We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most !”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I say better than most because it is a pub and more often than not pub meals are very poor. This establishment is a cut above the norm, with very good fresh home made burgers as one of the very acceptable dishes. I haven't tried the aged stakes yet but I will do soon, the only thing preventing this so far is that I can rarely find anywhere where 28 day aged is as advertised and I've lost the appetite for gambling £20+ on being disappointed. I hope I'm not wrong when I try one here !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ian100448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We ate here a while ago and found the menu very expensive. On a Sunday there are no Sunday roasts which was a bit strange. The food we ordered was ok but pricey for what it was, not a good kids menu either this was very limited.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank luckystarWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here on a weekend visit, especially to see the 5* Severn Bore which as it turned out was a bit of a disappointment, unlike the Ship Inn which most certainly wasn't. The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly, we stayed in Room 6-a lovely big room with a super view across to the river and a very comfortable four poster bed. We dined in the restaurant on the Sunday evening and could not recommend the food highly enough - wonderful fish and chips and the chocolate salted caramel nut dessert was heaven! We can highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the top floor,a quiet and very spacious room, comfortably furnished with bonus of 4 pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birthdaycub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We also stayed at The Ship Inn to see the Severn Bore and couldn't have asked for a better base to do that and also to explore the Forest of Dean. We were in Room 2, a lovely, comfortable, spacious room with views over Newnham's pretty rooftops to the River Severn. We ate both lunch and dinner in the Inn, superb in quality and quantity and in such very charming surroundings. The breakfast was just perfect and the hosts really couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. We had a lovely stay and would definitely return. Thank-you for a perfect break!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband was lucky enough to win raffle tickets for a meal at this hotel. It's a quaint and attractive looking building from the outside and the inside, has a friendly, homely pub feel to it. The owner and his partner were very welcoming, even offering a taster for a lager that my husband had never tried before.

The food was good quality, nicely cooked and with generous portions, it was certainly enough to satisfy mine and my husbands healthy appetitie. Whilst we were there, two men were about to take the Moby Dick challenge (a highrise burger and chips) which added to the jovial and friendly atmosphere. I guess the benchmark for any eating establishment is, would you back there? Our answer to that, would be a definate yes! If you want relaxed meal in a pub atmosphere, then the Ship Inn is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I went to see the Severn Bore and stayed at the Ship Inn Newnham for two nights bed and breakfast. Top class room ( no 1 ) lovely view , very comfortable bed, I wish mine at home was as comfortable! The hosts were lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them. Would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend break with a viewing spot for the Severn bore just a short stroll away.

Room Tip: Room number one was beautiful, clean and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 209011Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I decided to stay at the Ship Inn for its proximity to the River Severn as he was keen to try his hand at surfing the Severn Bore. We had a lovely experience, our room was beautiful, large with a four poster bed and a great view over the Severn. Despite arriving late and the kitchen being closed, the chef kindly rustled us up the most delicious fish and chips with beer batter made from the pubs own beer. After a successful surf the next morning we enjoyed a fabulous full English before heading out to Bristol. We will definitely look at staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room six, big room, four poster and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newnham-on-Severn
4.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
764 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Belfry Hotel
The Belfry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littledean
137 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: High Street, Newnham-on-Severn GL14 1BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newnham-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newnham-on-Severn
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is situated in the High Street of the picturesque village of Newnham-on-Severn on the west bank of the river. Once well-known as a port, today the village is regarded as one of the favourable observation points for the Severn Bore. History of the village dates back to the Middle Ages.The Ship Inn with its recently refurbished rooms, all equipped with flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi Fi internet access and superior finishes, is a great place to make a base whilst you explore the surrounding area.Some of the rooms have amazing views of the River Severn, a great place to see the amazing natural phenomenon of the Severn Bore!When you eat at The Ship Inn you’ll experience great tasting, well presented food … so good that you’ll want to return again and again like so many of our food loving diners and guests.All the food is freshly prepared on the premises and sourced from local suppliers. We endeavour to only use foods that are in season and only of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Newnham-On-Severn, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing