We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Our family of four stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor (lift or stair access). The balcony did have views towards the ocean with the other side towards neighbouring block and apartments. In saying that though the morning sun was lovely sitting out having breakfast. The unit's 2 bedrooms both have their own bathrooms. With bedroom views toward the back looking over the tennis court. (we enjoyed a family game - free tennis rackets provided, there's also a basketball ring).
The kitchen is basic with the basic essentials, not suitable for whipping up a gourmet meal but functional. Would be great to have access to a bbq. The laundry with washing machine & dryer is in the hallway alcove. The unit is very roomy, the lounge has digitial TV, cane furniture - the couch folded out to a bed if required. There is no radio/stereo Ipod system.
The pool is suitable for older and young children it is located on the beach side of Golden sands making the walk to the beach about 1 minute! The stinger net from Nov to March is a the other end of the beach. It a great beach for walks as well. A MUST do is the Star Apple restaurant located at Golden Sands( next to the pool area)- exceptional quality asian inspired menu, small and intimate and fabulous hosts.
Sure Golden Sands could do with a makeover - vertical blinds, cane furniture & older style bathrooms however for the $ it is good value. There are a number of permanent residents so it can't be that bad! We'd go back. I booked directly with the managers who were helpful and responded quickly to my queries.
Yorkey's is a quiet beach location and unless you want to chill out and not go anywhere you really need a car, especially if you love coffee! A few takeaways and a decent restaurant Crocadillas as well as Yorkey's Boat Club & Marina-offers courtesy bus pickup.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool directly, not on the sides if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amber44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

The "new" manager- new to us!- is Roy. He did everything he could to make our week long stasy great. Apartments are excellent- washing machine, dryer, large balcony, good sized bedroom, living room and kitchen area. Shower room -no bath.
Local restaurants very good- we did some eat-outs and some eat-ins. Takeaway of proper meals means you can sit on your balcony with really good food after a day out (in our case a late day after being trapped by floods).
Roy also readily booked excursions offering good discounts- one of our party went to the Reef and got a chunk of money off the list price.
Site restaurant opens this week. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Very disappointed in our stay here. We stayed a few years back and had heard the location was great for windsurfing and kitesurfing (which it is!). There was also a little restaurant where we could have a late afternoon drink and the staff were great.
Don't expect any of that! No restaurant or bar and no facilities other than the pool (unfortunately there is a real mosquito problem so there is no option to relax around the pool)
It is certainly not a 'resort' ( no facilities) - there are also many people living here permanently so it feels too much like a rental unit block.
Yorkey's Knob is a beautiful beach and the locals are great. I would say you would be better off based in the city and drive or catch a bus out to the beaches for a day or two - it's only a 15 minute drive and you will have much more access to other activities from town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sonny222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

we are very sorry to hear your experience
We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

It has been a couple of years since we stayed at the Golden Sands Resort; the place looks quite fresh, Roy our manager was great to deal with and the stay was very pleasant indeed. The exterior has had a spruce up; the two units I have been staying in had fresh tiles and the tired furniture has been updated; clean & bright.
I love the location, it is great that the cyclone did little visual damage to the area; a few trees have disappeared from the view and the beach looks even closer! The restaurant is not functioning at present due to the cyclone event; but it really is business as usual in every other way!
This is still my lodging of choice in the Northern Beaches area, the local food and restaurant offerings - including the new Thai Star of Siam are great and I never miss a visit to the Boat Club; but not Monday nights as that is the big local evening and it is difficult to get a seat! Yorkey's Knob is hard to beat; the Golden Sands Resort is the icing on the proverbial cake!

Room Tip: I always book directly with the Roy - his rates are more than fair and you always know you will be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Owner at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I booked a room at the Golden Sands Beachfront Resort through HotelClub.com in January 2011 for the weekend of the Cairns Challenge triathlon race (5 months ahead of the race). I received an email confirming my reservation and my credit card was debited for the full cost of the stay. I called the resort the day before I was due to book-in just to make sure that everything was ok. I was told on the phone that they did not have any reservation in my name. After HotelClub contacted the Resort, I was told that the Resort would not be honoring my reservation as the reservation had not been recorded due to a "computer glitch". This caused a great deal of inconvenience as we were travelling with an infant and all decent accommodation was gone the day before a triathlon weekend. Make sure you call to confirm ahead of your stay with this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Benjismum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Large, clean apartment which was bright and airy. Owners were really friendly and accommodating. Free wifi. Large balcony with nice, comfortable furniture - makes a pleasant change from plastic ones.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoniaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at the Golden Sands for 7 nights in january 2011. The whole experience was wonderful. The owner (Roy) and staff were very helpful in every way. The accomodation was of a good standard. The pool and gardens, outstanding. The Waterdragon restaurant offers haute cuisine. We highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowpup6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.3 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
203 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
528 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Green Island Resort
Green Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Green Island
956 reviews
19.2 mi away
Fitzroy Island Resort
Fitzroy Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fitzroy Island
1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Resort
Half Moon Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Beachfront Resort

Address: 12-14 Deauville Close, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Beachfront Apartment Resort is located at Yorkeys Knob, just 15 minutes from the Cairns CBD and airport. Offering one and two bedroom self-contained holiday apartments, Golden Sands Resort Cairns is right on the Yorkeys Knob beachfront with only open lawns and gardens separating your holiday apartment from the long stretch of golden sand that is Yorkeys Knob beach. Soak up the ambience of a secluded lush tropical garden setting right on the beachfront at Yorkeys Knob... enjoy the tranquillity while knowing you are within easy reach of all the excitement and grandeur that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Laze around the lagoon style “SOLAR HEATED” salt water pool, a constant 30 degrees year round or take a leisurely 30 second stroll to Yorkeys Knob Beach, enjoy a game of tennis or basketball. Large and spacious one and two bedroom air-conditioned holiday apartments with self contained catering and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Golden Sands Beachfront
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing