We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff - Great Food”
Review of Hotel Aurelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aurelia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vielle-Aure
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff - Great Food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My cycling partner and I used the Hotel Aurelia as our base for a week of cycling in the Pyrenees’ in July. We spent a total of four nights.

It is centrally located for bicyclists interested in experiencing the iconic Tour de France Pyrenees mountain climbs. From this location we did one day trips up the Pla d’Adet, the Peyresourde, the Aspin and the Tourmalet. The Pla d’Adet is right above St. Lary Soulan. The Peyresourde was approximately a 35 mile round trip. The Aspin-Tourmalet ride was about a 66 mile round trip. The Azet is a climb immediately to the east of town.

There is a secure car park. The hotel permits bike storage in the ski storage room.

We shared a double room. The accommodations were spartan but clean, well kept and adequate. For two guys with a lot of gear, the room size was just about right. Another square meter would have been nice though. There were no drawers to unpack into. We figured out how to make do with the closet and built in shelves. The bathroom was large by Euro standards with a shower only. There was a dearth of electrical outlets and they were in weird locations. Like our go-to outlet was above the headboard of my bed. The free wifi was reliable and reasonably fast. The pillows were soft and beds firm.

We had a room and board package. In short, the food was fantastic. Breakfasts were a buffet of hard boiled eggs, cold meat, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, and pastries. There were croissants, a coffee pot, steamed milk and juice at your table. Dinners were tasty, multiple course, and large enough to satisfy a hungry cyclist. The desserts were outstanding.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Communication in English was possible with just about anyone we dealt with.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    34
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
61
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

very impressed with the friendly and professional service, will certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Situated between Vielle Aure and St. Lary, the hotel is easly reached from both on foot. It is just 5-10 min. away from the GR 10 trail, making it the ideal hotel to stay at while following the trail. The food is copious and delicious, and the wine list is long. There is even a small swimming pool, but beware - no bathing short allowed, so remember to pack your speedos.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo-dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This really should be a 3 star hotel - it even has a lift (even though it doesn't go to the top floor!). The evening 3 course meals are excellent and very well presented. It has a short but well chosen wine list which is great value at €14 for a really good red. The staff are very helpful and even called a ski shop for us in another ski area to see if the roads were clear from snow. Great place for a long weekend skiing!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed half-board 6 nights, would have stayed for longer but they were fully booked. Quite small room, but with a splendid view of the mountains to the south. And very clean, changed sheets midway. Breakfast was buffet-style and included cereals, breads and protein (cheese/ham), as well as yogs, fruit, etc. Dinners were excellent, 3 courses, beautifully presented and much better than we've had in other 2-star Logis.
Staff are really friendly and helpful, anxious that you are comfortable and have everything you want, and speak good English, which was a bonus, as our French is a little rudimentary.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vielle-Aure
0.4 mi away
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
Mercure Saint Lary Sensoria
#1 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Arches Hotel
Les Arches Hotel
#4 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pergola
La Pergola
#5 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Neste de Jade
Hotel Neste de Jade
#1 of 1 in Vignec
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Rives de L'Aure
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#2 of 10 in Saint-Lary-Soulan
404 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nemea Residence La Soulane
Nemea Residence La Soulane
#1 of 2 in Loudenvielle
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurelia

Property: Hotel Aurelia
Address: Route de Vieille Aure | Saint-Lary, 65170 Vielle-Aure, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Vielle-Aure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vielle-Aure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurelia 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aurelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurelia France/Vielle-Aure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing