Afternoon wind is typical, but it helps a lot during the day, if you are lucky. If not, you can always jump in the water for a great awakening. Be prepared to freeze instantly, but you will get used to it in a short period of time. I would say, you should definitely try it.

Room Tip: There are interlocking rooms for travellers with kids. You might want to get the rooms closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGY-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for only one night at the Olivera Resort as we drove down the coast towards Cesme in July. The setting is fantastic. The island and its well maintained garden, make you feel you are staying somewhere exotic such as the Maldivs or Carribean. The beach side area is well organized with plenty of shady space for the small number of guests the hotel caters for. The sea is warm and sandy with so many multicolored fish swimming right beneath you, you can get about 80% of the view the divers get without evening diving.

The restaurant and beach staff are pretty good though not excellent. The reception staff were excellent - very informative and helpful.

There were a few reasons why we did not stay two nights at this hotel even though we loved the location.1 CHILDREN there were many young children staying at the hotel whose parents did not even try to control them. Our room was in the Chateau part and the swimming pool is located right outside this building. The pool was full of screaming children. Some of them were even jumping from a decorative faucet like water spout with the help of their parents. The dining area had children running around. One little toddler even went and emptied the service cupboards used by the waiters. His parents never moved from their seats. The hotel did not take children until 2 years ago and was not built with children in mind. If the hotel wants to continue to accept young children they should provide areas for them to play safely, a special pool for children and early family dining hours as to not disturb the other customers.

2 FOOD The other area of major concern for this " could be super" resort was the quality of the food. The food should be better in such a place and you cannot really escape and eat anywhere else. The most disappointing thing, rather reminiscent of the 1980s, was there was no real coffee at breakfast only instant coffee. Also when I ordered a rather highly priced cappuccino ( 15 lira) I discovered it had been made from a packet and not even stirred properly.

If I return, I will try to go off season and escape the sea of toddlers. Not so much because of the children but how their parents permit them to behave in such a place. I would hope by them the food will have improved too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank istanbulhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A boutique resort with just 29 rooms, so never fully packed,also during the peak season.
The rooms are very clean, the stuff are very friendly, the prices are not cheap but also not expensive.
The activities at the resort are scuba diving and spa. I tried Bali massage for 80 €, which is not cheap but the massage ladies are original from Bali.
I will definitely go again to this resort and this time with my son.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

To those individuals who choose to read this review you should know I typically do not spend writing reviews for resorts or hotels whose business it is to offer excellent services to the guest. In this case, from the time that we checked in at Oliviera, until the time we checked out we were treated as VIPs and my sense was other guests received the same level of attention and service. Turkey has many wonderful places to visits for historical or touristic purposes, the Oliviera offer a great natural setting supported by excellent services. Ultimately people make the difference. For those of you who have watched "The Bucket List" this is well worth the visit. Check it off.

Room Tip: This is an island, so you need to be willing to add one more step, which is part of the allure, to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

One of the nicest and peaceful place anyone should experience. Amazing nature full of beautiful flowers and trees. The sea,the beach,the gardens everything is just perfect. I was there twice and the first time was not that great but I loved the area so I wanted to come back and last year (August 2011) it was different,it was way better. I was amazed! All the rooms have been remodeled,I had a chance to get a tour of the domain and it was just breath taking by it's history and beauty. The design is very modern and elegant. The restaurant was very good,the service was good too and the people are so nice and friendly. I just had a wonderful time. I recommend this place to anyone whose seeking for a romantic getaway,families or group of friends it will just fit everyone. There's a lot of activities,you can go fishing,scuba diving and more stuff to keep you entertained or get a relaxing outdoor massage. The last but not least is the beautiful sunset,it will leave you speechless!! I can't wait to go back again this year with my family and friends. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I completely agree with most of the reviews: the sea and the nature is fantastic,the hotel is so relaxing. However, although the staff is polite and helpful the service is so slow and weak. Also the fee of the extra food/beverages are so high. Ideal just for a weekend holiday, not worth to spend your whole vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zygholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dikili
7.3 mi away
Halic Park Dikili
Halic Park Dikili
#3 of 6 in Dikili
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dikili Sunset Club Hotel
12.5 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Murat Reis Ayvalik
Murat Reis Ayvalik
#1 of 35 in Ayvalik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
18.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Temizel
Grand Hotel Temizel
#6 of 35 in Ayvalik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
11.4 mi away
Elysion Hotel
Elysion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Neapoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalem Island Oliviera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalem Island Oliviera Resort

Property: Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
Address: Bademli Koyu Kalem Adasi Dikili Merkez, Dikili 35983, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Dikili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dikili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalem Island Oliviera Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalem Island, a haunting place of only the sailors up to date which has never lost its mysterious character is making time loses its meaning while taking you to an amazing world within a historical texture. Kalem Island's boutique hotel Oliviera Resort let you experience the comfort of being in an Island with its 30 distinct rooms which are decorated in minor and simple details. It offers warm atmosphere in its restaurants and bars accompanied by the splendid views of Eagean shores and Lesbos Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kalem Island Oliviera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalem Island Oliviera Hotel Dikili
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort Dikili, Turkey - Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing