We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This little place is a jewel...peaceful, centrally located and a good value”
Review of Villa Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Marine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This little place is a jewel...peaceful, centrally located and a good value”
Reviewed 13 April 2007

This 8 unit self-contained hotel has something for couples, singles and families. It is in a pleasant suburb just north of hectic Cairns. Each unit has its own fridge, stove, microwave, a/c, tv and private patio. There is a pool and laundry facilities. A sandy beach is just steps away. You'll wake to cockatoos on beautifully maintained grounds. It is only a mile from the skyway way that takes you across the rain forest to Kuranda. It's close to restaurants and groceries. It's a great place to base yourself for daytrips to Cape Tribulation, the Great Barrier Reef, Atherton Tablelands, Mossman Gorge. Peter, the owner, is friendly and helpful...will arrange tours, transportation, or just give you information & advice about the area. A fellow traveler recommended this place to us, and we liked it so much that we stayed for a week.

  • Liked — Pleasant surroundings, good location, relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    34
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
76
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

Our seven-month round-the-world tour included just over a week in Cairns. We wanted self-catering accommodation in a quiet area close to local wildlife (especially birds) and Villa Marine was just what we were looking for. The room was fine, there's a pool just outside and the motel adjoins a strip of rainforest, with the beach just a couple of hundred yards away.

Peter the proprietor was a mine of information on local attractions and arranged some memorable trips, including one to the Barrier Reef and a wonderful day with a local bird expert - we almost lost count of the species we saw in a wide variety of habitats.

If we visit North Queensland again we know where we will stay!

Joe and Rita Butterworth, U.K.

  • Liked — Its position in a quiet area close to wildlife
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingletye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We stayed up in Cairns for a week at the Villa Marine, we had an absolutely fabulous time, the property is well situated within a stones throw of the beach, it is also very close to the bus stop which takes you into the city of Cairns.

We had two small children with us (4 and 18months) and we found the experience extremely "kid friendly" as well, they both loved the pool and gardens.

You certainly couldn't beat the Marina for a Dinner at Night, the bus comes(complimentary) and picks you up at the Villa Marine, you can go and have a fantastic meal (kids meals served, and an in house kids play area) and then the bus takes you home.

The tours we took were equally as easy to do, Pete rang the operator and organised, and the pickups came right to the front door, no fuss at all!!

All in all a highly recommeded property for familys and singles a like, it would be remiss of me not to mention the Owner /Manager of the place, Pete, he was fantastic and went out of his way to book and organise EVERYTHING we wanted to do, and made 100% sure we were able to relax and have a good time, he was up for a beer and chat of an evening (when he wasn't taking care of guests bookings, tours, gardening etc!!)

We will definately be back to this little piece of well appointed affordable paradise.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing, but the bus timetable requires a brain surgeon to work it out.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Virtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

My elderly parents and I spent three nights at Villa Marine in Yorkeys knob near Cairns. We really enjoyed being able to sit outside our unit and eat meals in the relaxing atmosphere with the pool and the rainforest just in front of us. The unit was great for older folks as there were no stairs and they could come and go easily from the car and to the pool as well. The unit was well appointed too with all that we needed to cook meals. I liked the tropical touch with the sea shells decorating the room.
The manager's friendliness made it a wonderful stay as he welcomed us warmly and helped us with luggage etc. He made us feel quite at home, always chatting to us and letting us know good places to eat.
I would recommend Villa Marine for a relaxing holiday in a tranquil, family kind of setting. We really enjoyed it!

  • Liked — atmosphere, quietness. Good shower plenty of water.
  • Disliked — could do with handrails in shower for older folks
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gurichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

We stayed one week in Villa Marine holiday units in Yorkeys Knob at Cairns Northern Beaches in December 2006.

The place really suprised us: rainforest just few metres from our apartment, tranquil atmosphere, sounds of frogs and birds during the nights, green grass, huge pool and the beach just two minutes from us. Our kids really enjoyed staying there, too. We could observe f.ex. small tree frogs, dozens different kinds of birds (even kookaburras) and huge colourful butterflies from our own terrace.

The owner was so friendly and helpful. He organized all our trips, car rental and even all of our special wishes. He was amazing.

If you want to have a relaxing break from huzzle hotel areas, this is just the right place for you.

Helpful?
3 Thank Eepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
3.4 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
169 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine

Property: Villa Marine
Address: 8 Rutherford St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 1 of our 9 villas facing rain forest and 50m from the beach with fully self-contained facilities, including kitchens and bathrooms. Our villas are suitable for couples, singles, families, and small groups, and we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets from budget to luxury. Located just 10 minutes north of Cairns by the beach, our environmentally friendly accommodation faces rain forest with diverse wildlife including kangaroos and many different rain forest bird species. Our tourist information center offers free tour bookings and car hire. Tours pick up at our door. Tap into our extensive knowledge on the best reef locations or our diverse range of every tour in the Cairns region! Friendly, helpful service, shops, supermarket, restaurants and buses very close. Villa Marine is located so close to Cairns, yet by the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Ideal for those seeking a more natural environment. Come and stay at Cairns' quirkiest holiday accommodation! Awards: Cairns Tourism Association Annual Award 2011. Best standard Accommodation for the Region: 2012, 2013, 2014. Tourism Tropical North Queensland Hall Of Fame 2015. TripAdvisor certification For Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013,2014, 2015. TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame 2015. Eco-Friendly Certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marine Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing