We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation but far from perfect”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation but far from perfect”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 weeks in Jan/ Feb. 2012 after reading all the rave reviews. I will try to keep my review as factual and honest as possible, without repeating all of the great recommendations. We generally enjoyed our stay, but with some reservations.

Room. We stayed in the Andrews Room, (205, no names on doors) on the upper floor. It was very spacious, with a lovely large bathroom which had 2 wash basins and a super large glass- walled walk in shower. The hot water failed on a few occasions, but improved after some repair work was done, but nothing was said to us about it. The walk in closet was useful as a changing room when we did not wish to cover the windows and shut out the fresh air. The drawback with the veranda was that there is no privacy unless the blinds were down and a thin curtain pulled across our window. When that is done, no fresh air can enter the room. The bathroom window is also quite small. The air conditioning worked well and was reasonably quiet, but of course it only cools the same air. We much preferred to have our bedroom window open at night to let in the cooler air. However that was a problem. After our first 3 nights, Pamela asked my husband that we keep the windows closed at night because of bugs. Since we had not seen a single bug, even around the lights outside our window, I asked Trevor the reason and he said that it was for security. He said “no problem but the country is catching up with the rest of the world, and I do not want any problems". He showed no concern for our lack of fresh air at all, and apparently it did not bother anyone else, but we did not come to the Caribbean to cope with a stuffy room every night. We put the room shutters across the windows instead, which was very secure as they bolt into place, but virtually no air movement took place. On the outside of the veranda there are more opening shutters, but even when open, and our window unencumbered we were unable to see out. As there were only blank cream coloured walls in our room (no pictures at all) I felt very shut in, whenever we were in the room. We have travelled to many Caribbean islands and have never had this trouble before. I think that the rooms on the ground floor would not have felt quite so shut in, or on the side facing the front of the house. In addition, there were lights on the veranda which stayed on all night, so our room was too light. (No blackout curtain) The in- room fridge is a good size, (empty thankfully of expensive drinks to sell) and a kettle 2 small plates, glasses, a small chopping board and knife, and cutlery were provided. A 24 hour mini mart is within easy walking distance. Our room had 2 twin beds put together as a king bed. Although it was soft, with a pillow top mattress, I did not find that it gave enough support- I usually like a soft bed as I am not a heavy person (130lbs). There was nowhere to dry swimwear.

The Hosts. Trevor and Pamela have lived in Barados a long time. Pamela was born and bred there, with a family history in Sugar. They were rather quiet, and kept in the background most of the time. We really did not find them particularly friendly- sorry! We were known by our room number, not our first names, even after 4 weeks stay. Trevor was eager to help with our luggage, but we felt as if it was supposed to be a privilege to stay there, and we did not feel particularly welcome. However the other guests were very welcoming, and we very much enjoyed talking with them. If we needed anything we had to ask, (no handy restaurant menus in folder, or info regarding local events ready) and then the hosts would help. We are used to outgoing friendly hosts at Bed and Breakfasts, but this experience was rather different. Jason their son, who works there 5 months of the year (his family is living in UK) was much more friendly, with a ready smile, and a good morning. To be honest, when we first met Pamela while she was taking breakfast orders, we thought she was a weekend employee - her attitude was one of boredom. Often she would stand at our table to take our breakfast requests, pen and pad in hand, without so much as a word, and I would find myself saying good morning to her, and asking how she was! At the end of our stay, we were talking with our hosts when we met them one evening, and unfortunately Trevor made a joke about homosexuals which we both found most upsetting and inappropriate. Pamela could not understand why we were not laughing loudly as she was.

Meals. Trevor is really into portion control. His background is in catering. I understand the recent reviewer who felt uncomfortable asking for cereal and fruit! Breakfast was quite good, but there was no generosity apparent. Fruit was always 4 slices of banana, 2 of grapefruit, 2 of orange, 3 small pieces of pineapple, and 1 small piece of cantaloupe, all beautifully presented. Unchanging. One day I dared to request an extra piece of tomato- the daily ration was a half tomato fried, together with 2 eggs, (or cheese omelette) bacon, sausage, if required. I did not want some of these ingredients, but my request for extra tomato instead was greeted by Pamela with laughter. No extra tomato appeared. One day we were asked if we would like mushroom- wow! One small mushroom appeared on our plates, but it was never offered again. I would have preferred a buffet breakfast where yogurt and a bowl of fruit, muesli etc. is usually offered as well, but not here.
Trevor’s dinners were well presented and in the mid price range compared to local restaurants (3 restaurants are available locally) and generally tasty, but lacked variety. Pureed bean soup (usually delicious) or shrimp cocktail, appeared often, followed by the inevitable mashed potatoes, with a different roast meat or casserole, and a decoration (only) of vegetable. We would have enjoyed a decent serving size of vegetables, and requested green vegetables for our last dinner, but 2 tiny pieces of broccoli did not do it. Deserts were always delicious, but there was no fruit, and bread pudding was frequent.

Cleaning. Public areas were kept well cleaned, but our room was only of average cleanliness. While the bathroom was clean, and the general daily cleaning was fine in the room, under the bed was not touched (it had small items from the last guests) and there was plenty of dust on various ledges, also on the baseboards, and in corners. The area around handles on door frames were quite dirty. Towels were changed daily except on weekends, when the same towel lasted 2 or 3 days. Soap was provided, but that was all. To my surprise there was no shampoo.

Weather etc.. We enjoyed frequent heavy rain showers, which added humidity. The weather pattern is changing in Barbados like everywhere else. Trevor has a problem with some new loungers and umbrellas which are stuck indefinitely at the port, but the 4 newer loungers are comfortable, and there is shade in the garden in the afternoons. The beautiful garden extends just past the pool area, but lacks colour.Don't think Barbados is any safer than anywhere else- we met 2 guests who narrowly escaped being mugged one night near Speightstown.

Room Tip: Ground floor has better view out, but upper rooms have large walk in closets. some rooms have 2 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madelinethoughtful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
244
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It is hard not flying off into hyperbole when describing Bayfield House in Mullins, Barbados. Barbados may have some other great little hotels but I can tell you that as long as Trevor and Pamela Ramsay are running this island jewel we won't be looking anywhere else during future trips to Barbados.

Let's put it this way. We stayed our first night in Barbados in a waterfront property operated by a large American Hotel Chain that we favour when travelling in the United States. It was a lovely fine property with all the amenities and wonderful views. We would take Bayfield House any day in preference to this fine property. AND Bayfield House isn't even on the water. It is darned close to pretty Mullins Beach (approximatelly 3 minutes to walk).

What is going on here, you might ask? These travellers have got to have something wrong with their heads.

There has got to be some times when good old fashioned service and a truly restful and visually beautiful property offers more than any multinational or all inclusive resort. This is the case. This is an independent family owned and operated small hotel in the finest sense of the words.

We stayed in the ground floor suite. AND here is another one. There was no TV in the room. We were entirely free of the usual daily static unless we wanted to read one of the Barbadan newspapers provided by the Ramsays. They do offer WIFI but why? You are on vacation.

We like to explore a place on our own and Barbados is wonderfully worthy of exploration. We rented a car and ranged over much of the island. I can tell you that when we returned from our explorations and lengthy lunches in many of Barbados fine seaside restaurants, passing through the Bayfield gate was like the reward at the end of the day. It was our oasis of rest and relaxation.

So what are the pros. Generous professional and knowledgeable local owners, a property that is absolutely pristine, a perfect garden and small pool for unwinding, a green monkey troop, the possibility of inhouse meals once or twice a week (very well prepared delicious meals), fresh breakfasts, a quaint little sort of bar set up where Trevour or Pamela prepare an excellent rum punch, excellent staff. We can go on and on.

Absolutely great experience and still not on the beach (but darned close). These folks will give you a feel for a gentler Barbados that you will get in few other places. TOP PICK for these travellers.

T & D Clarke, Kenora, Canada.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tedinkenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Bayfield House at the end of November,2011. We enjoyed our stay. Extremely comfortable with lovely furnishings, bedding, towels etc. Beautiful tropical gardens and clean pool area - lovely to come back to after a day's touring.

Pam and Trevor and kind hosts and very helpful.

Only slight criticism is that that Pam and Trevor appear to be slightly set in their ways - have been in the B&B business for years - and don't appear to like change, or the suggestion of change. Breakfast is "set out in a certain way" -ie one can have cereal OR fruit, and the fruit is presented in exactly the same way every morning and has been for years. I asked for cereal with fruit and was rather made to feel like I had upset the apple cart! Everything is served from the kitchen and if we wanted extra or anything slightly different we felt slightly uncomfortable -like it "wasn't allowed". It would have been nice to have been able to help ourselves to fruit, juice etc

But on the whole, we enjoyed our stay in Barbados. Many people we met go back year after year. I have to say I didn't like it enough to keep going back - actually I prefer Greece!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Bayfield for our honeymoon in December for two weeks based on other people's reviews on Trip Advisor. We have to say that it didn't disappoint. We had the Porters suit and it was just absolutely fantastic, great bed/bedroom just the most amazing bathroom you could imagine and a wonderful relaxing veranda to sit and enjoy the Monkey's in the afternoon or if you're like me, 6.00am every morning strolling across the exquisite garden. What Trevor and Pam have done with their place is just wonderful from the moment you arrive looking at the lovely maintained gardens to the reception we received upon arrival by Trevor and Jason and the famous free glass of rum punch. I think that's a slight ploy by Trevor because I must have ended up drinking about 50 during our stay and each one was as good as the first.

Like other people on here we tend to go for the smaller boutique/chic hotel whenever we go away and Bayfield has to rate as one of the best we stayed in so far. We always find it's the simple and personal touches which makes a place great and Trevor and Pam have them perfected. When we had trouble with our hire car Pam was on hand to get it sorted for us without too much fuss. If we were unsure of where to eat or what to do then Trevor or Pam would recommend some wonderful places which certainly are not in any guidebook. Mind you, the best food/place we ate during our stay was at Bayfield House, Trevors cooking is just brilliant and great value for money.

Would we stay here again: Yes
Would we recommend it: Absolutely
Did we think it was value for money: 100%

Gareth and Edyta

Room Tip: Porters Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarethCope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bayfield House is October 2011 on our first trip to Barbados from the US. Everything about our visit was exceptional: from the pre-planning assistance and airport arrival tips; a warm greeting and tasty rum punch on our first night; great shopping and dining recommendations; and a beautiful and clean (and air-conditioned!) 2nd-floor suite. We only wish that we could have stayed longer to take advantage of the beach (2 minute walk) and area attractions. Kudos to Trevor and Pam for making our stay on the island so memorable-we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House. We hope to welcome you back to our home in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Barbados where we ended up staying for 14 nights at Bayfield House. We hate the all inclusive options in the Caribbean so started off by booking 3 nights at Bayfield, (thinking we would want to move on) then 7 then 14 all in the same place as we simply couldnt find anywhere that looked better.
The whole holiday was so much better than either of us were expecting and that is in no small part down to Trevor, Pam and jason and our stay at Bayfield.
All the reviews said it would be great but i am always slightly sceptical. This was everyhting everyone states it will be.
The rooms are absolutely gorgeous with lovely white linen and a great comfortable bed, heavenly.
Rum punch - great. Trevor's cooking, also great! We ate in 3 times as it was such good food and reat value.
We had a really good time with other guests as well, obviously good people are drawn to bayfield!
We have already booked to come back in December again, and we are bringing friends, so i really think that says it all. We travel quite a bit and have never returned to the same venue twice, this is very special.
5 minute walk from Gibbs beach, a lovely find, practically empty.
Only down side for me? The monkeys didnt put in an appearance whilst i was there at all, but everyone else saw them loads, so just me then.
Still trying to perfect my cheese omlette to be as good as Trevor's at breakfast. No chance.
Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed two weeks at Bayfield House and once again did not want to leave. We arrived quite stressed after a busy year and after a couple of days of Trevor & Pam's hospitality felt totally relaxed. The gardens were looking lush and beautifiul, even more so after a couple of their famous Rum Punches. Breakfast time is always a delight, sitting ovelooking the garden with the humming birds floating in the air as they pick at the blossom on the small trees next to the breakfast tables. We cannot imagine anywhere more relaxing. The food is always excellent and I love Trevor's cheese omelette. We could go on and on with the plaudits for Bayfield House and cannot recommend it highly enough. After 3 visits, we now know that this is the only place we will stay at when we holiday in Barbados.

Room Tip: Stayed in different rooms - all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreenbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House for that fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
129 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,064 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best E Villas Prospect
Best E Villas Prospect
#1 of 1 in Prospect
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Halcyon Palm
Halcyon Palm
#3 of 4 in Sunset Crest
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angler Apartments
Angler Apartments
#20 of 25 in Saint James Parish
78 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best E Villas Providence
Best E Villas Providence
#20 of 72 in Christ Church Parish
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing