We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family resort in Ontario!”

Ski Snow Valley Barrie
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Minesing
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Family resort in Ontario!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

my family and i have been going to Snow Valley for over 20 years. We all learnt how to ski there (they have the biggest and the best ski school in ontario), and now we are teaching my neice and nephew to ski there too. Can't recommend it more!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    66
    14
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super Tubing day amid the holiday crowd”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great tubing facilities. Was a little disappointed there was no wiggle room in the 42" minimum height restriction as my daughter was boarder line. Kids area actually worked out in her favor as the regular lift lines were super long due to Family Day crowds. She got maximum usage from the smaller kids area. My son braved the long lines of the big hill to ride the lifts. Have to credit the resort for actually limiting additional riders once capacity was reached. Crowds were understandable for bright clear skies on a Holiday Monday.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank yyzron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No place”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Two and half hours could not secure a chair to have a drink or eat something. Can't order food as there is no where to eat it. It is frustrating and nothing is organized here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Close-to-Home Winter Fun, Minor Hassles”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Lots of fun had at this local hill by first-winter-in-Canada residents.
Easy 1 hour drive from home meant that we could fit in a 4 hour session on the slopes, and still eat two meals at home at our regular meal times! Loved the fact that we could pack a healthy lunch and eat it in the chalet next to a lovely warming fire … the only downside was the shortage of tables as they seemed to be 'reserved' by non-skiers OR bags sitting in, waiting for family/friends to return!!!
3 out of 4 family members had own equipment; ticket buying process was quick & easy, but sorting out rentals was 'painful'. The young staff on duty were nowhere to be seen (in the boot section) OR assisted only when asked, in others - the best service was in the ski fitting section by an older female staff member (thank you!!!). Next time round we'll know the drill, but considering we informed the initial staff member we were first-timers, she could have taken a quick 30 seconds to explain the process, as it is a bit unique (different sections=boots first, skiis/board next, helmet/stocks last).
The runs, although short, are good and there is enough variety to keep entertained and have lots of fun as a family. Lift lines were better than we expected except when private lessons were in session - all the instructors seemed to use the same lift !!? Easy enough, however, to change runs/lifts when you can get to the top. Unfortunately, we encountered technical problems with 2 other lifts during the 'lesson' period, which was a bit if a bummer.
Night skiing was awesome (a new experience for us) and made up for the time spent sitting idle on chairs earlier. Many people left the hill around 5pm so the freedom on the runs after that was fantastic.
The lifties were amiable & entertaining and did their best to keep the lines moving swiftly (they really do a great job) - thanks guys.
We'll be back to ski Snow Valley again for sure :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4_Aussies_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great day of skiing”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

A great day of skiing. Well kept runs and chalet added to the enjoyment. Courteous staff willing to assist and answer any questions. Not a huge place but enough variety of runs to entertain most Ontario skiers.
Take advantage of bookingbin advance online and save!!! I saved over 40% on a six hour pass.

Although there were school groups, they didnt seem to overwhelm the hills.

Helpful?
Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ski Snow Valley Barrie also viewed

 
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
Minesing, Springwater
 

Been to Ski Snow Valley Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing