We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really surprised great hotel dedicated staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Knowsley
Middlesex
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Really surprised great hotel dedicated staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel with our friends . I have never done a holiday inn express before . I was really impressed the check in was smooth no problems. Room was great . The best thing about this hotel stay was the staff nothing was too much for them they were amazing . If they didn't know they found out for us I would highly recommend this hotel to stay in

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynannynoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Nuttynannynoo
We are really pleased to here about your pleasent stay with us , we always try our best to please and it looks like we have succeeded in making your stay with us a nice one.we hope to see you here again soon

Kind regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    115
    96
    30
    19
See reviews for
80
71
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed recently for one night as part of a large coach party and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel despite some negative reviews. Reception staff were friendly on arrival and the room allocated was large and spotless. Breakfast in the morning was great cannot fault the selection. All in all for an overnight stay you cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret48Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Margeret
Thank you for your kind feedback i will pass on your message to all the staff here at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a pretty standard rapid turnover establishment located close to the M57 and the East Lancashire Road - a positive feature if you want to be near the major road routes, less so if you want to escape 24/7 vehicle noise. The room had no air con on a sultry summer evening which meant we left the windows open but were exposed to traffic noise and late night revelers in the adjoining hotel. The rooms were comfortable enough (lack of air con apart) but overall the place felt and looked pretty anonymous. Reception staff were friendly and helpful but it is a shame they also have to double up as bar attendants. The main problem was the virtually non-existent and low quality breakfast offer. We went down to eat at 09.45 on a Sunday morning but the cupboards were bare - there was virtually no food on display apart from some dry bread for toasting and a few yogurts. There was nothing at all enticing about the self-service food area (I hesitate to call it a 'restaurant') and we walked out without having any food at all - not a good experience. The free wi-fi supposedly on offer also required a sign-up process that suggests some unspecified charge would be levied - I chose not to press the 'connect' button because I didn't know and wasn't informed what charge applied to 'fast internet'access. All in all, a pretty unmemorable experience from a functional hotel with little charm or quality.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the adjacent 'Suites' hotel which seemed to generate a lot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi
We are really sorry to here of your negetive experience with us here at the holiday inn express, we do apologize for the matter regarding the breakfast after speaking to staff i have been told that it was a very busty morning and they were replenishing breakfast asfast as it was bieng eaten, i can assure you this is not always the case with our free breakfast. I hope this has not put you off staying with the holiday Inn Express again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future .

Regards on behalf of all the staff here.

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here on a Monday night and chose this hotel because of its close proximity to Knowsley Safari Park. The staff were friendly and very helpful and made us feel very welcome. They went out of their way and really deserve five stars, however, the room we stayed in wasn't very comfortable. It didn't have air conditioning, but did have a fan, but was still very hot and stuffy, even with the fan going and window open. The double bed was one of those where the two occupants roll together in the middle and wake with backache. The pillows were flat and hard as well, so obviously the bedding situation could do with some improvements to make it more comfortable. The décor was plain but it was very clean, apart from the shower glass, which should have been cleaned. I would rate the room 'average' and give it three stars.

We ate supper in the dining room and enjoyed the meal, although the choice was very limited. Breakfast was quite nice and included eggs and sausages as well as some pastries and yoghurt.

The location of the hotel isn't great for families, and I think it is more suited to business travellers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillsOfMidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at the holiday inn express , we are sorry to here about, your situation regarding the bed we do not have many complaints regarding this area and this is something we will definately address.Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed recently on a friday night.

The good
The room - clean, spacious and well presented, bathroom was spotless
Breakfast - loved it, self serve just fine by me and cant fault the quality

The needs improvement
Evening facilities - arriving late after a long journey it was very disappointing to learn that there is no restaurant service over the weekend! This wasnt mentioned anywhere on the website and resulted in needing to drive around to find some food; not what you want after a long drive!
Bed - more closely matches a trampoline! Personal preference I guess but could do with being a bit firmer

Sort out the restaurant and this hotel would be a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear mitchw1,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are glad to hear you found the rooms clean and enjoyed the breakfast. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the unusual condition of the bed you received. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I just wanted to say what an amazing team here. The service was 100% the staff are very friendly. they even gave us there fan from the desk due to it being so hot. Now that is bloody good customer care especially in this country where that's some what lacking
So just a really big thank you!! and if I knew the two ladies ladies name I'd recommend they receive a bonuses or some sort of reward because people like this in a big company are hard to find and keep.
Just my option
Mb

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Martin B
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay & thanks for your comments about our customer service, We value all responses from our Guests and strive to improve our customer service & experience.
We hope to welcome you into Hotel again should you be staying in Liverpool in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My son and I stayed two nights here to be reasonably near Hoylake for The Open (a 40 minute drive via the Wallasey Tunnel). The main disadvantage of the hotel is the complicated access route from the M57 and A380. I'll be surprised if many visitors find the approach road first time. Once inside, it was fine. Our twin-bedded room had everything we needed including WiFi and Freeview TV. The buffet breakfast is large - although the advertised fresh fruit seemed to have disappeared into the bags of a coachload of Russian tourists. Takeaway dinners , ordered via reception, from the Huyton Bangaldeshi restaurant worked well for us and allowed us to drink BYO wine in our room. A special mention for Tracy, on reception, very friendly and helpful.
value-for-money depends on the price you paid. By booking months ahead, we paid much less than the rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanexhi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi
I would like to thank you for all of your feedback, all of your comments are valued taken on board with regards to trying to improve our service i will pass your compliments on to Tracy im sure she will be very happy to here about your pleasent stay.

Kind Regards
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
Address: Ribblers Lane, Knowsley L34 9HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Knowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers all the comforts associated with the Holiday Inn Express brand: contemporary style and facilities & services to meet the needs of today's business and leisure guests. A total of 86 non smoking well appointed bedrooms to choose from and rooms for the physically challenged. All rooms have Free High Speed Internet Access, Modem points, Power showers, Direct dial telephone, 26'' LCD Remote control television with Freeview, In-room complimentary tea and coffee,Hairdryers & Priority Rewards Programme.Many rooms have sleeper sofa's capable of accommodating additional guests and children. The Great Room offers the ideal place to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar & a meal from our restaurant. A complimentary continental breakfast inclusive of selected hot breakfast items is available in the Great Room, together with a free daily newspaper. A choice of 4 modern, fully equipped meeting rooms are available for up to 40 delegates. A warm and friendly welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley Hotel Knowsley
Holiday Inn Express Knowsley
Holiday Inn Liverpool
Knowsley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Knowsley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing