We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Villa Gail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Villa Gail
Ranked #1 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

If you want to feel like you are visiting Amalfi... you need to check out this place!

Spectacular views. Gail the hostess is completely lovely.

It was the perfect retreat, really. So quiet (except for the ocean - just the thing you want to hear.)

Secluded + picturesque!

Room Tip: If you don't like lots of stairs, ask to get a room closer to the top of the cliff... otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    15
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
25
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here too briefly; just a one night stopover before an early morning flight from Cairns. Just one sunset (and moonrise!) and sunrise were not enough! The views are simply stunning and the room quite comfortable. We really just slept there. Gail had stocked our fridge with some fruit for breakfast, which we nibbled at before we took off. Very convenient to the airport There are quite a number of stairs, though, so definitely not accessible by any means.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Our time at Villa Gail was nothing short of amazing.

Clifftop ocean views matched with a beautiful sea breeze...and Gail our host, is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet.

Thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a truly relaxing experience away from the crowds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The most amazing ocean views! We did not know but there is a room with a balcony also, although our views were spectacular, we will request that room for next time. Clean rooms and super friendly host (Gail). It is almost like you own the joint! Enough privacy with all the availability you need from the host. Only a 10-15 min drive from the main stretch of Cairns, it is perfect for a getaway slithly away from all the tourism, which is easily accessed if needed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with full ocean view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

what a pleasant stay, coming off a year in Antarctica, it's hard to imagine a better place to relax and enjoy some tropical sun combined with stunning views and the sound of the ocean. Gail is a wonderful host and I hope I will make it back to that marvelous place in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

To say A Villa Gail commands the most breathtaking view on Yorkey's Knob is a sheer understatement. The breakfasts, with a luscious and delicious variety of local fruits was the tastiest we've ever eaten at a B&B. Gail's continuous kindness, helpfulness, and good cheer added immeasurably to an already terrific stay. We recommend A Villa Gail to everyone who wants to be in this area, and doesn't want a city-like atmosphere of Cairns.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at A Villa Gail from 15 – 22 September. It was our second visit. We just had to return to this beautiful terraced property. We stayed again in the spacious and well-equipped apartment. There are breathtaking, panoramic views of the ocean, the beach, Cairns, the mountains and beyond. The sitting areas are peaceful and relaxing and there is a very pleasant swimming pool. Gail is a delightful host who has mastered the art of going the extra mile for her guests without imposing on their privacy. She provides a good and generous variety of breakfast supplies and is helpful with any information you may need.
Yorkey’s Knob is a great location, with it’s own excellent beach, shops and eateries.
It is affords good access to Cairns, the Smithfield shopping Plaza, the northern beaches, Kuranda and the Atherton tableland.
We’ll be back for a third visit. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.5 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa Gail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa Gail

Property: A Villa Gail
Address: 36 Janett St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa Gail 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your A Villa Gail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Villa Gail Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing