We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever at the restaurant”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
295 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Worst service ever at the restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stopped by at The Dukes Retreat to have lunch on a Sunday afternoon. It was hot outside and so we headed to the bar which is air-conditioned and served light finger food. However, the service was really terrible. The waiters took ages to bring us a menu and then I had to go up to the bar to place my order because there was no sign of the waiter coming to our table to take the order. Our simple fish n chips order took an hour to arrive because there was a glitch in the system of communicating orders from the bar to the kitchen. Other guests had a worse experience and they got agitated when the food didnt arrive even after almost 2 hours. One of the guests at a nearby table started making aggressive comments to other guests and a fist fight almost took place, just because the service was so poor. One my way out, I asked for the GM of the hotel and conveyed my terrible experience to him because at the end of the day, the management of the hotel is to blame for service glitches especially of this major nature. I also told him that I would be posting this feedback on TripAdvisor since other travellers need to made aware of this experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cool_satchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for providing a review with reference to your recent visit to the hotel. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As mentioned while meeting with you in person, the deficiencies caused during your visit was an aberration from the service standards we endeavor to maintain. We have initiated appropriate corrective measures to ensure that such an instance does not recur.

While we constantly make an effort to provide memorable experience to all our discerning customers, this has clearly been an instance which left a lot to be desired. As already mentioned to you, we would humbly request you to consider the instance to be an aberration and let not the impression of the deficient experience color your opinion of the facilities and services provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dukes Retreat and assure you of a better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    377
    79
    24
    28
See reviews for
340
181
5
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice cosy rooms.
Beautiful location.Nice veiw of the scenery and expressway.
Very courteous staff.
Prompt service.
Food is slightly costly.
The restuarant adjacent to the swimming pool is ,named Panorama, has lot of flies and insects .Difficult to sit and complete the lunch/dinner.Better to go in for other closed door restuarants in the same resort or room service may be preferred.
Service is also a bit slow in panorama.
Otherwise excellent resort to enjoy with family/friends and de-stress.

Room Tip: Given an opportunity,see and select the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRPrabhanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at The Dukes Retreat.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and you were impressed by the rooms and loved the view from our hotel. Your appreciation for the service has been channelized to the associates which is highly motivating for them. We have noted down the shortcomings experienced by you and will be taking measures to address the concerns at the earliest.

We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been frequenting this place since 30 yrs and the yearning to go there does not end. On the way to Pune from Mumbai, khandala is a hill station and Dukes is it pride. The rooms are huge, cozy and have a great view. The food is fine, however u may enjoy the scenic restaurant and sip ur drinks and may want. To explore to eat somewhere else. The Bar is cozy and has a lot of privacy.
The restaurant has a great view and the huge round table in the center is the place if ur with family or colleagues, the cozy table near the window is for the two.
A place u cannot just visit once.

Room Tip: The cottage is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel.

We are happy to know that you have been choosing to stay with us every time you visit the place . Such repeated patronage by our guests is a milestone in our journey for achieving perfection in our services. We are glad that you loved the scenic views of Khandala Ghats and found the dining aspects impressive. Having said this, we would like to mention that The Dukes Retreat Khandala is a perfect option for family getaways.

We would like to stay connected with you through our social media channels. Hope to see you soon.

On behalf of ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat Khandala.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This resort is located at khandala having the best location.
Reception is quick and polite
Rooms good with very beautifull view from the window .
ground floor room have opening but they should have make easy access to lawn
Food - ok kind .


this is very good property in khandala

Room Tip: All rooms are good but rooms at ground floor have an access to lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepkavthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

We take pleasure from the satisfaction of our guests and are elated to receive your kind feedback on this forum. It was a pleasure to be your host.

It is nice to know that our location, rooms, service and maintenance of the property were up to your expectations and you had a wonderful sojourn. However, we have noted down your feedback and communicated the same to the team in the kitchen. We thank you for your patronage and assure you that you would enjoy the same high level of hospitality every time you stay with us. We await your next visit soon.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

we had a great time, visited with my kids they loved the place the food is great, the pool was fun but a bit crowded. the spa was good. we had a excellent room with a fantastic view. nice TT room. we spent the entire weekend in the hotel.

Room Tip: valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you and we thank you for sharing your review.

We are glad to know that our efforts to make your weekend memorable were successful. It is good to hear that our rooms, facilities and services added value to your stay and you enjoyed staying with us. Moreover, it was a delight for us to serve you with scrumptious delicacies to keep your palate pleased throughout the stay. We are happy that you had a weekend full of fun and would eagerly wait to make your weekend memorable again.

We were pleased to host you in the city and look forward to your next visit soon.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was at Dukes for 4 nights with 90 colleagues for a 3 day's conference. The hotel made our stay very comfortable and the conference a great success. The conference room is very good and has lot of energy for a corporate event to be charged up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram_Bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host such an important event for you.

The Dukes Retreat is a preferred choice for hosting conferences, meetings and corporate outings. We are glad that you had a successful conference and everything was up to the mark. Your words are truly inspiring for our team and we hope that we will have your continued patronage.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Its an awesome property located just above the hill... amazing overlooking views of highway and nature. excellent place to b in monsoons.child friendly place. and yet accessible to the local market.must try dukes retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KonicaHamlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you at The Dukes Retreat and we thank you for sharing your review.

Our hotel is a perfect escapade for leisure and business travelers. The rooms are spacious and have a fresh modern decor with enchanting views of the Ghats. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with your family and had a delightful dining experience. We have shared your comments with our associates and they are delighted to receive your words of praise.

We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
845 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
0.2 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Property: The Dukes Retreat
Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing