We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - Amazing Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dapoli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whistling Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 46 Dapoli B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Amazing Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Visited Whiistling Palms with family on Mar 29, 2013 for the long weekend. Will start my review with the strongest possible point -

Location -

Amazing location bang opposite the beach with no interference in the sea view. Its just too good. However good things come at a cost. There is no road to resort per say... its terrible for cars...dusty road... and there are about 5-6 resorts along this road... all these resorts should see to it that a tar road atleast a decent road strip is provided to tourists.

Rooms -

Decent rooms, neat and clean, airy, good A/C's, no power issues faced even in summer time. One king sized bed present which is comfortable for family of 3. A/C 's are actually not needed since the rooms are very airy (even in March) and hence cool. The rooms have full sized sliding doors for balcony and even have a netted door.

Food -

Very good - Solkadi and all curries
Good - Chicken and veggies
Thumbs down - Fish (so disappointing !!!!!!)

Alternates to Food -

Veg - Hotel Sanman near Rickshaw stand @ Dapoli (Kelaskar Chowk)
Non-Veg - Hotel Jagdish near Rickshaw stand @ Dapoli (Kelaskar Chowk)

Drinks -

Only beer available that too in the evening... but u can carry your own drinks... NO FRIDGE AVAILABLE IN ROOMS...

Service and Staff -

Thumbs up... no room to complain... very helpful and courteous...well behaved pleasant mannerisms...

Things to do/ Places to Visit -

- Dolphin ride in the morning is a must..saw a lot of dolphins...
- Harnai Beach Fish auction is enjoyable for the zeal of fishermen and fun of auction..also road to harnai is very good coastal road...
- Water sports at murud beach


Overall a refreshing experience....

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms ... All rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I went with to Dapoli with my family and friends. After a lot of research we decided to book Whistling Palms hotel and we were not disappoined. We stayed in non-ac rooms which were on the ground floor but that did not hamper the spectacular view of the Karde beach. The beach is just 100mts away from the hotel. Karde beach is very clean, with full privacy for family to enjoy. It was like our private beach. We could see dolphins from our room. The hotel staff was very friendly, the room and toilet were clean, restaurant has less options for sea food, only the expensive ones were available.
We went to murud beach early at 7am to watch the dolphins then enjoyed the water sports. we then went to Harnai beach to witness fish auction but were late as it ends by 9am. Nevertheless we bought fresh pomfret and surmai after a lot of bargaining. Carrying the fish was easy because they pack it all up inside a termocol container filled with ice.
Overall it was a fun filled experience. We will surely stay in this hotel the next time we plan to visit Dapoli

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Best reason to visit Whistling Palms is the great stretch of beach from Murud to Karde, fine white sands, easy to walk on, clean beach, perfect sea (neither turbulent nor mild waves) and not completely devoid of activities (not sure if it was because of the New Year rush or whether it is a regular fare, but the beach had fair amount of activities like para-sailing, water scooters etc when we visited there). It is the same beach that runs from lush green murud village to mountainous terrain of karde village - you get to see two different landscapes from a single beach! Resorts in Karde in general have good sea view while the ones in Murud have more greenery.

Coming to Whistiling Palms, it is the first resort that you come across as you hit the beach at Karde. It sits right at the middle of the entire stretch of beach with view of lush greenery of coconut and casurina trees towards Murud, stretch of beach and hills towards Karde village, and vast expanse of the sea in front (completely uninterrupted view). In terms of location, it is perfect!

Rooms are spacious, neat and clean - perfectly acceptable for a budget resort. The paint was wearing off at places in our room but not really an eye sore. Every room offers view of the sea which becomes even better when you proceed to the sit-outs. A very thoughtful facility is the clothes line for drying clothes in the sit-outs. I guess the resort doesn't have laundry facility (at least there was no price list in the room).

Service was always prompt and courteous for most of the routine stuff but they struggled a bit when I asked for new batteries for TV remote as the ones it had seemed to have weared off. They could not provide new batteries but did replace with other batteries. Hot water is not available 24 hours and it is mentioned in the handouts left in the rooms but if you have not bothered to go through the handouts you may be in for a surprise. Service wise, I believe they provide pretty good service for a location that is remote and suffers from electricity shortage. It will be helpful if they can brief the visitors about these limitations right at the time of check-in and not bank on them going through the handouts.

Food was a mixed baggage. Buffet dinners were simply disappointing. They could get the taste right but not the texture (paneer chilly that tastes good but requires endless chewing, crisps that are too hard, veg handi with overflowing oil....). In contrast, they offered us ala-carte menu for lunch and we ordered all konkani food - every bit of konkani food was excellent. Breakfasts were something in between - neither bad nor excellent, just good enough. I am not sure whether they struggle with bulk preparation or with non-konkani cuisine.

Whenever I travel to Konkan, I always prefer home-cooked Konkani food as against typical chinese, punjabi, or south indian stuff that I can get anywhere in Pune. For people like me, there is a good option of home cooked konkani food just about 0.5 - 1 Kms before Whistling Palms, a place called "Kokan Kinara".

We welcomed the new year 2013 at Whistling Palms, the idea was to be at a calm peaceful place amidst natural environs to welcome the new year. However (to my disappointment), there was a dance party organized by the resort to welcome the new year. The party was preceded by a one-man stand-up show whose format seemed interesting - a mix of information about Dapoli, its famous people, places of significance, magic show, games and so on. The show was in Marathi so I could not grasp it fully. This show and the dance arrangement was all done outdoors, and the dinner buffet was also arranged outdoors. I was not interested in the dance party anyways, but the dinner was delayed (starters from 8:30 onwards but dinner served only around 10 PM) and it got cold quickly. All in all, I don't think it was worth it. There were just a handful of 8-10 people enjoying the dance. In any case, it is a matter of personal choice so I don't hold it for or against the resort.

Lastly, most of the resorts in Karde were freshly painted and Whistling Palms looked pale before them - it definitely requires fresh exterior paints (interiors are quite ok though). Each and every metal chairs in the restaurant had their paints peeled off and rust setting in (again, metal furnitures in the rooms were in good condition).

I believe anybody visiting Dapoli will do so being well aware the holidays in Dapoli cannot really be luxurious. Whistling Palms is definitely above average and offers good holidaying experience.

(Just a side note: It is really a shame on part of local government / administration such beautiful beaches like Murud and Karde have such poor road conditions. As soon as you get off the state highway from Dapoli towards Harne, the road condition is extremely poor and it is virtually non-existent as you turn towards Karde.)

Room Tip: Best view can be obtained from suite on 3rd flr that faces Murud beach as it has two sides open. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Vinay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We (2 families) decided to go to Dapoli as it is around 200 kms (not too far) from Pune & has good beaches nearby. Being a Diwali season, I was struggling to get reservations. I got reservation only for 9th & 10th Nov. at Whistling Palm Beach Resort, Dapoli. Although, I browsed Tripadvior & got good reviews of this Hotel, I was not very sure of it's location. But, it was a pleasant surprise for us as this property is just adjacent to a very good Karde Beach. From each Balcony, there is an uninterrupted view of the sea & beach is just 3 mins away (walking distance). Rooms are average one (rooms require paint touch-up & some basic amenities are missing). We were living in Non AC room (we though that, November is winter season & it will not be hot) but found that it is difficult as climate was hotter than expected (hence, recommendation is for AC room. (On 9th Nov. 2012) Non AC room was @ Rs. 2200/- & AC room is @ Rs. 3100/- (both - incl taxes & incl. basic breakfast). I have seen that, on Saturday 10th Nov. (i.e. their peak season of Diwali / weekend), they increased their rates to Rs. 3100/- for Non AC room & Rs. 4,000/- for AC room). The main attraction of this Hotel is it's location & you can forget other small issues on want of location ! Another plus point is quality / taste of food. If we give them fish / prawns (which you can buy very fresh & yet cheap at nearby Harne market), they cook it for your family @ Rs. 300/- only & it is recommended to buy fish at Harne Bandar (Timings - morning 9 am to 10 am OR evening 4.30 pm to 5.30 pm) & then, ask Cook at Hotel is prepare it for you (but, you need to check it beforehand with Cook - as on peak season, they may refuse to cook specifically for you). We enjoyed the Food. Also, from Hotel (about 6 minutes drive from Hotel), nearby, their is another homely food restaurant called as "Shinde" where you get very good Pompret / Surmai Thali @ Rs. 200/- & it is worth trying it. Also, you get Beer / Liquer in nearby store (on the way to this Hotel - just 3 mins driving distance). Nearby attractions what we have seen were "Kadyavaracha Ganapati" which we liked. The (Karde) beach is excellent, clean & safe (especially morning 6.30 am to 8.30 am & evening 5 pm to 6.30 pm are good timings to enjoy on this Beach). Overall, it was a right decision to stay at this Hotel 9Beach & Food are attractions, Room interiors & amenities are compromises). One input: Reliance & Airtel do not have network in this Hotel & surrounding area (you get signal of Idea) & also, they do not have Internet facility in Hotel. Also, note that Pune to Dapoli / Karde Beach distance is around 225 km but it takes about 5.30 to 6.00 hrs of travel time (incl. 30 minutes halt) as the Bhor Ghat road is not good & it is a single road where you can not drive fast. Dapoli area is not as good as say, Malvan (I consider Malvan as one of the best spots at Konkan after The Best "Goa") but if you decide to go to Dapoli & around area, then, Whistlinmg Palm Beach Resort is a good option (but remember that, it is not a luxury option) to consider.
Feedback to Hotel Management:
1. Pl. do paint touch-up job in the rooms.
2. Pl. provide internet facility in the Hotel (at least at Reception).
3. In breakfast, please add cut fruits, juice, egg omlette & toast (please increase your rates by another couple of Hundred Rs. but add these basic things).

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better. Also, book AC rooms (as in winter also, afrenoons are hot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Hemantmktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel was a surprise for us. Tried all the so called well known names for a weekend to stay. Finally with lot of hesitation booked Whiisting Palms, went ahead with the booking after going through the reviews. The hotel has got an excellent location. I would say much better to the hotels on the same beach. It's the first hotel on the karde beach the last well-known hotel would be Sagar Sawali. The beach in front of this hotel is lot cleaner. Rooms are spacious and very neat and clean including toilets. All rooms are sea facing with balcony having beautiful view of endless sea. The restaurant is well managed with veg / non-veg food, one would get the lot of food options, including North Indian, Chinese, Konkani etc... Quality of food is average, but we got fresh seafood - Promfert, King Fish (Surmai) and Prawns. Staff is very courteous and helpful. We are pleased with the hospitability and throughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent view, with the rooms on the top are more preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank PuneShekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have been to almost all the places on the Konkan coast. Although, the beauty of this coast is mesmerising, however, the food & lodging facilities leave a lot to be desired. Whistling Palms, however, stands apart. The hotel is located on a cliff, so the view you get from here is outstanding. Rooms are big with neat and clean bathrooms. Almost all rooms have balconies where you can sit, relax and enjoy the sea view. Unlike other Konkan areas where we struggled to get decent North Indian food, here the story is not the same, the food served was pretty decent.
Clothes Drier in the balcony came in very handy to dry out those drenched clothes. All in all the experience was cool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing...however, going for an A/c room on the first floor would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Mallikajjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

If you are planning to drive in your own vehicle to the resort, please note that the last 1.5 km stretch to the resort is horrible.

The plus point is that it has an amazing location. The rooms are spacious, clean and are sea facing. You can watch the beautiful Arabian sea from the balcony and you can enjoy the clean, calm, less crowded beach which is just a few steps away.

The food is not all that great and I would suggest the next door hotel Kinara, especially for sea food.

Hotel staff is very courteous and always happy to serve.

Worth visiting again.

Room Tip: * Book your room well in advance. * The hotel does not serve liquor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank smtalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dapoli
1.2 mi away
Lotus Beach Resort
Lotus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Murud
126 reviews
6.3 mi away
Exotic Home Stay
Exotic Home Stay
#2 of 6 in Dapoli
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Fern Samali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Emerald
Comfort Inn Emerald
#1 of 6 in Dapoli
80 reviews
7.6 mi away
Whistling Waves Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
The Mango Inn
The Mango Inn
#4 of 6 in Dapoli
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Palm Beach Resort

Property: Whistling Palm Beach Resort
Address: Beach at Post Karde, Dapoli 415712, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Ratnagiri District > Dapoli
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Dapoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing