We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dikili
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We've travelled a lot, been to many places but never have we felt so cheated..Such a gap between what's advertised and the reality is absolutely shocking.
Here's how they "sell" the resort on their website:
"Don't you like to have an island? Oliviera resort lets you experience this feeling!" and add that it's the "first and only island hotel of Turkey".

This is their selling point, this is the idea people fall in love with..

Now, here's the reality:
beaches: one single beach not more than 40meters long on which you're tortured with non stop loud music. That's it! The rest of the island is private property they say and add that we can go if we want to but it's dangerous and unpleasant! yes THE beach was pretty but then again Turkey is full of gorgeous beaches.
rooms: dirty and falling apart, literally..On the day we left curtains actually fell on our heads.
service at the restaurant: the only positive point. It was as if the restaurant was run by an entirely different "management". It was good, the food, the staff, the service..

And here's the final incident, the last drop that made us pack our bags and run to salvage what was left of our vacation: There were only us and another family on the beach that morning. I asked (more like begged with tears of nerves in my eyes) them to stop the noise they call music at least for a little while so that I could hear the sea.
They did..for 15 minutes and started again. When asked for an explanation, they answered that it was "hotel policy that there should be music at all times on the beach and it was management's orders". We tried to find the management and found out they were on a business trip.. I believe the said management is so busy marvelling on how special their product is, spending money and time on selling the island that it forgets to actually run the place.

Final word: Turkey is full of truly stunning places, little corners of heaven earth, gorgeous hotels. This one is just not one of them.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank penny010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

I've been to this place three times. Its a place which you feel relaxed, and peaceful. The first time which was 2 years ago, I loved the nature and the sea. It was unbelievable. Rooms and service were so so. Last year I went back for the nature only and everything was much more better then before. Service, food, cleaning etc. This year its almost perfect. Really perfect!! They had some problems with cleaning, service and dining. This year all of the problems are almost gone. Nature and beauty was great as before but improvement of menus, taste, service, cleaning amazed me. As a person who goes back to this same place every year I can say that I'll go back next year again.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ebrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

This place was so bad it became comical! Like Much beloved we had no hot water, dreadful food, no light, heard the car crash that was the band and sampled the foul and fly covered food.
We changed rooms (we were in the luxury end to start with) the downgrade had hot water but the loo seat and shower were broken. The rooms were not cleaned until we requested, and then we had to wait for 2 hours on one occassion. We had one gloriously sunny day but then they lit a bonfire next to the beach!!!!!
After our 5th night we were desperate to escape. We had drowned our sorrows on the extortionately priced wines so were not too shocked by the final bill. The rooms had been pre-paid so I calculated that the refund due covered the price of our drinks. They disagreed but in the end gave in and let us get on the boat without paying the bill. I never want to stay anywhere like that again - it was vastly overpriced, filthy and badly run.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank WinterSolsticeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

This is a catastrophic place. The brochure available at the resort ends with the bizarre strapline "Leave your Expectations Behind". If your expectations include electricity, hot water, good food, a clean pool, a courteous staff, a peaceful restaurant, lighted pathways, and any hotel information at all...then you really had better leave those expectations behind. This is a simply appalling place. They should send O J Simpson here for 10 years. Far worse than any penitentiary. And, as other reviewers have noted, the prices are absurdly high. A warm, weak gin and tonic costs the same as in London's American Bar! It's £4 for a tiny beer. The same for a coke. But the prices are a minor quibble compared with the fact that our 2-day stay saw us have no hot water at all and a succession of power cuts that had us scrabbling about with matches and candles. The lowest point came with the restaurant "entertainment" - a local folk band who simply banged discordantly and manically upon a huge drum. Judgement Day will be quieter. Come, friendly bombs and fall upon this insult to tourism. Olivera Delenda Est.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MuchBeloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I stayed in this resort (Kalem Island Oliviera Resort ) for six days during August 2008. We were in a group of seven families each with small kids.
The island, scenery, sea, nature and the island breeze is gorgeous. Fully lives up o what you on the internet site.
However the quality of operations and the service is just unacceptable. There is a power shortage on island: ACs, fridges (including the ones in the food services) and lights either don’t work at all or work just barely. There is a clear shortage of staff: Same 5-6 waiters (all very respectful and nice people) serve you during breakfast, lunch and dinner in different venues over a stretched period of at least 15 hours. Everything is served late and often with mistakes: Order food at 1200, you are lucky if you get it by 1400, and even then you often get something different than what you have originally ordered. The recipe and size of servings of the same dish in the menu changes daily due to availability of material in the kitchen. During the six days, the buffet for dinner and breakfast, 90% of the time the same variety was served and for the price charged the offering was poor. The pool was small and not properly cleaned. On the beach there was a shortage of sun-chairs and umbrellas. Rooms are not properly maintained and cleaned: Most light bulbs are faulty or missing, cleaning is just superficial.
Despite all these, food and beverage prices are probably at the most expensive end of the scale for all hotels in Turkey, including the best ones in Istanbul. Since you are on an island you get the most extreme version of the abuse of captive customer treatment.
The attitude of the management is not positive either, they have a clear take it or leave it attitude.
My sincere recommendation to the owners of the place is to fire the entire management team immediately, or if they are managing the place on their own hire some professionals or rent the place to a professional hotel management company.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MehmetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Actually the first impression of the hotel is incredible. The shore, sea, climate, sunset everything is like paradise but if you ask for a mineral water, you can't get it. That's one of the small problems. But it can be worse if you find a dead bird(more than a week) under your childs bed.
But the biggest problem is the quality of the service, although all the people trying their best, because there is no manager for the staff. Actually there is one but, he is not interested with the complaints of the guests.
But you can spend a day at the beach, without staying there. It will be a good experience

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Razorfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We went for honeymoon to Kalem Island Oliviera Resort for 4 days,when we saw the photos on internet we were very affected by the beauty of the scenes and we decided to stay at Kalem İsland.İt's a really special place especially for honeymoon:)
We felt ourselves very special person there..Everybody must see Kalem İsland....very beautiful,attractive and peacefull

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank Yuppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dikili
7.3 mi away
Halic Park Dikili
Halic Park Dikili
#3 of 8 in Dikili
96 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dikili Sunset Club Hotel
20.1 mi away
Murat Reis Ayvalik
Murat Reis Ayvalik
#2 of 35 in Ayvalik
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Rakasta Boutique Hotel & Convention Center
12.5 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
201 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Izmir Aliaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalem Island Oliviera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalem Island Oliviera Resort

Address: Bademli Koyu Kalem Adasi Dikili Merkez, Dikili 35983, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Dikili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dikili
Price Range: £166 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalem Island Oliviera Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalem Island, a haunting place of only the sailors up to date which has never lost its mysterious character is making time loses its meaning while taking you to an amazing world within a historical texture. Kalem Island's boutique hotel Oliviera Resort let you experience the comfort of being in an Island with its 30 distinct rooms which are decorated in minor and simple details. It offers warm atmosphere in its restaurants and bars accompanied by the splendid views of Eagean shores and Lesbos Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kalem Island Oliviera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalem Island Oliviera Hotel Dikili
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort Dikili, Turkey - Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing