We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful villas, couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Marine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful villas, couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Had a great time here at Villa Marine. The villas have lovely, big rooms. Really nice relaxing outdoor area and a great swimming pool with beautiful surroundings.
The staff here are exceptionally friendly and will do anything to make your stay better. There is so much to do in the area, and some great day trip. I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wildlife apartment, it has a lot of flowering trees out the front, which attracts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    32
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
73
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This weekend we decided to head back for a couple of nights to Villa Marine. Villa Marine is self contained. It is a Jewell found in Paradise. Is it so relaxing, peaceful, and like a home away from home. Peter the owner is a top host and nothing ever is too much for him. Surrounded by rain forest, one can listen to the frogs croaking and other noises made by different insects little animals and many fruit bats travelling through.
Highly recommend Villa Marine, It is also 50 metres from the beach and a courtesy bus is available to take you to boat club and back for meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjanCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Villa Marine has a wonderful tropical environment and only minutes from the beach. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and most importantly, excellent value for money!

The entire resort has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere whether sunbathing by the pool or enjoying a book in the shade of your villa garden.

It was very easy to get into the centre of Cairns by bus for a day of shopping and sightseeing.

This is a resort I would highly recommend to both family's and couples, young and old.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharRich407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Beautiful tropical setting, you could forget about the surrounding properties - and close enough to hear the sea at night when no traffic around. And at Villa Marine the Dawn Chorus is very real! The accommodation we stayed in was spacious, clean, and well kitted out - we cooked for ourselves both evenings (after a very expensive few days in Uluru and Alice). The laundry room and washing line (which looks out on to trees) is the most picturesque we have ever seen in an hotel! We didn't book any trips as we had already planned how to spend our two days in Yorkeys Knob, but Peter had a vast range of suggestions if we had had more time; in any event he was very hospitable and helpful with a range of local advice and information.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Spent four very nice days at Villa Marine staying in the Rainforest apartment - absolutely beautiful being surrounded by the trees. It was quite a novelty (for Kiwis) to be woken by the 'laughing' of kookaburras and to see two of them on a branch outside our bedroom window one morning. Very spacious, clean and nicely presented unit, full kitchen (great for having a meal 'at home') and a nice patio with very comfortable chairs to sit out. Lovely pool which we made very good use of. A short walk to the beach and the Yacht Club. An ideal place to stay if you wish to be out of Cairns city - very quiet and handy to all local attractions. Other reviewers have said it all regarding Peter - a most friendly and helpful host and a wealth of local knowledge.

Room Tip: The Rainforest apartment is seperated from the other units by the laundry so there is the feeling of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Our first point of stay here in Cairns. Greeted by the most friendly person you could ever meet - Peter thank you so much for your hospitality and making us feel very welcome. We loved staying here, the gardens are beautiful and tropical, the unit we stayed in was very spacious and clean, providing a complete kitchen was great as we then got to cook up what fresh ingredients we bought at the local shops and markets. Having an on-sight laundry was great. The beach is so close to walk to and wonderful any time of day. We had our own transport - but there are buses that run to town and northern beaches not far from Villa Marine.

Thank you Peter :)
Elizabeth & Russell

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takemewithyou61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

my second time at Villa Marine, and a very last minute booking to get away from Cairns for the week end. A great pleasure to spend time chilling on the beach go to to the yacht club for lunch, looking over the Marina. Fantastic service and attention to details, I just feel like home there, relaxed and safe :) Peter is a great help and an awesome host! Recommended!!

Room Tip: the one next to tropical garden is very calm and perfectly surrounded by rainforest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraleo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
3.5 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
7.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Villa Gail
A Villa Gail
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine

Property: Villa Marine
Address: 8 Rutherford St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 1 of our 9 villas facing rain forest and 50m from the beach with fully self-contained facilities, including kitchens and bathrooms. Our villas are suitable for couples, singles, families, and small groups, and we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets from budget to luxury. Located just 10 minutes north of Cairns by the beach, our environmentally friendly accommodation faces rain forest with diverse wildlife including kangaroos and many different rain forest bird species. Our tourist information center offers free tour bookings and car hire. Tours pick up at our door. Tap into our extensive knowledge on the best reef locations or our diverse range of every tour in the Cairns region! Friendly, helpful service, shops, supermarket, restaurants and buses very close. Villa Marine is located so close to Cairns, yet by the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Ideal for those seeking a more natural environment. Come and stay at Cairns' quirkiest holiday accommodation! Awards: Cairns Tourism Association Annual Award 2011. Best standard Accommodation for the Region: 2012, 2013, 2014. Tourism Tropical North Queensland Hall Of Fame 2015. TripAdvisor certification For Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013,2014, 2015. TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame 2015. Eco-Friendly Certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marine Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing