We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
67
27
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
27
11
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have passed "The Ship", many times and always thought it looked attractive but this was my first visit. Newnham is a pretty village on the banks of the Severn and The Ship looks welcoming in it's pale blue paint. There is a lively bar and a quieter restaurant which is I guess shaker style in its decoration. There is an extensive menu but on this visit we could not resist the Gourmet Burgers, they range from the " Donald "( duck of course with chinese trimmings) , through the RAT Burger (Rosemary and Thyme and Lamb) you'll be relieved to hear, to the TITANIC, 3/4 lb of varied meat with everything else you can imagine, apparently the ships bell is rung when someone manages to eat one !. The whole place is spotless and the food was first class, the best burger (home made from local beef) I have tasted for years, there is also a beer garden and patio with seating. The pub is family run and the welcoming landlady tells me that all the recipes are her own. We will be back soon with more of the family

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Newnham, a very nice village with a local feel about it. The Ship Inn also had the "local" feel to it. We were made to feel very welcome by Carrie, Adrian and the Chef (who's name escapes me) sorry? The food and drink was all very nice. We had nothing to complain about. Room 6 was bright and airy with a view across the River Severn and beyond. Nothing was too much trouble, they even suggested places to visit that we otherwise would probably not have found. Adrian has the local knowledge, very helpful. Breakfast was ample and well presented. The pub itself had a lovely atmosphere, especially when the locals arrived and there were certainly a good lot, regular diners arrived each night, obviously got a good name locally for the quality of food and ale served. Prices were also reasonable. Large garden/patio area for sitting outside in the sun, which we did enjoy. We will certainly return and be very happy to recommend it to anyone, remember it's a local pub, not the Ritz! Yes, TV reception was poor but, we don't go on holiday to watch TV. We were able to watch the evening news and that was more than sufficient for our needs and wants. The Post Office/Paper-shop across the road was very handy, and welcoming, for our morning newspaper and bits and pieces. Thank you the Ship, and its staff, for a lovely 5 day break.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a bit more space and the view across the river (see photo). Comfortable sofa. Double glazing to keep out the road noise. Far enough away from the bar/restaurant area that we heard no late night noise at all.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were made very welcome, even though we arrived to check in just when the owners were resting after a busy lunchtime in the restaurant. And they found room for us in the bar in the evening when the restaurant was almost overflowing (an we hadn't booked a table!) so that we could still enjoy a very good meal.
Our room was clean and pleasant and well supplied (even, unusually, botled water to complement the tea/coffee-making equipment) We were in Room 2 situated above the bar/restaurant, but even with a lively crowd on Saturday night all was quiet by 11.15.
Special mention for the gluten-free adjustment to a full-English breakfast, as well as to the evening meal.
Unfortunately the TV reception was poor - and the tide was out on the Severn (just visible through the rooftops from our window).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisher-and-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

V pretty place; v friendly welcoming staff (so far so good!).....we went for lunch, I had the wild boar burger which basically tasted like a flattened sausage; my daughter had (enormous) roast chicken. She said the gravy had no taste, the chicken was ok, everything else was indifferent. My burger was ok-ish, certainly not the ***** we were expecting from other reviews. My dessert I think came out of a box, the cream was from an aerosol, the coffee was instant - very disappointing. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank potterer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Ship is our preferred local, and so when we were looking for a venue for a post Christening event, The Ship was our first choice. We booked The Ship to cater for 60+ guests following our son's Christening and they closed to regular customers to allow us use of the premises all afternoon. The food and service was first class. We had agreed on the food beforehand and we were not disappointed with a well presented and laid out table, and many were able to enjoy more than one helping.
The weather was glorious, so the large courtyard and lawned garden was ideal. Had the weather not been so good, there was a large upstairs room which would have been our contingency, as it would have been cosy with us all in the bar and restaurant area.
Many of our friends had not been to Newnham before and although they were not staying over, they have said they will return and stop at The Ship because they had such a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews