We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but enough rules, already!”
Review of Masons Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appletreewick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Masons Campsite
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but enough rules, already!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We had a nice enough weekend at Masons. The site itself is decent with nice, flat pitches in the riverside field and very good facilities. The shop has a good range of stuff but is ridiculously overpriced - £2.50 for a very small bottle of ketchup anyone?

However the silly rules that are plastered everywhere spoil it, and asking for a £40 deposit 'which you can have back if you're not rowdy' is an insult. Why can't they do what other campsites do - if someone's disturbing other campers ask them to stop it or leave? Masons really need to chill out!

Oh, and there's a bad midge problem. I know there's probably not a great deal they can do, but bring some strong repellent. We're all still itching days later!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    58
    29
    10
    19
See reviews for
90
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights in my parents' huge new campervan and was so pleased with it. Beautiful spot, gorgeous scenery, great facilities (but not too developed), lovely cool airstream shop and vintage coffee van. Toilet facilities were good and clean. Best thing was lovely family atmosphere. We also had great help from the site wardens with moving our van off a wet pitch etc - really lovely and helpful. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Myself and the family spent 3 days at the site . The first night was clean and tidy and quiet but then all hell broke lose . Caravans and tents just put anywhere it was like a free for all . No organisation at all . We were charge for a large pitch as are caravan was over 6 meters but when getting on site we found it was just a field with a muck road around it and all pitchs the same size. Just to make more money I think . We saw a man cleaning his tolet waste out at the drinking water tap. Very nice area but was not happy with the site been to better at lot less cost .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I've done a lot of camping around the UK and Europe, and after staying at Masons Campsite last weekend with my wife, I would easily put this place high up in my list of top ten sites.
we were both really impressed from the outset, with the friendliness of the staff and the attention to detail the owners have put into this site. All the facilities are immaculately kept. There doesn't appear to anything you can't get at the campsite shop. They even offer fresh croissants to order each morning, and the site boasts a mobile coffee and homemade cake cafe'. There's also two excellent pubs within a very short staggering distance of the site. we were very impressed with the whole experience and will be definitely re-visiting again. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent six nights at Masons and were very impressed with the site. The staff were hardworking and showed attention to detail. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful, and we observed the work they put into keeping the campsite tidy clean and welcoming.
The shower block was a delight, with its underfloor heating and birdsong, and we enjoyed the best croissants we have eaten outside France, ordered via the office.
It goes without saying that the location is wonderful with amazing views all around, beautiful river walks seconds away and a lovely pub three minutes up the lane.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate77Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 days in Appletreewick staying at Mason's campsite. We had hired a campervan and booked here with our friends who have a massive 8.5m RV. The campsite is gorgeous, clean, tidy and very well kept. We had 2 brilliant pitches and were able to park so that we had a huge space for the kids to play in between us without encroaching on our neighbours. The facilities were also great, small but clean and tidy and the showers were hot and the little shop was well stocked with essentials and stuff for the kids, we bought fishing nets & eggs. The site is so well placed for good walks either to Burnsall or Grassington and of course the fabulous Craven Arms for the best pub food we've ever had! We found all the other campers friendly and respectful, everyone had kids so there wasn't much noise after 10.30pm, dogs were kept under control and on their leashes and the staff were friendly and helpful. We hired a fire pit which was great but do agree kindling would be a nice to have. We were collecting small branches along with the rest of the campsite! It really was a lovely experience and waking up every morning to the sound of the lambs and animals was blissful. The ONLY downside was that the adults didn't get any biking time. The walks are really for footfall only however our kids took their bikes and we had to lift them over stiles and up some steps etc which they loved. The country roads surrounding the campsite are really only suitable for cycle proficient kids/adults. This however did not spoil our trip, we had a brilliant time and were so lucky with the weather. We would totally recommend this campsite and all there is to do around. The ONLY feedback we had for Masons was please could we have something in the showers to put our stuff on? Only hooks are provided which don't really help with shampoo bottles and kids stuff plus bags etc, things got very wet! Other than that AMAZING!! We'll definitely be back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixibelle1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I booked this campsite for our first trip with caravan as some friends had camped with a tent. I found out the best route to travel with a caravan, when we got to the Red Lion Pub in Burnsall to turn down the road to Masons, the road was closed due to road maintenance, we were informed that the other road would not be suitable to take a caravan down. We tried ringing but no-one answered the phone, we tried different routes but couldn't get through, we backtracked to the Caravan Club Site at Bolton Abbey and the kind owners tried to ring Masons too. No answer, we then booked into the caravan club site and went to visit Masons without caravan in tow!! I got nothing but an unhelpful lady who said she would't refund money as it wasn't her problem, I told her I wash,t bothered about the money but thought it would have been polite to email and let us know that the road was closed due to road maintenance as it had apparently been planned. If anyone knows how stressful it can be towing a caravan down narrow lanes that are not suitable then don,t go to this campsite, they will not email to let you know there is a problem and you could end up with a problem you hadn't bargained for! Rude, money making people with no customer care.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Notdifficultreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie-Hinchliffe, Owner at Masons Campsite, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
During September 2013 Yorkshire Water closed one of the roads accessing Appletreewick. As the site is situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales we appreicate that people coming with a caravan need to understand the best route in. During the road cloasure we contacted all our pre-booked customers via email & telephone with 2 good alternative routes in. For those who had not pre-booked & to also help those follow the diversions we had large yellow road signs made up by the Highway Agencies saying: 'Masons Campsite business as usual follow diversion route". Along side the highway signs we also created our own laminated Masons signs with arrows. These were placed at every junction to clearly guide people to the site. We have lots of caravans & large motorhomes come to Masons that come time & time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appletreewick
4.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Camp Katur
Camp Katur
#1 of 2 in Kirklington
165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Campsite

Property: Masons Campsite
Address: | Ainhams House, Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Appletreewick
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Appletreewick
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masons Campsite is a family campsite in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer camping, caravanning and glamping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Masons Campsite Appletreewick, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing