We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Horrendous service and faulty leaking "glamping" tents. Do not stay here”
Review of Masons Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appletreewick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masons Campsite
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a ridiculous £90/ night to stay in one of the pre -erected bell tents...should have stayed in a B&B down the road for half that. At least we wouldn't have got wet. And when we asked for some kind of compensation- even an apology, we got it thrown back in our faces that we were the ones in the wrong and should have left. Despicable.If you have a family and want to "glamp" do NOT come here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
8  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Masons Campsite
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We recently camped at Masons for 2 nights over a weekend.
On arrival staff were very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of where things were.
Pitches great size, loads of room for our 2man tent and car!
Facilities were clean and tidy- only thing I would say they need is a mop for campers to mop out the shower after use as they could get quite grassy at peak times!
great washing up area with hot hot water.

Perfect location for dog walkers- Bolton abbey one way, Burnsall/Grassington the other.
Two pubs in the village- we ate at the Sun Inn, which did beautiful steaks and were dog friendly!

Would definitely stay again! Just hope the Spanish family with loads of kids won't be there next time- as they kept us up till 01:30am!!!

Might hire a fire pit next time as they looked great!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank greatyorkshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed in a big group and made to feel most welcome by the owners. toilet and shower blocks were clean and warm and there was a great atmosphere. Small but well stocked shop in an airstream caravan. Bell tents comfy and log burner worked well but you could do with some kindling to get it going not just big logs. Lovely spot, you can go for a walk to lovely local pubs along the river and its in a beautiful valley. Cooking facilities great too. Our zip broke the first night and was fixed the following morning which I would have thought impossible. My cars battery was flat and within 2 mins I was handed some jump leads with a smile hoorah. Beds comfy too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

First time camping for Mrs F and I with friends, with some trepidation as well I might add but what a great surprise and relief to find at Mason's a very civilised site which our co-campers had been to several times before. Very clean and modern toilets & showers, plenty of hot water and no real queuing. Superb location on the banks of the Wharfe with a footpath all the way to the next village of Burnsall....ideal for a pub walk! Red Lion there did wide range of local real-ales. There were "glamping" options available in the form of a retro American caravan and tepees....we had a look in the latter and were well impressed. Up the road was the Craven Arms pub which we ate in and was very good too. Nestling in a very picturesque valley, this is an excellent base which is more chic camping than "glamping" and within easy reach of top country pubs. Recommended to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fauconberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great location, stayed in the large field, but I think this is only open at busy weekends. The smaller field is open all season. Great campsite, flat grassed field, small stream. Clean shower/toilet block, stayed at a busy weekend & didn’t need to queue for anything! very popular site for families and dog friendly, but was all quiet by 11pm. Outside large wash-up area, always loads of hot water. Reception/shop is a cool America classic 'caravan' stocked with all essentials. We didn’t book in advance, but they found us a space, I would recommend booking in advance for this reason, just in case. Glamping 'caravans' & Tepee’s are also available. Also electric hook ups ect are on site. Also large BBQ pits are available if you fancy a v. large BBQ!
There are 2 pubs 2 mins up the road, we only made it to the first and stayed as it was great (can't remember the name, great local beer tho) They do food, we didn’t eat but we didn’t hear anyone complain. Location is perfect for all local walks. Great campsite, would defiantly recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Book in advance
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appletreewick
4.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
813 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 20 in Grassington
567 reviews
20.9 mi away
Camp Katur
Camp Katur
#1 of 2 in Kirklington
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Campsite

Address: | Ainhams House, Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Appletreewick
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Appletreewick
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masons Campsite is a family campsite in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer camping, caravanning and glamping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Masons Campsite Appletreewick, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing