We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best vacation we had for a long time..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manas Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Igatpuri
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“The best vacation we had for a long time..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Serene, beautiful and elegant are some adjectives I would use to describe the location of Manas resorts. This is extremely well complimented by the resort itself which boasts of many rustic valley villas & new apartments which provide the ideal setting to hang up your boots and relax in the lap of nature. The rooms are spacious and the quality of food served in excellent. Special mention of the deserts provided during the course of our buffet - they were really good. I had gone there with a few friends to escape the hustle and bustle of Mumbai ( and Pune for a few friends) and it was truly an excellent choice. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool especially the one at the lower tier which has a unique waterfall concept. The manager as well as the staff were very courteous and helpful - a pleasant change from the type of staff I have seen in the so called 5 star hotels I fequent for business. Even though we arrived earlier than the usual check in time, the manager promptly arranged a room for us to keep all our luggage and freshen up till the other rooms were made ready. Other than enjoying the resort itslef there are some good waterfalls and trails around the place which provide that hint of activity you want in a relaxed holiday. Live music concerts and games room make sure that you have a good weekend here.

Just a warning note though - the access road to this resort in a bit tricky. Make sure that you enter Manas resorts and not Manas lifestyle to avoid any disappointment. Also ensure that you book in advance as the hotel is pretty full and try to request a valley room / villa.

Overall, an easily accessible getaway in the midst of great beauty which will provide the perfect setting to enjoy that vacation you were thinking about.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curiouslymeandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    135
    86
    42
    30
See reviews for
195
77
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Igatpuri is also known as "The Fog City" or cherrapunji of maharashtra. It receives highest amount of rainfall in maharashtra. The best time to go to igatpuri is during monsoon. There are many waterfalls and you can also plan your trek around igatpuri. Manas Resort is located on NH3 and it is the excllent property. The food is good but expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a Pool Side Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had planned and postponed the trip a couple of times, finally we decided to go there for New Years. We managed to call a number we got from the web only to realise that we had in fact called Travel Hungama and not the resort, who tried to send us to Manas lifestyle. I managed to get the correct number from just dial. The resort itself was a real pleasure and the staff was extremely helpful and polite. The room was valley facing and beautiful. We had a lovely two night stay with well organised programs and food. One recommendation for the management would be to create a health-club or spa to add more services.

Room Tip: The Valley Villas are spacious and overlooking a wonderful valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hearme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The place turned out to be a absolute cropper. We visited the place on our way back to mumbai from Nasik to stop by for lunch. The restaurant was highly recomended by a friend in Nasik so decided to check it out.

we booked a table for six. There was no person to even provide for water or even ask for it for 20 odd minutes . the guy came for the order and it took 40 minutes for an order of Dal( tadka), Rce, Aloo Jeera and Roti. the repeat order took another 60 minutes and a lot of exchange of words to the discourteous staff. The papad never came( neither was charged, Thank God for that).

The only thing which went in their favour was that food quality was ok( am not sure if they soiked it after the fight).

Avoid in all circumstances or be ready to be served at dinner time for a luncheon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank devender s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Manas Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We had taken your complaint on board but we prefer actions rather than promises. We were working on a more permanent solution to the problem which arise due to the remote location of the resort.
I am happy to inform that we have re-installed the food production team and after teething issues, are happy to announce that we have a a brand new sumptuous menu on offer.
I am confident you will not be disappointed. Sorry for the previous inconvenience and hope to make it right for you on your next visit.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Igatpuri hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Totally agree with review of mghosh. Stayed at the resort for one night . Paid 7000 per room, rooms were in a building detached from the main resort , the building facing a garbage dump. Our room was on the 2nd floor and there was no lift.When we checked into the room , the rooms were not even clean. When we enquired with the house keeping , we were told rooms were clean according to their standards. I must say the standards are very high : dirty pot, dirty foot mats, rooms which have not been swept or mopped. When we asked them to clean the rooms again, the housekeeping just mopped the room once again which dint make any difference , such was the state of the room. Since our baby was hungry and cranky , we let it becoz on seeing the attitude of the housekeeping we realised nothing much will be achieved.
The food at the restuarant was decent , but we were made to wait for 20 mins for rotis to be served. On repeatedly enquiring ,finally the manager came with chappatis and when we told him we were waiting for tandoori roti and not chappati , he conveniently told us that tandoor chef was on leave and only plain chappatis wld be available. When we told him we had had tandoori roti some 30 mins back and were waiting for a repeat order since then , we were served tandoori rotis . The entire episode was just strange. In the evening , when we ordered snacks and tea , we were made to wait for more than hr and then they were served cold.
The boy at the swimming pool was very helpful .

Room Tip: Dont stay in the apartments, they are in a detached building at the end of the resorts, the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

had heard so much about this place but felt totally cheated after visiting it. located in such a picturesque location and such a let down. there are 2 sets of room one attached to the main rsort and other is a stand alone building on the side, so quite and dinggy its scary not relaxing. bedding stuff is stuffed all along corridor and stairway giving it a baraat ghar look. very unprofessional and untrained staff, badly dressed no politeness in speaking and this was there across, only courteous place was their restaurant which also serves good food. usually people come as groups and maybe they are equipped to only handle them and not individuals. they also wrongly charged us for a mineral water which was never served and everyone from room boy to lobby manager to further manager were very argumentative and stuck to it that it was served. bloody we have spent 3000 + per night don't have time to waste on 20Rs bottle. very very bad experience. not at all professionally run. please avoid

Room Tip: avoid. highly unprofessional and non courteous staff. they have just built a good property at good l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rmghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location for this place is very good. It is located as the ghats end (when travelling from Mumbai to Nasik) and is best during the rains. Had been there for lunch when returning from Nasik during rains and hence decided to visit it again in December. Unfortunately it turned out to be a complete show down.

Likes :

(*) Location. On the highway and at the end of the ghats. Best during monsoon
(*) Property is quite big (for hotel standards, not for resort standards) with open areas and a pool.

Dislikes :

(*) Too expensive for what it offers. It would be worth it had it been half the price they charge.

(*) Service is not up to the mark. I had asked for a cake at midnight as a surprise which was brought in after 1.00 pm (it surely surprised me !) after reminding them. There was no hot water in the room at night ! After spending a good 1 hour trying to figure out why there was no hot water, the room service brought me a bucket of hot water ! I think this was pathetic !

(*) They rent out the property for shooting purposes. During our stay, we had cameras, lights all over the place (luckily they went loud) making sure they kill privacy of guests. Although the resort has a pool, some 20-25 ppl from the shooting team were drinking in the pool area. This made sure that noone could use the pool.

(*) The next day at the time of checking, I tried to get in touch with the manager to complaint but he wasnt available. The person handling the reception was nice trying to be helpful but didnt have much authority. Infact he was handling it for more than 24 hours (he was there since our check-in the previous day) and so was understandably frustrated.


All in all a waste of time and money. I would not recommend it for staying. The best to go there as a stop over during monsoon.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the valley are really good. Ask for rooms at the higher floors facing the valley. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Off_Road_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Igatpuri
0.1 mi away
Dew Drops Boutique Retreat
10.5 mi away
JenJon Lake Vaitarna Resort
15.3 mi away
Savana Lake Resort
Savana Lake Resort
#7 of 52 in Nashik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik
21.8 mi away
Hotel Express Inn
Hotel Express Inn
#2 of 52 in Nashik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Comfort Inn
Hotel Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Igatpuri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manas Resort

Property: Manas Resort
Address: Village Talegaon Gut 303/A | National Highway 3, Igatpuri 422403, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Igatpuri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Igatpuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manas Resort a PET FRIENDLY property sits pertly atop Sahyadri Range, overlooking a 1200 feet valley, a century old 10 story rail bridge and seasonal waterfalls through a reserved forest. It has three types of accommodation - Royal Villas, Valley Villas and Valley Apartments.The resort is engulfed in thick dense fog during the monsoon months and also can get quite chilly during the winter months.Be aware of Travel Agents posing as official booking office of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing