We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surrounded by mesmerizing valley view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surrounded by mesmerizing valley view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me and my husband visited this place last week.From the time we checked in till check out our experience was amazing. This resort is surrounded by beautiful lusty greenery and valley. You can get the best view of khandala from this place. We stayed in Dulux room and nothing can beat the view from the room. Room is very spacious with apt interior. You can see the valley, waterfalls and clouds from every corner of the room. We hardly took any time to soaked in this natural environment. The best thing about this resort is you have lot of open space where you can just sit n relax. I specially want to thank all d staff who made our stay easy and homely. They are always there to help you. Restaurant serves buffet where you can get varieties of dishes, if you are a foodie you must go for it. Overall it was a very pleasant memorable experience and I give thumbs up to Duke's.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but I will prefer Delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

We thank you for your patronage and taking time out to review our hotel following your stay with us.It is a delight to know that we could provide you a relaxing sanctuary, replete with close to home comfort and contemporary luxuries. We are glad that our impeccable services, location, ambiance and the food spread added value to your stay. Your words of appreciation have been communicated to the teams and they look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks for your custom; we await your next visit.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    367
    76
    23
    28
See reviews for
325
177
5
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

the place is really good and more so just 90 minutes drive from Mumbai. The location of each and every room is just perfect, the room just differ by their size and not by view. the break fast was average. The executive rooms did not have a king size bed and hence had to settle by joining 2 beds.

the view, the neatness and the over all experience is too good. the staff is really responsive.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. Ask for King size bed which is normally available in cottages and probably in de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for your patronage and taking time out to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that the exotic location of our resort rendered your stopover memorable. We are also glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and you were impressed by our hospitality, services and offerings. We thank you for endorsing our products and services on this forum and look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had booked the Executive room for 3 days. (21st to 24th April)
Pros:
The room was neat and clean. The room service regularly cleaned the room.
The view was excellent. (The executive room has the best view.)
The swimming pool was clean. (Not allowed without swimming cosutume)
Also the food was good (On the expensive side).

Cons:
Located a bit far from Lonavala, having a vehicle helps to get around.
Maintenance works going on (disturbing).
There are 2 different beds rather than one queen bed. (couples would understand. )

Over all a very pleasant stay.
Would I recommend : Yes.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are spacious and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nil_0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Many thanks for your patronage and reviewing our hotel on this forum, it was a pleasure to be your host.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed by the panoramic views from the room as well as our service offerings. With regards to your feedback about our location, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we are strategically located away from the hustle and bustle of the city in order to provide a refreshing respite to our patrons.

Thank you again for recommending us to fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I went on a vacation for our third anniversary. And we stayed in this resort for three nights and two days. And we couldn't have taken a better decision than this..:) This resort, its location, ambiance, service, everything about Dukes retreat is just so Overwhelming!!

We got the deluxe room 107. The room was very clean and has the most romantic view..! The best part was the private balcony where we enjoyed our mornings and evenings savoring our hot coffee!!! Exactly what we wanted!!!

The monsoon just started the day we reached Khandala and so the timing also was so perfect. I can't ask for more.. But more and more surprises continued..;) At the time of booking since we had informed that we are coming there for our anniversary, the hotel had arranged us a special cake, a bouquet of red roses and tailor made dishes for us..!!! We were awestruck!!! That was so much romantic!! And so much pampering!!! Otherwise its a buffet. The buffet is with pretty good varieties.

The service was very good, smooth and prompt.

The swimming pool is clean. They have a spa which we dint explore as we had a lot of sightseeing plans.

I would strongly recommend this resort for a completely relaxing and memorable stay for couples, for family or for a group of friends. I feel very much nostalgic mainly because of this specific hotel stay!!!!

Room Tip: 1. Every room has some beautiful view. But the rooms from 101-110 have the best view rather than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suba94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Many thanks for your wonderful review and rating us five star following your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be your host.

We are glad that the exotic location of our resort and the impeccable hospitality rendered your stopover memorable. We are also happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and were impressed by our personalized services and offerings. Your words of appreciation have been communicated to the teams and they look forward to welcoming you back soon.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had been to Dukes for a couple of nights, and was most disappointed with the experience. While the location is pretty decent, the resort on the whole did not live upto expectations AT ALL.
Very limited space and activities in the resort. And for the prices being charged, the maintenance is very poor - I saw broken tiles in the sitting area just outside the High Point Bar as well as in one of the Executive rooms we were shown. There was a cat sitting on one of the tables in one of the eating areas! I saw ants in the sugar-sachet containers in The Duchess, which is the main dining area.
The food was one the worst I have come across - definitely not suited for a resort of this standing. And ridiculously-overpriced. Thankfully, we had taken only a breakfast-included package.
We were given a complimentary upgrade from Executive to Deluxe room, but found out later that it was one of the Deluxe rooms (or maybe the only one!) which had a CTV instead of the 40" LCDs installed in the other rooms! So beware of upgrades! The beds, as stated in many reviews already published here, are available only as single beds which are then joined to make a double bed - and a very uncomfortable one at that!
And lastly, my review title - the place should actually be called The Smoker's Retreat! The hotel does not have any designated non-smoking open zones. So you will find smokers/smoke everywhere you go - corridoors, washrooms in the common areas, deck area...any open zone is free for anyone to light up a cig.!
Other than the location of the hotel, the hotel staff is possibly the only plus point - very courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, it does not compensate for the other many negatives of the place. Would never consider Dukes again and would not recommend it to anybody either.

Room Tip: Beware of complimentary upgrades. We were given Room 202, which was a deluxe room but had a CTV inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manasi_A_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying with us and taking time out to review our hotel.

At the outset, without trying to offer any excuses, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the
deficiencies experienced during your recent visit. Whilst it is our endeavor to offer a truly memorable holiday experience, we have noted that there were quite a few instances which were not in line with the experience we offer. Kindly be assured that we have initiated corrective measures to address each of the deficiencies experienced. We would sincerely request you to give us another chance and to consider the deficient experience to be an aberration and not a reflection of the standards we maintain.

We once again request you to give us another chance and look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The best is the location of the hotel and location of Deluxe room. It is just awesome.

Flip points - They do not have King Size BED , but have Queen Size beds which makes it uncomfortable as the BEDS shift while you sleep .

Would suggest few KING size beds as well. Though the view outside balcony was awesome and romantic, there is no privacy at all as the hotel staff keeps on travelling from the balcony making it quite uncomfortable for a couple.

We complained this to the Hotel , but of no use. Also there was constant disturbances from adjoining banquet room, cats meowing , etc.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room is best. But ensure that you insist the front office of privacy. You dont want people tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pratikvaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review on this forum. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Dukes Retreat.

While we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we sincerely apologize for the
deficiencies experienced during your visit. We are initiating necessary corrective actions to address the gaps and are committed to offering a memorable holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dukes Retreat and assure you of a better experience.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was in Dukes for 4 Nights in month of June, it was early june when rain was just about to start.

It was pleasure to stay there and enjoy good food with good view.

They have Delux Room, where all beds are 2 single beds and not Single King size bed so dont look at that option, just ask them to join both beds. Beds quality is very poor and also bedsheet is old and rough which was a big question, but on request they were giving us option to choose best bedsheet.

King size bed is only available on Cottage Rooms.

They have Spa facility which worth as per money spend.

Housekeeping Staff was very good, they keep chasing you for cleaning room and if you call them at 11 pm, still they will be glad to clean your room.

Restaurant on 3rd Floor has view of Highway and Mountain, so enjoy that view with delicious food, as such i am foody and had been to many place, and i liked food here. Only Restaurant Service was question mark, which i have ignored looking at other things.

They have daily morning and night food for infants and house food khichdi.

But i recommend you to take food in your package otherwise its too expensive.

Hotel has good swimming pool and very good staff standing there at swimming pool in case if you slip off.

Too many things to write, ask me if you have any other questions.

Overall good experience!!! i give them 5 star.

Also advise you to check prices here on Trip Advisor, they have better price!!

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain View Rooms or Valley View or ask them to give you option with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigs551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!

Many thanks for your patronage and bestowing us with excellent rating following your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to know that the exotic location of our resort rendered your stopover memorable. We are also glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and were impressed by our hospitality and offerings. Your words of appreciation have been communicated to the team and they are grateful for the same.

We thank you for bestowing us with wonderful ratings and endorsing our products and services on this forum. It would be a pleasure to host you again.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.9 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#7 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Property: The Dukes Retreat
Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing