We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off The Beaten Track But Worth It !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 North Elmham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Off The Beaten Track But Worth It !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I found this place quite by accident. The rooms are absolutely immaculate and the bed was the size of a runway.
Service excellent with an incredibly helpful Marcus and Kerry. Food also very good. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would recommend it to anyone with no reservations whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
68
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This sweet little pub/hotel is exactly what we needed after a long drive and visiting the seals!
Our room was gorgeous- we stayed in the room with the pink and red tulips on the wall. Easily one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in! Brand new, clean, everything you need. The only thing missing in the room (and this is me being very picky...) is a shelf in the shower and a full length mirror (I know, picky). The owners were on site, which is nice, they were very happy to help us out.

The thing stopping this review from giving 5/5 was dinner. The food was lovely- my husband and I had the pork belly, friends, the lamb shank and liver and bacon. Very yummy and huge serves. Dessert was a massive apple crumble and custard, and my friend had the brownie- delicious with the raspberry sorbet!

However, when we were seated we were not told about everything that they didn't have on the menu- which was everything that we wanted to order... We wanted the share platter and mussels for starters- didn't have either. I wanted to the main size serve of the mussels - didn't have. Friend wanted the scallops for starters- didn't have. Ordered something else- didn't have. Third time lucky for him! A very simple bit of information that would have saved a lot of frustration. The lady taking our order seemed a little impatient when we didn't have a back up plan at the ready! It also took ages for anyone to come and take our order. I think 3 staff running the bar, restaurant and the hotel might be pushing it a bit.

In saying that, we were so surprised at how cheap everything turned out to be. I think it worked out to be around 40 pounds per couple for starters, dinner, dessert and drinks. Pretty happy with that!

We had the continental breakfast which was toast (delicious bread!) and cereal. Coffee, tea and juice included. Great way to start the trip back home.

Overall, an enjoyable stay. The bed was magnificent, so comfortable I wanted to sleep in it forever! We would stay there again, we were very impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 7 or 8. So nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaByrne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We only stayed for one night, but we would definitely stay again. It was a perfect experience, with a lovely room. Everything we could possibly need in the room, and in the superb bathroom. All immaculately clean, and the service was excellent. The food was wonderful, with enough choice for anyone, and beautifully served. Everyone was so nice, and we felt very well cared for. The breakfast was fantastic, and so much of it! It was a delightful experience and we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Sorry, no pool or fitness centre thank goodness! We were on the second floor, and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Marcus and Kelly excellent service took good care of us and the food was brilliant and room work gorgeous , I would recommend staying here for a couple days away to take in local country side and enjoy the delights of this hidden rural gem

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eppsypepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were looking for an hotel not too far from home to have a winter treat. Picked this hotel on Late Rooms and was not disappointed. Arrived at lunchtime and was greeted by a very friendly atmosphere and comfortable bar, which served real ales. Had a light lunch which was excellent. Taken to our room by a very friendly and helpful member of staff who ensured room had heating on and everything we needed. Very clean and huge bed which was so comfortable. Loved the rainfall shower. Dinner was excellent, good choice and fairly priced. Great to be offered a jug of water rather than having to ask for it. Full English Breakfast didn't disappoint, clearly good quality ingredients. Would definitely visit again and recommend if you want to treat yourself or need a base to explore rural Norfolk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splodge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This used to have a dreadful reputation....but changed hands, been done up and given a total makeover. Lunch today was excellent - good food & beer, reasonably priced and very pleasant surroundings and staff

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I just recently stayed at the Kings Head for a weekend break and with the newly refurbished rooms, this hotel has had a new life again, the staff were extremely helpful and the service fantastic, I will be recommending friends and family to stay here, the rooms are all brand new and the huge double bed I wanted to take home. A home away from home - will certainly look forward to staying again. The full breakfast as with everything else was well received and great location for visiting rural Norfolk with the coast not far to drive to. We unfortunately did not have a meal in the evening but I will certainly be doing so in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loopie_lou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Elmham
4.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
10.5 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
22.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Longham White Horse
The Longham White Horse
#2 of 4 in Dereham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 2 Holt Road | Nr Dereham, North Elmham NR20 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Elmham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Elmham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following an extensive renovation in 2012 the King's Head Hotel in North Elmham offers a homely mix of original features and modern-day comfort in its bar, restaurant and guest accommodation We pride ourselves on the quality of our four Adnams real ales and Dry Hopped Lager. The food served at The Kings Head is of the highest quality is prepared to order using only the freshest, natural ingredients all sourced locally. Our garden has plenty of seating and a small play area for the little ones including a giant trampoline. So whether it is a relaxing drink, lunch or dinner the King's Head Hotel at North Elmham has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel North Elmham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing