We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for The Open at Hoylake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Knowsley
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My son and I stayed two nights here to be reasonably near Hoylake for The Open (a 40 minute drive via the Wallasey Tunnel). The main disadvantage of the hotel is the complicated access route from the M57 and A380. I'll be surprised if many visitors find the approach road first time. Once inside, it was fine. Our twin-bedded room had everything we needed including WiFi and Freeview TV. The buffet breakfast is large - although the advertised fresh fruit seemed to have disappeared into the bags of a coachload of Russian tourists. Takeaway dinners , ordered via reception, from the Huyton Bangaldeshi restaurant worked well for us and allowed us to drink BYO wine in our room. A special mention for Tracy, on reception, very friendly and helpful.
value-for-money depends on the price you paid. By booking months ahead, we paid much less than the rack rate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CBA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi
I would like to thank you for all of your feedback, all of your comments are valued taken on board with regards to trying to improve our service i will pass your compliments on to Tracy im sure she will be very happy to here about your pleasent stay.

Kind Regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July.Meet and greet was friendly and courteous,room was clean and more than adequate in size,clean bathroom,furniture and fittings etc.Asking for extra towels was not a problem,with prompt service to the room.Breakfast was buffet-style,mostly continental with fresh juice ,toast,cereal etc-some hot food but I usually avoid this anyway.Free newspapers at reception,and spacious public seating areas,Sky news on the TV,but not too loud that it was intrusive.Checkout was speedy and hassle-free.I note some of the reviews ,but all I can say is that we had a very pleasant stay here,staff were courteous and nothing seemed to be a problem for them.I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldoc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi
We would like to thank you for your feedback and we are glad that we could make your stay with us a very pleasent one , we reall appreciate your comments and the are all taken into consideration be it good or bad with regards to improving our sevice. we hope to welcome you back here soon in trhe near future.

Kind Regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am writing this on behalf of my sister in law who stayed on Saturday 28th June as part of a Strawberry Field and Penny Lane coach tour. She has no access to the internet.

"On registration dinner was said to be served between 7pm and 8 pm. On arrival in the dining room we were told that the food had run out. Guests who had eaten earlier had apparently taken too much.

After a considerable delay some chips and large chicken nuggets and frozen epas were provided. The staff didn't seem to care saying "No bread could be provided for those who could not eat chicken as there would not be enough for breakfast the next day. No water was available until we had to push vermy hard. 2 gateux were offered to 46 people.

Being stuck out in the sticks there was no other option to eat elsewhere.

There were no other choice and no discount was offered.

The accomodation was clean. The english breakfast was was poor as well.

Above all it was the surly attitude of the staff that spoiled the whole atmosphere.

It left a very bad taste"

Room Tip: Best avoided unless you are desparate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank porcullisjonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi
I am really sorry to here of your negetive experience staying with us, We do try to provide the best service possible to all guests at the hotel , i can only imagine that this was a hectic and busy night so i do deeply appologize on behalf of everybody here at the hotel, we do provide a number of takeaway menus here at the hotel as we know guests are stuck for food sometimes and these are really good as an alternternative option. Never the less your feedback and comments are really valued and taken into consideration with regards to improving our service.

Kind Regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed one night here on business. For £74 I got a spacious room complete with a bed setee. Scrupulously clean shower room and a flat screen TV with terrestrial channels. The hotel boasts ample free parking. Friendly staff on reception and the usual help yourself continental breakfast plus scrambled eggs and sausage.

A first rate example of Holiday Inn's budget hotel brand. If Knowsley is where you want to be - HIE fits the bill!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi
Thank You for your kind feedback , we are glad you enjoyed your experience here at the holiday inn express , your comments are really valued, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Owing to a lack of availability for this weekends trip due to the number of people we where forced to stay just outside of Liverpool at this hotel.
Whilst the service was good and the reception staff happy and friendly my trip was ruined when they provided me with a dirty iron which ruined my brand new shirt! £65 well wasted...
The rooms where of a good standard and very clean. It's location to the motorway would of made it useful for a business trip however the taxi costs going into Liverpool itself were quite annoying.
The breakfast was a peculiar mix of items with the salty eggs, sausages and beans meaning I was able to have almost half a fry up. Where was the bacon or tomatoes?

Summarising I would recommend this hotel for a stay although £100 per room I felt was a tad steep for the overall offerings so maybe only if you get a good deal online, I think £60 would of been more appropriate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Simon
i am deeply sorry to here about the issue involving the iron we do take a lot of time and effort to ensure all of are equipment is upto operating standards, was this brought to the satffs attention? The taxi prices going into liverpoll vary from arounf £15 to £20 this is all depending on wich firm you would use these we would like to think are pretty reasonable prices considering we are 7 miles away from the city itself. With regards to breakfast we provide a free breakfast which is set out as brand standard in all holiday inn express' and is something we cannot avoid .
I am really sorry to here about all of the above experiences during your stay and hope this has not put you off staying at the brand again

Regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed while on a course with work and the staff are all so friendly and they cannot do enough for you added bonus with unlimited free wifi looking forward to returning next week food is great at night and worth every penny always service with a smile nothing is too much effort

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knapp754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel, it is great to hear such positive feedback and I will of course let all the staff know their hard work is appreciated.
Kind Regards
Jessica Gilmartin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break here, having booked the hotel as it is close to friends who live nearby. We wanted a base that made it easy to visit them and reach the City centre, this hotel delivered on both counts. It was easy to reach direct from the motorway and is an easy 15 minute drive into Liverpool. Check in was smooth, the receptionist was booking in a large stag party as we arrived but was professional and helpful to them and to us.

The room was OK, bed was comfortable and plenty of room. We were unfortunate enough to be placed in a room directly opposite one of the stag party rooms and they certainly enjoyed themselves. I didn't enjoy being woken at 3.15am by them banging on my door, but I am sure they appreciated me returning the favour at 7.30am! This was not in anyway the fault of the hotel, simply boys enjoying themselves, they did settle down at 3.30ish so we enjoyed the rest of our sleep! They only stayed 1 night so the place was perfectly peaceful on Sunday.

Breakfast was plentiful and there was a choice of hot or cold items, enough to satisfy most people. I enjoyed a cooked breakfast while hubby opted for cereals and toast.

Be aware that there are no local amenities, although there is a leisure complex and restaurants a short drive or taxi ride away. The hotel has no facilities to serve food in the evening, although they do stock leaflets from the local takeaways and will order hot food in for you. We were OK as we ate out both evenings. There is a small bar but I ordered a bottle of white wine and there was none chilled so had to opt for red instead. Prices were reasonable and more or less on a par with my local.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and found that staff really helpful and polite, we would consider returning next time we visit friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_Jel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is nice to hear some positive feedback and we will of course take on board your comments. There will be white wine in the fridge in the future.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back some time soon.
Regards
Jessica Gilmartin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
367 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley

Address: Ribblers Lane, Knowsley L34 9HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Knowsley
Price Range: £44 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers all the comforts associated with the Holiday Inn Express brand: contemporary style and facilities & services to meet the needs of today's business and leisure guests. A total of 86 non smoking well appointed bedrooms to choose from and rooms for the physically challenged. All rooms have Free High Speed Internet Access, Modem points, Power showers, Direct dial telephone, 26'' LCD Remote control television with Freeview, In-room complimentary tea and coffee,Hairdryers & Priority Rewards Programme.Many rooms have sleeper sofa's capable of accommodating additional guests and children. The Great Room offers the ideal place to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar & a meal from our restaurant. A complimentary continental breakfast inclusive of selected hot breakfast items is available in the Great Room, together with a free daily newspaper. A choice of 4 modern, fully equipped meeting rooms are available for up to 40 delegates. A warm and friendly welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley Hotel Knowsley
Holiday Inn Express Knowsley
Holiday Inn Liverpool
Knowsley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Knowsley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing