We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - still 5 stars”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed our stay so much we had to come again and we weren't disappointed. Still the same tremendous accommodation and welcome. Lovely rooms,freshly made breakfasts,quiet location,stunning beaches within 5 mins. Trevor and Pam are very knowledgeable about Barbados so their help with places to visit and restaurants around the the island was invaluable. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHEPHECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a fantastic week at Bayfield House back in Dec 2009, Trevor, Pam and their son are very accommodating and were always at hand to help and give advice. The rooms are very comfortable with a great bed and well appointed with a large bathroom. Trevor makes a fantastic rum punch in the evenings and dishes up a hearty breakfast on the delightful terrace in the mornings.

We chose Mullins as it was at the quieter end of the island and we were not disappointed, there is a lovely beach 5 mins walk away from the house called Gibbs which we had to ourselves most of the time. Speightstown is very close and has a few lovely restaurants on the waterfront.

If you're looking to get away from the hordes of package tourists, you will not regret staying with Trevor and Pam at Bayfield, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NealAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of Bayfield House and for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My new wife and I really enjoyed the bed and breakfast here at Bayfield. We chose the location mainly because of the great reviews after deciding that we didn't want to spend the whole week at an all inclusive resort. It was the right idea after we spent a half day on the beach before getting bored and burnt. We stayed 7 nights, and Trevor and Pam helped us plan out activities for our honeymoon.

The service and attention that Trevor and Pam provide is worth mentioning. We had a couple of small issues with the Air Condition and mosquitos, and they were quickly addressed. Trevor and Pam even lent us some itch relief medicine.

The daily breakfast was awesome every morning, as we took in the beauty of the backyards. We watched birds (including a humming bird) feed in the morning while eating a huge breakfast that consisted of a variety of pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, tomato, toast, and fruit alongside our juice and tea/coffee. It was a wonderful way to start each morning.

Trevor and Pam gave us recommendations of sites to visit and sites to avoid, and helped plan out the trips for us, including detailed directions. He gave numerous recommendations on places to eat, booked us reservations, and even checked sites before we could visit to make sure they were open (great knowledge of area!).

The best meal we ate on the island was the dinner we ate at the Bayfield House. Trevor made this delicious 3-course meal and I believe at around $42US per person. If you are staying there, you should def stay in a night and take advantage of his cooking. The squash soup, followed by lamb, and then this desert were all very tasty.

The biggest thing to point out is that Trevor and Pam are great hosts, and they were always there when we left for the morning or came back late at night. The attention you receive while there is 2nd to none. If we came back to Barbados, we will definitely return to stay at the Bayfield House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are happy that we created the perfect environment for you to enjoy your honeymoon. Thank you for writing your review of Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Bayfield House. It was lovely.

It's a beautiful and very peaceful setting. It's full of character and charm. The anti-thesis of the huge hotels on the west coast.

Trevor is a very welcoming host - knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and the best rum punch we experienced on the island!

Breakfast was delicious, the pool is delightful.

We enjoyed having a hire car when we stayed her that allowed us easy access to surrounding restaurants e.g. in Holetown. But the reggae bus is really fun too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessieOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I'm as cynical a traveler as there is, and I didn't think it would be possible for Bayfield House to live up to the reviews I had read in the months before our Barbados vacation. Luckily for us, they were spot on. The service here is outstanding, probably the best my wife and I have ever experienced, and the price is far less than what you'd pay in most west coast resorts.

Now, keep in mind, this is in a different family of property. Bayfield House isn't for the party scene. It's for quiet and tranquility. If that's why you're traveling to Barbados, then there's no better place to stay.

I would recommend a rental car, if you're staying more than a few days. Bayfield House is about a 40-minute drive, depending on traffic, from Bridgetown and Oistens, and probably 15 minutes to Holetown. You can walk to Speightstown, which is only a couple kilometers from Bayfield House. The bus system is cheap and reliable, but we stayed for nearly two weeks and didn't want to be at the mercy of a bus schedule, particularly for the longer trips or for those in the center of the island, where the bus doesn't often go. Trevor reserved the most affordable car option, and the agency delivered it to Bayfield House. It doesn't get any easier than that. The Barbadian roads take a few days to master, particularly if you're from the States, but with a good map and some patience, you'll be zipping around the island in no time.

From there, Trevor and Pam recommended restaurants and excursions, and because Barbados cuisine can be expensive, especially on the west coast, Trevor even recommended a few less expensive options, including a terrific take-away Chinese restaurant only a few minutes' walk from the property.

Trevor cooks dinner a couple nights a week, and although we didn't eat in during our stay, his menu sounded fantastic. The breakfast is great and made-to-order, and we never even considered dining anywhere else for breakfast.

In all, Bayfield House more than lived up to our high expectations. This will be the place I measure future hotels and B&Bs against. Thanks, Trevor and Pam, for a terrific stay. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sea_Pappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at Bayfield House in May 2011. We have been to Barbados a few times before, but this was our first time here (this time with parents). It is just what is promised in all the other travellers reviews...a beautifully peaceful house, just a stones throw away from Mullins beach. The rooms are fabulous (excellent value for money) with great beds/linens. They are large and airy with plenty of spots to sit on verandha outside and relax. Most of the time by the pool we were the only ones there - it felt like it was ours exclusively (shared with the odd monkey!) Trevor cooks a mean breakfast, and both he and his lovely wife Pam and daughter Maria are always on hand to lend any advice or just a friendly chat. We used the buses every night to go out for dinner & back - hilarious and I am sure we saved a fortune in cab fares! In summary, if you are considering a visit...just go ahead and book...you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigbum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

The bus system can be a fun adventure if you maintain a positive outlook and love new experiences! Thank you for writing your review, we enjoyed reading it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We saw the reviews here, and this was a primary reason we chose Bayfield House. We thought that even if it wasn't quite up to the high praise we read, it would still have to be pretty good.

Suffice to say that we agree entirely with all the other excellent reviews.

We had a wonderful holiday, and Trevor and Pam have the ideal retreat for anyone looking for a relaxing, laid back stay in Barbados, and are the most excellent hosts. The allure of a welcoming rum punch on our arrival is enough to want me to go back any time.

Breakfasts - on the verandah, overlooking the pool - are a great way to start the day off, and you can spend the day on Mullins beach a short walk down the road, or go further afield, knowing that you have a very comfortable base to come back to whenever you feel you've worn yourself out.

There are plenty of places to eat in the evenings offering a really good standard of food - all within no more than a short bus ride.

We hired a car for touring the island, but you can get around most of the places you want to go using the buses - and they're worth an experience even if you have a car. Unfortunately Huntes Gardens was closed when we were there (they were at UK Chelsea Flower Show, picking up a Gold Medal - back open on 10 June).

Things we would recommend if you're looking for ideas on your trip:
- St Nicholas Abbey - and the view at Cherry Tree hill just a bit further up the road (by the way, it's not an Abbey!);
- fish & chips at Bathsheba - and exploring the east coast in general;
- getting up early and swimming with the turtles near Lonestar, and lunch at Ramshackles Bar next door (you can get down to the beach by the side of the Ramshackles bar, secure your beach chair for Bds10, and have a private viewing with the turtles before the catamarans arrive at 10:00am - but be warned, the turtles are friendly!
- taking a picnic to Bottom Bay on the south east coast - there's not a lot in the way of facilities, but it's probably about as perfect a beach as you're likely to find - grab yourself a flying fish sandwich at Cutters on the way there outside Crane;
- watching the wildlife in Bayfield's back garden - the monkey's daily 'commute' through the garden, the hummingbirds and other birds;
- just kicking back and relaxing, and finding your own points of interest - there's loads of things to do.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peabop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Halcyon Palm
Halcyon Palm
#2 of 4 in Sunset Crest
133 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best E Villas Prospect
Best E Villas Prospect
#1 of 1 in Prospect
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Best E Villas Providence
Best E Villas Providence
#20 of 73 in Christ Church Parish
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angler Apartments
Angler Apartments
#20 of 25 in Saint James Parish
78 reviews
11.3 mi away
Adulo Apartments
Adulo Apartments
#17 of 73 in Christ Church Parish
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range: £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing