We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping, very good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chambord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night here in a small RV with my wife and baby daughter. Lovely, well-organised place. Great facilities, great location. Definitely visit the village for the tour and take the cable car up to the top of the waterfall, spectacular views.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank RobertMonthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visited the historic site of Val-Jalbert & had a fabulous day, learning so much about the history of how the town came about & what a beautiful heritage site has been left & rediscovered. We stayed upstairs in one of the period houses which was a beautiful two story house. The room was immaculate & beautifully designed throughout, with a large bathroom with separate bath & large walk in shower. The living area & bedroom were comfortable, light & airy & had all the usual amenities including tea & coffee. It really felt nice knowing you were only one of a few staying in the woodland village of a heritage site. You could get a trolley bus up to the restaurant but as it wasn't far we just walked. As it was dark, torches were provided in the the room for you to use. It was just so nice walking along the path having the waterfall the only sound you could hear (and was also lit up a night). The restaurant was lovely with stone walls & nice lighting giving it a warm ambience. The waitress was lovely & the food superb. We couldn't understand everything on the menu, but the chef was only to happy to help & translate (an English version as well would have been useful - only for us not to have to bother the chef). The presentation of the food was amazing & the taste was delicious. After a fabulous evening, we returned next morning to the restaurant to be met by a very friendly waitress. We had a great cooked breakfast which kicked the day off perfectly. No complaints about anything. Would we stay again - absolutely!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazlar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were probably very lucky having the place almost to ourselves. The room was of a very high standard, clean, well designed and well thought out. The evening meal was very good in the mill and the waterfall was lit up very tastefully at night. Even better if there had been some public area for those staying overnight or a ' story telling' opportunity. My husband thinks that the old railway is crying out to be restored and would double the number of visitors if it was! Even if you do not stay over the village is very well worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Charvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at one of the mini chalets on the camping. Nice little chalet with fridge, cooking area, little sink and equiped with pots, pans, plates and cutlery. All very clean, nice wood smell, little veranda, bed quite comfortable. You get a discount (15$ i.s.o. 26$) to visit the historic village!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soepkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The rooms are very very tasteful, clean, and stylish. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Big separate tub and walk-in shower, ipod dock, comfortable beds, beautiful location. The waterfalls are a few minutes away. This is located in a historical village, and so staying the night includes entrance to the site, dinner and breakfast. Beautiful vistas of Lac St Jean from the top of the cable car above the falls, and decent meals. Only 24 (? ish) rooms so its never busy - in the evening the park closes and only overnight guests are strolling around the historic mill town, viewing the lit falls. Very restful and beautiful. English is spoken by staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is an historic village which had been a logging town but had been anbandoned. It has now been revitalised as a tourist venue where some of the buildings have been refurbished to a very high standard to be used as accommodation.
The building we were in was the ground (first?) floor of a two-storey house, was extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and warm. To stay here you have to partake in a half-board package, as it is miles away from habitation.
The restaurant serves top-quality food - both for dinner and breakfast. We were there at the very end of the season, so perhaps this would explain why the menu wqas the same each night. As we were there only two nights, it was not a problem.
Part of the package is to see all the old mill, school and other buildings. The 'chute' (waterfall) was awe-inspiring - though not on the scale of Niagara Falls, it was equally impressive.
A wonderful experience which was well worth the money, and we would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling-man38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had never stayed in such a place before - a historic site in beautiful Lac St-Jean. But the rooms are amazing - tasteful, fully equipped and EXTREMELY comfortable. The price is actually very reasonable when the quality of the rooms are taken into account, along with breakfast and dinner and access to the site itself. It is nice to be able to stroll around Val-Jalbert in the evening, when most of the crowds have left, and the waterfall is beautifully lit up after sundown. The food was very good at dinner, although not exceptional. One minor quibble might be that the service in the dining room could be improved a bit to reflect the general quality of the establishment, and they could try to offer more local products (cheeses etc) which the Lac St-Jean area excels in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambord
19.3 mi away
Auberge Des Iles
Auberge Des Iles
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gedeon
16 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel De La Borealie
Hotel De La Borealie
#2 of 4 in Saint-Felicien
192 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau Roberval
Hotel Chateau Roberval
#3 of 3 in Roberval
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel du jardin
Hotel du jardin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Felicien
205 reviews
17.9 mi away
Auberge des Berges
Auberge des Berges
#3 of 4 in Saint-Felicien
67 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalets & Spa Lac Saint-Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping

Address: 95, rue Saint-Georges, Chambord, Quebec G0W 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Chambord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chambord
Price Range: £198 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back to 1927 with the help of colourful characters who will reveal the secrets of this authentic company village with its forty original buildings. You'll be amazed by the Ouiatchouan Falls, which are higher than Niagara. On the 2nd and 3rd floors of the general store and period homes, conveniently located in the village center, you can enjoy rooms with contemporary comfort inspired by the 1920's. Accommodation offert in package includind dinner and breakfast. Enjoy a well deserved rest at one of our many camping sites, with or without service and conveniently nestled near the Ouiatchouan River. Experience with your family one our mini-cottages located nearby the river. For family, heated swimming pool and water games will delight the hot days of summer. Special rte for access to the Historic Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Historique De Val-Jalbert - Hebergement Et Camping Chambord, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing